We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still delivering such perfection”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This was our 2nd trip to the Dylan as we stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon. Given our flights were changed then, we didn't get to spend as much time in the hotel as we had hoped.

We returned this past weekend for my wife's 30th birthday and it's still as good as our first impressions and I'm glad I didn't risk staying anywhere else.

From the free upgrade to a suite, to the little touches and friendly staff, this hotel really does have it all.

If I was to find anything to grumble about it would be the bathroom. The room was spuerb in every way - spacious, comfortable and luxurious. But the bathroom was extremely average. The door was in an awkward place - even if it had opened into the suite rather than the bathroom this would've helped enormously.

But it really is such a small gripe compared to everything else this hotel has to offer, so if you can afford it, don't bother going anywhere else in Dublin for 5 star service...!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2010

I just want to say big big thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay in the Dylan.
The Dylan exceeded my expectations.
It was a gorgeous room so thank for the upgrade, really loved it.
The same person checked us in and out and he was really good…tall young guy, forget his name.
He parked my car so that I would not have to get up early…so nice.
The beds are so amazing and everything in the room was perfect, powerful shower, sockets for hairdryer near mirror, big fluffy towels, lovely products...5 Star all the way!
Breakfast was gorgeous, staff so friendly and called by name, which is always nice….especially the crockery…love Villeroy & Boch!
Sat outside after breakfast before heading off and I could have stayed there all day.
Had a look at your menus and it is really fantastic value. Early bird is fantastic value with an extremely varied menu.

It was such a treat I have to say that I have a new favourite getaway!
Location is fantastic, so near the centre but perfectly hidden fro too much hustle and bustle. Perfect for romantic break or a girls weekend
My husband felt exactly the same and thinks that your cocktails are second to none.
The staff are so personal and there really is a lovely atmosphere.
I will honestly be recommending the Dylan.

WE WILL BE BACK VERY SOON!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineCarolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

we just left the hotel just two days ago after a 3 night stay, but let me say the following..we arrived on wed morning at 630 am after a 6 hr flight from ny...they told us check in was at 11am but feel free to relax in the lounge and enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast which included top quality prosciutto, cheeses, fruit, breads and jams, croissants in addition to some of the freshest juices ive ever tasted...we were exhausted as it was a 5 hour time difference and after a half hour the manager told us theat a room had opened and would be avaiable at 800..we were thrilled..we arrived to a music by ipod playing room, that was clean and a very decent size...we hit the bed in a bout 5 seconds and it was heaven...most comfortable bed i can remember...as for bathroom, after a 5 hr rest..i walked in to a heated floor...now i must tell you this was a fantastic touch...especially in the cool mornings...overall staff was friendly, courteous, food was delicious as we had one night of room service...saturday night after drinking in town we returned to find a very crowded and charming lounge, inside and out, not wall to wall people but enough to realize it was a popular spot for young and older...i cannot recommend this hotel enough, unless that is u wish to be closer to the center of the city..but other than thats its a nice walk to and from as we did this twice...ty dylan for making our first 3 days in ireland memorable...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank execatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We have just returned from a one nights stay in the Dylan. We arrived on a Sunday evening and we were able to avail of free parking outside the hotel on the public street or pay €20 per night in the hotel car park. We chose the street. On weekdays you have to pay for street parking. This commences at 8 a.m. and costs €2.90 per hour.
Reception were helpful and were were given a room on the second floor overlooking the street. The room was small but adequate. There was a flatscreen T.V, iPod, dressing gowns, good air conditioning but no tea or coffee making facilities which was disappointing. We were disappointed to find that we had no bath but a double shower. The area around the sink had no place to leave any toiletries, other than a toothbrush, so we ended up leaving them in the room.
Before heading up the town we decided to freshen up but discovered that we could only get very hot or scalding water from both the hot and cold taps! There was no cold water whatsoever. It was impossible to shower or even wash your hands and downright dangerous with very hot water shooting from the side jets. When leaving the hotel I pointed this out to the staff at reception who said that they had never encountered this problem before. Well that is not the case! If you read the review dated the 11/12/2009 from juliejulei on this forum you will see that she had the same problem and also brought it to the attention of management. I think it is time that the Dylan does something about this problem before somebody scalds themselves.
Breakfast at the hotel was average. The fruit bowl was rather dry as was the hot breakfast. Service could have been better. We ended up clearing away our used dishes/plates ourselves even though the restaurant was very quiet. We were not offered top ups of tea/coffee etc.
The Dylan Hotel is a nice hotel. A lot of the furniture is designer/arty but not comfortable to sit on. The plates/cutlery in the restaurant is arty and fussy with petal shaped plates and cups. Great if you like this type of stuff.
Prices in the bar are expensive. Cocktails between €12 and €19. Try Searsons pub around the corner.
You get a complimentary newspaper, bottle of water and piece of chocolate as a guest.
I have mixed thoughts on this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOXtheFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrainneRoss, General Manager at Dylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2010

Dear BOXtheFOX,

Thank-you for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor. We value your feedback and will continue to make changes in accordance with our guests requests.

Regarding the hot water coming from the cold taps, this plumbing issue is being currently investigated by our maintenance team and we hope to have the matter resolved soon. It occurs from time to time in a small number of our rooms and generally if the tap is left run for a minute it will run cold. I was not aware that the matter was occurring to the level of severity of your experience. My sincerest apologies about this.

Some of our Luxury room type, have a double walk in shower with rain shower head. Please feel free to request a bedroom with a bath and we will be happy to accommodate you in future.

Our guests choose to park in the Dylan carpark on a Sunday (although street parking is free) because it has a secure lock down every night and is security patrolled.

We have numerous award winning cocktail bartenders working in the hotel and enjoy the reputation as one of the leading cocktail bars in the country. We have always received excellent feedback from our customers on the quality and quantity of our drinks. The cocktails we offer have a minimum of a shot and a half of premium spirits.

It is as a result of feedback like yours our hotel will continue to grow and improve. If I can be of any further assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel directly.

Kindest regards,
Gráinne Ross
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

From the moment we stepped inside this hotel I knew I was going to love it. We travel a lot and to experience something a bit quirky and different is always a thrill. The hotel staff on the front desk were great and very welcoming. We were travelling at the time of airport closures due to the volcanoe and they kept us constantly up to date with this. All the room are different - from the Ipod dock with music playing to greet us to the cool bose phone. The toiletries’ in the small but perfectly fine bathroom were lovely and such a great size. Brought them home to enjoy!
The bar was awesome, I couldn't take enough photos of the furnishings - the outside area was packed with smokers and non-smokers, with great seating areas, large tv screens and heaps of gas heaters, much needed when we were there!
We stayed in for dinner as we were tired after a long drive - but glad we did as the cuisine was superb. Fast forward to breakfast - what can I say - superb.
Only disappointment was the fact that we only had 1 night at this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsh715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Dylan is luxurious contemporary boutique hotel but maintains a personal touch. It's location is great and the cafe opposite is a must before you head home. It's perfect for a girlie weekend or for a weekend away with that someone special. The rooms are really spacious and overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lordie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

to be fair, I stayed at this hotel on the backend of my trip to Ireland after staying at the Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt immediately before (so we were a bit spoiled)

PROs
- staff very accommodating & service impeccable
- decor/design was 1st rate & room features/amenities were great (e. g. iPod stereo)
- great bar and restaurant
- quite reasonable price

CONs
- having gone over the top with design, some the pieces are not as durable as simple furniture & showing signs of wear ... overall, hotel is 12-18 months away from needed a refurb
- suite was a bit smallish (I'd say c. 400sf)
- whilst staff was attentive & accommodating, they weren't very knowledgeable about Dublin
- overall, this hotel is borderline 5-star

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DQC_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#16 of 150 in Dublin
2,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,643 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#15 of 150 in Dublin
2,648 reviews
1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $189 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing