We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Personal Touch”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Me and my boyfriend spent three days at the Dylan Hotel in January. The hotel is approx 15 min stroll from the main shopping area around Grafton Street. Even in freezing cold January the walk was quite pleasant. The hotel is located on at the far end of a mainly residential side street overlooking what appears to be a small park. Many people including the taxi drivers did not know of it's existance, but when they see it everyone is very impressed. We arrived early evening and were met at our taxi by a smartly dressed attendant who escorted us along with our luggage to the hotel reception. We were greeted by name and showed to our room by a very polite young lady who continued to brief us about all the gadgets within the room. The gadgets included an ipod and Bose docking station, plasma tv and bang & olufsen phone - very smart!!! Plush robes and slippers were also provided. We got our room at a special internet rate and although it was beautifully decorated and V stylish it was a little on the small side and did not have a bath (although did have a shower for two!) considering we still paid a pretty hefty price. Nevertheless I can't grumble as we were only there for a couple of days so it was more than adequate, and had we wanted a larger and perhaps more elaborate room we could have booked one (and paid the extra for it), I would definateley recommend doing this if it is a special occassion as I saw inside a couple of the more expensive rooms and they were fantasic. On that note it was my boyfriends birthday that weekend and the hotel welcomed us to our room with some rather scrumptious choccie cake. We ordered room service a couple of times, again very expensive, but so fab...what a choice, even for those on a bit of a health kick, egg white only scrambled eggs, fresh fruit smoothies with ginseng etc etc! The mini bar was just as elaborate and even included a naughty 'night in' kit. Every night they offered a turn down service, whereby they put out robes and slippers, got the bed ready and left mineral water and choccies. They have though of everything at this hotel. In your room you have a professional hairdryer, umbrella and if you have forgotten your hair straighteners you just need to call front desk and they will have some sent up straight away. You can even hire a mobile phone, laptop, organise an babysitter or spa treatment in your room. I actually forgot my toothpaste, a quick call and within two mins they sent a tube to my room FOC. Every time a member of the staff saw us they greeted us by name and made us feel like VIP's. The hotel decor is very funky I loved it. The bar is busy with 'it' people on the weekend and I was surprised to see that the restaurant (food looked fab by the way) was also busy even though in my opinion it was expensive. Could not find fault, perfect boutique hotel...made us feel like celebrities!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank yamyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2007

We just returned from a four night stay at the Dylan and could not be more pleased with our experience. We immediately felt at home from the instant we walked through the doors. The personal tour of the hotel areas on the ground floor was quite impressive.

Even though the check-in time is listed as 1:00 pm, our flight from Chicago arrived at 7:30 am and we were at the hotel by 9:00 am and were allowed to check-in upon arrival which was especially appreciated but not expected.

The room was everything we had hoped for and more, particularly the 7th Heaven bed. The plasma television was awesome and the sitting area with the bay window was my favorite parking place after a full day of walking the city & pubs.

We did not eat at Still but we did have in-room dining our last night which was excellent. The coffee service that we ordered in-room each morning was near and dear to my wife. She also enjoyed the shampoo and conditioner provided by the hotel. The heated floor in the bathroom and heated towel rack had her smiling.

A few side notes: The expresso bar across the street is a nice place to start the day, especially the fresh squeezed orange juice.
Foley's and Quays are excellent places for a nice meal and a few pints. The Guinness Storehouse and Kilmainham Gaol are must sees. Walking through the city and shopping is a must do.

Everyone we met during our stay were at a minimum pleasant and helpful but extremely social and a pleasure to converse with during the majority of our encounters. The staff at the Dylan was no exception. They have done a superb job in each and every aspect. We hope to return in 2008. We had too much fun!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank rlwlayuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

Only got to stay one night what a shame. From the moment we entered the hotel it was like we were celebrities. We were greeted at the door and taking over to a very plush reception area and introduced to a friendly young lady who checked us in. We were then taking to our room and what a room, has all the mod cons you would expect from a 5* hotel and also some little extras. I Pod and docking station, funky phone and free internet access through out the hotel which is a bonus.

The bed was just amazing we did not want to get out of it, they are called 7th heaven.

We did not get the chance to dine but did have a drink in the bar and was very impressed with the very extended menu and not bad prices.

The whole design was well thought out and no money was spared. The staff are very friendly and helpful.


When back in Dublin again will be staying at Dylan but hope that we will get the chance to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank BillyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2007

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the Dylan over the New Year period and although the hotel certainly has a unique charm it still has alot to learn.

Whilst the "Dream Beds" are indeed a wonderful experience it is difficult not to be woken from a deep sleep by the hotel staff going about their daily chores in the hotel corridors.

Doors banging, hoovering at 9am and the odd staff conversation right outside my door. Need i say more.

Ok I will, the hotel only has one lift and some stepped corridors so baggage transfer was difficult and would advise anyone with mobility issues to confirm room location prior to checkin !
I would agree with previous comments that the concierge team need to be more familar with the Dublin area and would suggest a more mature employee in this area is essential!

Whilst Dublin has nothing else like it the Clarence and the Four Seasons still have much more to offer and have nothing to worry about.

COULD AND SHOULD BE DOING BETTER !!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Row46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dylanGM, General Manager at Dylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2007

Thank you for your comments following your dylan experience at New Year. Thanks to comments such as yours we have been able to identify that a problem did exist in regard to noise from staff going about their duties, and have been able to address the issue. We have enhanced our staff training programme to help ensure all noise is kept to a strict minimum, and in more acceptable hours.

All areas of the hotel are accessible without using stairs – our elevator has a second “rear door” which allows access to parts where steps exist in the corridor. We have specially designed “wheelchair accessible” rooms, and are more than happy to accommodate any guest with mobility issues, to their specific requirements.

Thank you for your positive comments over dylan’s “unique charm”, and for helping us to continually improve the dylan experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

We stayed here on the first night of a week long tour of Ireland and were not dissapointed. The Dylan is a new arrival on the Dublin boutique hotel scene, and it looks pretty amazing. From the elegant design, the quirky chairs in the bar through to the hi-tech gadgets in the room, this place has been carefully thought out with money no object.

The staff were friendly, helpful and of course stylish.

The room was a very good size, well presented and cosy, and as always, the little extras make all the difference; great toiletries - and loads of them - water, chocs on pillow. The ipod and dock were great.

Didn't eat in the restaurant but looked like the place to be.

Overall a great, chic and elegant place to be seen rather than to relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mullaghley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Where do I begin

Hubby and I celebrated our 19th anniversary in Dublin Ireland and stayed at the Dylan. I knew it would be a great hotel just by reading trip advisor and seeing photos. When we arrived at the hotel we were blown away. We expected the hotel to be awesome, but everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations.

When the staff found out that we were celebrating our anniversary, they upgrated our room. If you do not read another word of this report, realize the hotel is ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!!

The staff took extremely good care of us. Our concierge 'Patrick' answered every question, gave us great suggestions on entertainment options and made reservations for us as we requested. We felt like rock stars!!!!

The hotel is modern, chic and warm. Our room was awesome. We had state of the art TV and music available. The toiletries were of the highest quality. There was even a nice umbrella available for our use for those rainy Dublin Days. We never had to use the umbrella, because during our stay, Dublin was unseasonably warm and sunny in Jan. If I did not know any better, I would swear Patrick ordered the sunny weather to make our anniversary special. I'm not kidding, Patrick as well as the hotel staff was just that good!!!

After returning to our room in the evening, we had complimentary treats for us and a nice card for us. The bed was prepared and chocolates were on our pillow. I can go on for days about the comfort of our bed--the best night's rest we had.

I have two regrets. First, our camera's batteries died so we could not take photos. Second, we only had two days to expore Ireland and we picked such a great hotel that it was hard to leave the room!

We have traveled to many places in Europe, Asia, USA and Central America. We have stayed at some great places as well as places not so great. I rarely write review about hotels. I would be remiss if I did not tell the world about the Dylan.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank worldtrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Dylan over New Year and it was a fantastic, unforgetable experience. The hotel is luxurious and beautifully designed and the room are incredibly comfortable. It was hard for us to get out of the 7th heaven beds!

The service in particular makes the Dylan special - nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from arranging restaurants to booking cabs to its complimentary shoe cleaning service. Nice extra touches included little chocolates and goodnight poems on the pillows at night, with complementary bottles of water.

The bar is special, reflected in the amount of people who weren't residents, who travelled to it to have a drink.

The only small qualm was that there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which can prove expensive on room service. Having said that, some of the food on offer on the in-room dining menu was very reasonably priced. It is also worth noting that it is a fair distance from the town centre - about a 30 minute walk.

I would definitely recommend the Dylan for a special occasion or if you are looking to impress.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rem_Re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 151 in Dublin
595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#17 of 151 in Dublin
2,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,451 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $197 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing