We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but no chance of a lie in or an early night.”
Review of Dylan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dylan Hotel
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights. This is a beautiful hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful, i forgot my toothpaste and they went and fetched me some with no extra charge (nothing is too much trouble), the breakfast is also great and sounds expensive but even eating in pubs or cafes costs just as much and is not as good. Dublin is a very expensive city! The only issues we had was the soundproofing, at 8am you can hear the cleaners banging up and down the corridoor and you can even hear them putting the paper on your door. Seems a shame as we wanted to lie in and we would not have expected this from a 5 star hotel. At 2am on all three nights we could hear people being loud in the corridoor and outside in the bar. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and although the customer service is good i have stayed in 4 star hotels with this level of style and comfort. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and i can imagine if you have not done this then you may be more impressed with this hotel. I only ever base my reviews on facilities location and value for money and in my opinion Dylan does note excel in any of these areas.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pescod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2008

i stayed here for 2 nights in march for my boyfriends birthday and it was brilliant.
i emailed the hotel the day before to request some beers on ice in the room for our arrival as a suprise for my boyfriend which they very kindly supplied free of charge and even wrote a birthday card for him.
we sampled the famous brownies which were also in the room on arrival which were delicious.
we were made to feel very welcome, as soon as we arrived the porter took our cases from us and we were shown around the hotel, then to our room.
on the 1st evening when we got back to the hotel we found a note put under the door offering us complimentary breakfasts on both mornings as it was my boyfriends birthday, that was such a lovely gesture and of course we agreed! the breakfast was about £30 each per morning if we had paid! so we were very pleased about that and it was absolutely delicious. we had it in the restaurant on the first morning then in our room on the second, and i have to say they only bought 1 cooked breakfast up instead of 2, but i didnt complain as i did have cereal and toast, i just missed out on the cooked breakfast but it was complimentary so i would have felt cheeky to complain!
the hotel has amazing decor, and they have the best of everything, heated floor tiles, the cutlery and crockery, even the phone in the room.
each evening we were given complimentary water and chocolates and offered the bed turn down service.
the bar was obviously the place to be and quite busy, its really trendy and cosy and the staff are very attentive. this does reflect in the price though!
we ate in the restaurant one night which was about £120 for a 2 course meal for 2 and 1 bottle of wine!! it was nice but a bit too posh for me!!
overall we had an amazing stay and would go again, the only thing which wasnt great was we had a dodgy tap in the bathroom and couldnt get cold water so had to use bottled water to brush our teeth, but if we had mentioned it they would have sorted it out straight away.
when we had to go they called us a taxi and the driver was telling us how nice they were at the dylan and told us all about the celebs who stay there.
thanks to the staff at the Dylan who helped make my boyfriends birthday very special.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happygirlleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We stayed at the Clarence for our last Dublin visit but were impressed by the rave reviews on this website so went to the Dylan this time....so glad we did! From the moment we were collected at the airport (arranged by the Concierge) to our departure the service was faultless. It was obvious that the staff at the Dylan appreciated the stunning interior of the hotel too and took pleasure in our pleasure. The outside bar area is amazing and we can't wait to return in the summer...although its warm and dry throughout the year. The interior design is truly unique and the hotel offers real 5 star luxury without any of the stuffiness often found in more traditional hotels. Guests are made to feel comfortable and can relax instantly. Its about a 7 min walk to St Stephens Green/Grafton Street (or a 2 min taxi ride) so you can be in the hustle of Dublin City Centre easily and just as easily retreat to the casual splendour of the Dylan in its leafy setting.
Jackie Stanbridge

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jackiestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

paulo silva
15 march 2008
we"re stayed in february one night, it is really lovely hotel, staff are excellent and the decor is very nice. is really a great place to stay. i also like to thank Siobhan to provid"us a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank paulo_silva_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

From the moment we checked in at the Dylan I knew we were in safe hands the staff treated us like royalty, extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

The Hotel decor is Sumptuously devine and very contemporary. The lime green and grey lounge is stunning with the mirrored fireplace making an interesting feature. All furniture is individually designed and it doesn't look like they have scrimped on anything.

The rooms were spacious, not overly fussy but with all essentials you need. Easy to access WiFi, Ipod and speakers with pre-loaded music, bang and Olufsen phone, plasma TV etc. I have a really bad back and struggle to get comfy beds but the beds at the Dylan were luxurious, although some may feel they are too soft, I could have stayed in bed all day long!

The bar is expensive so be warned but the atmosphere is comfortable and again all the staff are great - we were stuck for a place to go on a Monday night, asked the bar staff who came up with a great recommendation that ticked all the boxes.

The breakfast is divine, if you don't see what you fancy on the menu - just ask and the chef can rustle up just about anything.

All in all a very very good stay - highly recommended. Stay at the Dylan if you your budget stretches to it...you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MissDoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

On a girls/ladies trip to Dublin from the UK, we chose this hotel due to the impressive reviews and fantastic website.
Out of date sat-nav-less taxis found this an unknown place to find so make sure you have the address and keep a close watch on their fares!
On arrival this place is beautiful on the outside. At night, candle-lit lanterns welcome you through the doors to extremely welcoming and friendly staff, who are polite and in the least bit snobby despite the uniquely exquisite interior and our strong Leeds accents!
From the ceiling lights to the cutlery this is a design dream. Even all the books in the library have coordinated green dust covers to compliment the rest of the decor.
Our room was located next to the lift on the first floor, but this did not affect us in any way. Noise was at a minimum if at all.
The furnishings and layout was again stunning and all amenities were catered for in the bathroom and at the bedside. Water on an evening for through the night and chocs always helps!
We only had one problem – that the TV remote didn't work – and we were quickly offered another room and sincere apologies.
Staff were always helpful, with requests, taxis, recommending places to go, throughout the hotel, and were as chatty or as quiet as you wished them to be.
Our only meal was breakfast in the hotel, which was stunning from the cinnamon figs, amongst other fruit, with creamy yoghurt to the traditional irish white pudding, served as part of the full breakfast.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay which we highly recommend and will hopefully repeat in the not too near future.
Well done Dylan and its staff, you deserve to be number 1 in Dublin.
Thank you.
PS Anyone who who does not enjoy this amazing place must be too old fashioned to appreciate modern tastes and original experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoodorNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Unfortunately we were only staying one night but it is really the most lovely hotel. The decor is modern but sumptuous-colour and taste abound. The dining room for breakfast is elegant and peaceful with super menu-the staff are extremely pleasant throughout the hotel and I loved the rooms. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in with super bed linen. Great selection of music on the MP3. Bathroom towels are fluffly and fresh and I loved the heated bathroom floor. Planning my next trip already and I will stay for longer. if you get a chance to stay and you like style with friendliness go right ahead and book it. Loved the bar for people watching-very friendly staff and extensive cocktail menu

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malinmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Conrad Dublin
Conrad Dublin
#8 of 150 in Dublin
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#13 of 150 in Dublin
2,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,485 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#14 of 150 in Dublin
2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel

Address: Eastmoreland Place, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $194 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dylan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on an exclusive Victorian neighbourhood just off Baggot Street, the Dylan Hotel is Dublin’s leading five star boutique hotel. We offer opulent contemporary comfort in a unique landmark property. The hotel is housed in what was formerly the nurse’s home for the Royal City of Dublin Hospital, we take pride in the history and character of the unique building and hope you make the Dylan your home while you are in Dublin. Our location is a short walk to the Aviva Stadium, RDS, St Stephens Green and Grafton Street. The Dylan Hotel is a destination for the endless array of Dublin City’s fashion, leisure and business. Our luxury 5 star hotel is steps away from the top restaurants in Dublin, shopping and night life and houses the award winning Tavern Restaurant, Dylan Bar and terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel Dublin
Hotel Dylan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing