We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in a prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in a prime location”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Great staff and trendy rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable. I was able to walk to Stephens's Green Shopping area in minutes. I even walked to meet friends for dinner on Dawson Street.

Great overall experience!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtnpetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    529
    197
    70
    32
See reviews for
143
550
83
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

As an Irish ex-pat, I was excited to take 5 friends back to Dublin for a week of fun for St. Patrick's Day. I saw the 4 Star rating for this hotel but I have to say my (our) experience left me more than a little embarassed that this is what a 4 Star hotel in Dublin is supposed to be.
On the positive side, the location is fantastic. Staying here made everything in the city within walking distance for our group within the city. Additionally, the front desk staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and professional at all times.
Unfortunately, that's all I can say in favor of this hotel. There is not a snowball's chance in hell that this is a 4 Star hotel and I would have a tough time giving it even a 3 Star. I had read some reviews of guests being given refurbished rooms.....we had three rooms for 5 nights and none were refurbished. The room I was given was a disabled access room, which is not the worst thing in the world, however, I would prefer to be advised that was what I was getting before I got to the room. That in itself is not the issue though....the dark mildew in the tile grout in the bathroom and rust stains running down the tiles from the handles on the wall were absolutely disgusting. This coupled with the stench of stale urine was an absolute disgrace. We made it one night in that room and the front desk staff were very accommodating the following morning to provide us with a new room. The replacement wasn't nearly as bad, but we still had issues with the mildew and rust. For the week we spent in the hotel, I honestly felt that the cleaning staff simply wiped a damp cloth around the bathroom without using soap.....whatever about the gallon of bleach the room badly needed.
In short...if there are renovations going on, we didn't see any of them. There are cheaper and better places in Dublin that are just as convenient as this place. If I had known this was a 2.5 Star hotel, I might not be as bitter, but I hate being fooled into thinking I am booking a 4 Star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales Valleys
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Booked this hotel through Robert Davies Travel for Ireland v Wales weekend. Rang hotel a few days before arrival and asked for a room in their newly built (2009) extension these rooms looked much more modern on the internet. On arrival was given Room 1528 in the new wing, superb room, huge bed, lovely big room, modern , lovely bathroom, fanstastic shower big enough for two. This room did not have much of a view but you can't have everything. Other good points:- Breakfast included in our stay and was really nice, proper bacon not greasy, you could also ask the chef for other egg options rather than the daily scrambled provided. Reception staff (Val and Cath) really lovely people both Irish, alex who works the bar was also very nice. Bar is the cheapest in town 4 euros for all pints and bottles of lager / beer, they have dopped their prices, elsewhere we paid around on average 4.75 euros for guinness, would not pay temple bar prices. There is no restaurent as their website suggests you can have food in the bar but not an extensive menu. Bar is very good though. Parts of the hotel need updating / redecorating, especially since they have built the new wing, no comparison, it looks tired in many places. Overall the hotel was perfect for our stay, comfortable room, undisturbed sleep, warm.It took us 5 minuets to walk to grafton street, temple bar 10 mins. Local and in a convenient area, no bars along side but so many in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshrugbysupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Stayed 1 night here and cant recommend this hotel enough. I have stayed in this hotel in previous occasions and was impressed then. Was greated by a lovely woman at reception (Valerie). She was most helpful and reccomended us places for eating! We stayed in one of the new rooms and it was really excellent. The shower was amazing and the bed massive. Fair play! parking is available near by which is a little pricey. The price for the hotel does not include breakfast which is a little disappointing and there is no option to pre-purchase it on their website which is a tad strange. All in all a great hotel in fantasitc quiet location with a lovely helpful staff!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigjoekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

we booked this hotel on the recommendation of the airport's irish tourist office. we had a totally remodeled room extremely comfortable bed with plenty of storage, coffee and tea. The price was fine although it did not include breakfast which we would have liked. The staff was so helpful... they offered opinions on restaurants, locations and church services. We were surprised about the "extra" efforts the staff made to help us...every request was greeted and answered quickly.... they went to so real exrta efforts to help us. the location is across the street from St Stephan's Green down the block from from Grafton street. close to the airport shuttle stops . perfect for a weekend in Dublin or longer... close to all yet quiet away from drunks and really safe area. i know it is sometimes difficult to select a hotel if you select this hotel be sure you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This was one of the better hotels on my trip. The service was excellent and the rooms divine. The tea was hot and the sheets clean. Wonderful. Close to shopping too.

Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TamaraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed here on business just before Christmas for 3 nights.

The Hotel is in an excellent location, a short walk to O'Connell Street.
The service was fine and the hotel room nice and clean.
The Hotel is not cheap however, and if it was not being paid for by my company I would perhaps be looking to get more for my money.

I have been to Dublin on many occasions and it is a great city however, each time it gets more and more expensive to the extent that it is now in my opinion no longer good value for a European city break which is a pitty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianScotland73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.7 mi away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
1,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,267 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing