We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #33 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

What a treat this hotel is! Service, room, ambiance... just wonderful. Breakfast and dinner - amazing. If staying in the hotel, you must try the restaurant! While we were there the Irish Masterchef crew were filming in the kitchen, which says a lot.

Our room was tastefully decorated with great little touches. A drink in the bar is also a must. It's classy, while at the same time relaxing. A lovely way to finish off the day.

We've definately found our go-to hotel whenever we're in Dublin again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MezzarM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

From the welcome to departure, the staff were warmly welcoming. At first, I thought you had to be a man to work here, but I did see a lady at the front desk at check out. While staying here, we were attending a theatre in the city and had late supper close by. I was sorry we did not have more time in the hotel as we had no time to eat or drink downstairs. Also, our bedroom was so beautiful. I also loved the bathroom which had a decent sized shower as well as a fine sized bath. There was a TV in the bathroom for those so inclined - I was not. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel which is on a quiet Ballsbridge Road. I heard nothing during the night. Beautiful hotel for a special treat. Customer service is important here.

Room Tip: Ours was over front - no complaint from me. It was upgraded - beautiful and spacious. Did not see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tereks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here May 2012 for a birthday function. Location was okay - outside the CBD/shopping district but only a 15min Walk away. Room - we had a double room up in the "roof", room was poky and dark (one very small window). But at least it was clean. Considering the price i was very disapointed. The hotel itself was very modern, "designer" touches everywhere. Service from the staff excellent. Breakfsst not included but it was decent enough (tried the full irish breakfast) and well priced.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first - esp if you would like natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank introvertedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A comfortable and well designed boutique hotel, excellent food - the breakfast kippers are really a treat. Service seems to get mixed reviews and having been woken by room service at 1.15 am, presumably with someone else's order and having breakfast arrive just before i had to go, this rings true, equally very helpful in other ways. Preferring some character to another chairn hotel, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZandDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I booked this via Mr & Mrs Smith as we were given vouchers for our birthday. We arrived on a high after a wedding in Wexford and were not at all disappointed. The room was gorgeous, quirky and big - felt like we were in a suite! The staff were very attentive and we were never left waiting to be served at reception, the bar or the restaurant. Bar and restaurant food great and cocktails too! Great location for the City centre as only a 20 minute walk. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my wife on an bed, dinner and breakfast special. Hotel itself is very nice, room was great too and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Only issue with the hotel is the bad service and it's far from 5 star in this regard. Ordered a martini with olives and the waiter dropped it down without olives stating that they had none and would that be ok? Bear in mind he had already had the drink mixed up under the pretense that I would accept it! I told him no - he seemed a bit perplexed by my response and reluctantly took it away. The other thing was the food in the restaurant which was far from perfect. We were given the wrong menus to start. No wine menu was given either so none was ordered! My venison came out over cooked and after repeatedly reminding the waiter that my wife was celiac he gave her a creme brûlée that was covered in a fine wheat crumb and chocolate sprinkle mix. She would have been violently sick had she eaten it. Overall the service was poor and the food just mediocre at best. I couldn't even bring myself to complain to management about the dessert issue as by then I had had enough and couldn't be bothered raising the issue as I know I'll never be back - that 5 star service you would expect is simply not there.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Silverfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Day 1 in Dublin
We have just got to the Hotel after a late flight and the service on checking in was very helpful and the Room we have is 4* we just ordered room service and it was fast friendly and hot, so far so good I will let you know more as the weekend goes on, if they keep this service up I will be very happy.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank seanread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#14 of 152 in Dublin
2,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 152 in Dublin
4,188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#7 of 152 in Dublin
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $201 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing