We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #26 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very clean, well decorated, and ample size. Breakfast was excellent, and staff were all helpful. Great location also, about 10 minute walk to Stephen's Green. Bar looked to be very quiet so we didn't try it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    219
    77
    30
    17
See reviews for
68
574
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,898 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stated with my partner for a weekend in this boutique hotel in Dublin. We really enjoyed the hotel, the design, the decor and the room and as we booked it on line, the price of the room was very ggod value for money
The problem is that we booked the restaurant in the hotel for the first night and while the food was OK, the price of food anddrink was not in line with the quality of the food and drink, so this was a minor diappoitment that has prevented the review to reach the 5 mark

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go for the junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Dylan is about a 10 minute walk from St Stephen's Green and Grafton Street, the main hub of the city. The slight distance (compared to other hotels near Grafton Street) has some benefits and drawbacks. The chief benefit is that it will not be noisy and you are unlikely to run into many (other) drunks staggering out of the city's more touristy pubs. The chief drawback is that if you have been "enjoying" the city's pubs, you may need some stamina and sense of orientation to walk back. Luckily, since deregulation, there are plenty of taxis.

The Dylan is ultra modern and very discreet, so don't expect any cliches about Ireland. If you are in the bar, you should order a tray of baby Guinness. Share them with your fellow drinkers, you will become instantly popular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday and had an amazing dinner and gorgeous (pricey!) cocktails. The bar was very busy with parties and the smoking area was a bit too dark. We went for drinks in Searsons around the corner as there was a big gathering in the bar. Later we sipped a drink by the fire and toddled off to our gorgeous room. The bed wasn't the comfiest I've slept in but it did the job!
Pricey place but worth it for a treat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our room was terrific. The service was excellent in every way. There were a lot of fun aspects to the hotel. It was quirky and offbeat, but very professional at the same time. It was a little hike to the tourist attractions, but we enjoyed the walk. Also, the hotel was in a part of town where non-tourists could be found, which we also enjoyed. The front desk folks were very knowledgeable and helpful, so I would encourage folks to use them as a resource.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

i visited the hotel on 1st september where we were meeting a large group of friends. on arrival at the bar we were met by a waiter who asked had we placed a drinks order, when i told him we had not he disappeared never to return. 15 minutes later i went to the bar where there was three staff members talking and no other customers other than myself waiting to be served . after 5 minutes i was approached by a barman who informed me that although it was THE BAR we would have to get a waiter to serve us. after several more attempts from my seat i got the attention of a waiter who took my order and waited a further 15 minutes for it to arrive. my bill was of €33.50 of 3 gin and tonics and 2 pints of Heineken. By the time it arrived we had to leave and in turn leave our drinks.
the service was dreadful and the drinks were overpriced

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Dylan was a nice hotel. Our room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was tiny. We only stayed two nights so we had minimal interaction with the desk staff, but check-in and check-out was efficient and the staff was pleasant. We had breakfast on the last morning and I have to agree with other reviews in that the service was poor and my omlet was burnt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristaDeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#18 of 151 in Dublin
439 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 151 in Dublin
1,878 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,887 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Property: Dylan Hotel
Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing