We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fab room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stead here for a Sat night out with the girls, we were give a fab room that the 3 of us could share, really spacious, and ipod in room with chilled out music. The staff were very pleasant too.
Had breakfast to the room the next morning, it was delicous and piping hot to the last bite. My plan is to have a kid free night here away with the hubby next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinnyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    214
    73
    29
    15
See reviews for
64
559
37
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a very nice five night stay at The Hotel Dylan. This is a boutique hotel, quiet and off the beaten path.

The staff was very helpful and always available. The bar was always open and ready to serve. The room had everything we needed. The iPod Touch in the room was loaded with great music. The heated floors and towel rack in the bathroom was a nice touch. Our room had both a shower and tub both were above average.

A number of people complained about the location. I, for one, thought it was great. Yes, it is a 20 minute walk to the city center but it is right off of Baggot Street, around the corner from a large block of shops and restaurants including a Tesco, a Boots, a liquor store, a couple of banks, coffee shops and Searson's Pub -- apparently recently re-opened and a fine place to have a drink. In other words you are within steps of a number of necessities and a few nice restaurants and pubs.

We had absolutely no complaints about the rooms, common areas, or location. A great place to stay, especially if you can get a deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasserscampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel located in a good part of the city. My only criticism is that the decor is a little overdone but in general it nonetheless it is very comfortable indeed. I enjoyed the breakfast and thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
251 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A comfortable stay; friendly staff; large room. But the food in the restaurant was OK rather than adequate. And no way is this five-star standard: even with an upgraded room, it's the level of a good four-star - and, as a result, it was something of a let-down for the price and compared to the high expectations set by the hotel's website.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This smallish hotel was tucked away just off Upper Baggot Street. The staff are really friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable. The phone in the room was impossible to figure out how to operate, but eventually we figured out how to order room service. I had a really weird but delicious burger one day coming off a massive hangover, and it totally hit the spot. The front desk doubles as concierge and they were very helpful in booking restaurant reservations and excursions. They have two really nice smoke-friendly outdoor areas and several indoor areas for the restaurant and bar. At night, the bar stays open as late as you want to continue drinking, and there are lots of well-dressed young people partying in the enclosed outdoor patio. Warning: they did not allow us to bring guests into the hotel bar late at night for cocktails, even though the bar was still open for guests. That was really annoying.

So, it isn't the Mandarin Oriental, but you definitely feel like you are staying in a well-managed and elegant hotel. The only real complaint I have, apart from excluding our friends from the bar, is how far away it is from St. Stephen's Green, which is basically tourist central. It's easily a 20-minute walk, and we found ourselves making the long, boring walk up Baggot Street almost every day of the trip.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to the outdoor patios because it could get loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ_Traveler_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have stayed here many times and always like the location, housekeeping and warm welcome. The rooms are "funky" but comfortable. The housekeeping is first class and the location is perfect. Quiet but accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights (fri and sat) in a king style room. The room was very large and we also opted for the rose petals and bubble bath option. We stayed just before Xmas.

The staff are loVely, our stay was welcomed. On arrival the concierge took care of us and ensured our needs were met for our stay and showed us to our room and took our luggage. Upon opening the doom door we we were greeted with petals on our bed in a love heart shape and music playing on an iPod speaker in the back. The beatuique decor was very tasteful and was throughout the hotel, we enjoyed the interior very much. The location is fine, it's down dead end street off a main road into the city but is a good 20 mins walk into the centre so taxi most of the time. We ate and drank in the hotel and commend them greatly here.

In summary, we really cannot find anything to fault them on, perhaps breakfast was ever so slightly there let down, the buffet is fault small, the cooked breakfasts were very large and the sausages were too plain and Low pork content variety.

I would recommend it highly if you are after a luxury hotel with style.

Room Tip: Get rose petals and bubble bath option,very nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kperrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing