We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Glen Guesthouse
Ranked #110 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this location twice recently on a business trip. The location is about the only positive thing about this hotel. The Airlink bus stop from Dublin airport stops in front of the hotel, and it is within walking distance from popular spots such as Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, Trinity College, St. Patrick Cathedral, and the National Gallery. The hotel itself is very old and run down, the rooms I stayed in had very dirty carpet, poorly patched dents and holes in the wall, shower faucet leaking and wrapped in a cloth etc. Although the rooms were quite large and bathrooms were generally clean, but the overall shape of the hotel is pretty bad. However, the breakfast is decent with toast, egg, bacon, sausage, juice and coffee. Overall I would not recommend this hotel unless location and convenience is your only concern.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
There are newer reviews for The Glen Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 359 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pros:
1. The Airlink bus stop is pretty much right outside the door - very handy!
2. Fairly inexpensive.
3. Irish breakfast in the morning wasn't spectacular but was okay. There was also a choice of 4 cereals as an alternative. No fruit though, which was a pity.
4. Bathroom was clean and the shower was good with excellent water pressure.
5. Beds were comfortable with clean sheets and blankets.
6. Room at the rear of the guesthouse was quiet at night.
7. Staff were all polite.
8. Tea and coffee in the room was a nice touch, which my mum especially appreciated!
9. Excellent location - we walked everywhere for the whole stay.

Cons:
1. Room was mostly clean, however the carpet needed vaccuuming and the whole place could have done with a little more attention.
2. The room had a moth problem - I must have killed about 15 while we were staying there and there was tell-tale evidence of previous occupants' killing sprees on the walls and ceiling as well. I kept finding them in my clothes and in the towels.
3. Our shower screen was broken, actually trapping me in the shower on the last morning!
4. The communal areas were pretty shabby and run down, but this wasn't too much of an issue to us.
5. The extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work, so we (my mum and I) had to keep the bathroom door open when we showered so that we didn't steam up the whole place.
6. The balcony was inaccessible due to the sliding door being unable to slide open. It only opened a fraction, which allowed for fairly poor ventilation of a room that got very warm with the sun on it.
7. On our last evening the water went off and didn't come back on until early the next morning. This was obviously not a regular occurrence, but was an inconvenience to us all the same.

Overall, none of the cons were deal-breakers but this is very definitely a case of getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emthgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Wow, I was pleasantly surprised. for price of $60 this was a great value, ALink from airport stopped right in front making getting to and from airport a breeze,10 euro return. half mile to Temple Bar, .25 miles to DART station, room was clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was tiled and clean and hot water, breakfast was great Irish breakfast with the baked beans (where'd they get that from?) Rosie was great, dining staff was feiendlty and great. i was in 4th floor walk up, stair carpet was old and frayed and satirways was old and ned paint, but who cares, all else was a real abrgain. room was on busy street with traffice, but hey aren;t most rooms in middle of a big city. not much late night street people and nosies which was great also. If I go again this will be a top choice. Didn;t pay for Ritz, didn;t get Ritz, but no complaints with anything.

Room Tip: convient location and clean with great included breakfast
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My gf and I stayed here for 1 night after an evening flight arrival on our way to Bray.
Grand location (Airlink bus stop practically in front of the door), good shower, lovely brekkie... but we got the shortest straw roomwise : we'd booked via the internet and were given a room in the basement. Never anyone's favourite place, I would think ;-)
On top of that, the room was right under the entrance hallway, so lots of noise of people coming and going. Thank God we were just here for 1 stopover night, dreadful thought ending up in a basement on a city trip.

I can imagine they wanna use these basement rooms but charging the same amount for them as the other rooms was a bit exaggerated, to say the least.

Staff were friendly, though, and the free pint o' Guinness promo in Ned Keenan's bar next door (with the equally friendly barman) was cool :-)

Room Tip: Avoid the basement ! Rooms 2-3-4 or so...
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wimsterino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my father as we were traveling across Ireland for a family ancestory adventure. Great location from the City Centre with a bus stop to Dublin Int'l Airport right outside the front door.

Room was comfortable, clean and relatively quiet (except for Dublin traffic / sirens, but close the blinds and you'll be just fine). Showers had plenty of water pressure and plenty of hot water as well. Breakfast was good, but nothing spectacular - still a great way to start off your day adventuring around the city.

Staff is courteous and friendly with excellent knowledge of the city's to-dos and how to get around the city.

My only recommendation for the Glen Guesthouse? Perhaps consider making guests present ID when requesting their room key after they are out and about on the town; that little bit of extra security would be nice.

Overall, great stay at the Guesthouse - can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Although I didn't have Wi-Fi problems, be sure to request a room that gets a good signal; staff...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drewzilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Good location. For safety conditions, they ask you to leave at front desk your key room before you go out. The breakfast is included and is good. There's a computer at the common area but it didn't work.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We found this guest house on Hotels.com and chose it because of it's close proximity to the City centre. It may be a little ragged around the edges but it was clean, warm and comfortable. The Night Manager needs to improve his customer service. The breakfast was more than adequate and offered a full Irish or continental. All in all, a very enjoyable stay. Thank you, Omar

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
640 reviews
Durban Residence
#73 of 149 in Dublin
144 reviews
Inn on the Liffey
#48 of 149 in Dublin
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hazelbrook House B&B
#116 of 149 in Dublin
497 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 149 in Dublin
339 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#23 of 149 in Dublin
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Guesthouse

Address: 84 Lower Gardiner Street | Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $83 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Glen Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Glen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glen Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing