We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

The O'Callaghan Hotel at St. Stephens Green is in short walking distance to the trendy Grafton Street and also Temple Bar. It is directly across the road from the lovely St. Stephens Green park.

The Hotel itself is nice and comfortable and also quite clean. The rooms are fine and the TV has cable channels. Our room on the fourth floor was in close proximity to the buiding next door and directly in line with a window of the said building meaning we had to have the curtins drawn at all times or else the people could peer in. Worse - the said building was being renovated and we were woken up at around 8am each morning therefore no chance of a sleep in - very disappointing however it was the only disappointing aspect of the stay.

The staff were helpful and accommodating. They charge for internet use (wireless or wired) however you can pay by the hour (0.85 Euro) meaning it isn't too expensive to jump online for a while to check your emails and what not.

All in all a pleasant stay in a nice part of Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyJamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    547
    199
    71
    35
See reviews for
150
566
83
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The wife and I chose this hotel for price, location, some smoking rooms and its amenities for a 3-day stay in Dublin before 7 days of car-touring the country. While its outside appearance, public rooms, pub and restaurant were all OK (and no, the restaurant was not overpriced and service was good) the housing floors in general and our room 1100 were by far the dirtiest of the eight lodgings which we patronized.

Any hotel room, particularly a smoking room, needs to be cleaned, dusted and ventilated regularly, but our hateful maid and, surely, her indiligent property manager, have never done so. Doesn't anyone there work?

Our room was very worn out, neglected and reeked, unnecessarily, to high heaven. Neither were the windows opened nor HVAC (which both should have been on to ventilate the room) were operating or left to do so by the maid. Had that been the case, things would have been different. My own window-opening and AC turn-on each day, which worked, were undone every day by this stupid or hostile Asian maid, thus making the place into an unventilated tomb. The cheap carpeting, bedspreads, lampshades and upholstery of some 20+ years or more were stained, lumpy, worn out, and hadn't been cleaned in years. The windows, both inside and out, were super-grimy and had not been wiped in at least 6 months. The HVAC system pulled air from the room and sent it back, but its intake vent was so clogged with 20 years' of needless filth that it barely worked. I also checked their screws and these grilles had never been touched since day one.. The large bath looked superficially clean but, when sitting on the toilet, I saw that its under-sink drain pipes, much like everything else, had also been left uncleaned with 1/8" or so of grimy fuzz atop them.

The in-room fridge did not cool well due to filthy coils and neglect and we could not read in the evenings as the nightstand lamps had useless, dim 6W bulbs for reasons of cheapness. Yet, they've wasted a fortune on building, heating and cooling a huge, energy-wasting, glass atrium solely for appearances' sake! The stained, old carpets we found were not unique to our floor. Given some elevator malfunctions, we had to ride up to go down to ours and all the elevator lobbies, even on the top floor, were as filthy or more than ours. Poor maintenance, cheapness and bad management prevailed throughout.

The long and short of it is that we had a maid with a poor attitude and a property manager who ignored his hotel and both should both be sacked. German, Swiss or American hoteliers should be brought in to fix this broken hotel. Then and only then will this hotel even approach its claim to a four-star rating. Until that happens, experienced guests should stay away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I travelled to Dublin with 3 friends to see Take That in concert. There was a mix up with our rooms but as we arrived to check in it was all sorted by the fantastic front of house manager Alan. We stayed in the apartments which were just lovely, very clean and they were huge. Alan was wonderful and made sure everything was to our satisfaction before he left us to settle in. Can't wait to go back to Dubln again soon to do some shopping and to stay at the hotel again and hopefully have Alan to check us in again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newlywed26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSV
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at the O'Callaghan Stephen's Green on a return leg of a 1 month trip. We took the Blue bus from the airport and then walked to the hotel. Not a bad walk, even pulling luggage. We were overjoyed to see the hotel as it was raining briskly when we arrived.

The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was large by even US standards and comforatably filled with furniture. The bathroom was very large and well appointed with toiletries.

There was a hot pot for coffee and tea and a lovely biscuit/cookie.

The location is just up from the top of Grafton Street, the main shopping area. Lots of great pubs and restaurants in an easy walking distance. We set out each day and never had a difficult walk to any of the major Dublin "atractions"

The cost of breakfast was high by our pocketbook, but we like to visit bakeries to get breakfast anyway! We did notice that the bar at the hotel did not appear to be a happening spot, but with so many pubs in the area that was not surprising.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Stayed here 6 nights late May to early June. The location is great - walking distance to many sites, restaurants, shopping and parks. We got a terrific rate (paid in advance via internet reservation) and were very kindly upgraded without charge to a larger room with sitting area in a quiet location.

We arrived early (approx. 9:00 am) and were told our room would be ready after noon. We left our luggage, did a bit of touring on foot and came back after lunch (approx. 2:00 pm). Our room was ready and the staff had already transferred our luggage to it. Overall, the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

If you take the AirCoach bus from the airport, use the Leeson Street Lower stop, it is an easy walk to the hotel straight down the street.

Also, be sure to stop in Iveagh Park (very nearby) to see the garden, maze and waterfall. It is very lovely and not as busy as some of the other city parks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CU_Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the O'Callaghan for ten days and found it to be very acceptable, with minor reservations. Upon arrival, when the desk receptionist noticed the length of our stay, she upgraded us to a suite with no extra charge (the room had been booked as part of a package). The location of the hotel was perfect for us - across from St. Stephen's Green and a couple of blocks from Grafton Street. There were loads of options for food, from sandwich shops to markets to fine dining - we enjoyed them all. The suite was spacious, with a somewhat decent view of the Wicklow Mountains, but we were also overlooking the construction of a new wing to the hotel. Noise was not bad, despite that. Although the bathroom was spotless and extremely well supplied with toiletries, there was some kind of issue with the hot water in the sink, which they tried to resolve, but apparently the new construction affected the hot water supply. The walls needed a fresh coat of paint, and the carpets were a bit tired looking, but we were told that once the new wing is completed there are plans to refurbish the older rooms. It would have been nice to have had a minibar in the room, but it was not a major problem for us to be without it. The desk staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful with whatever requests or questions we had. If we ever get back to Dublin, we definitely would consider staying at this hotel again, especially if offered one of the new rooms, or a refurbished room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTravelers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

A perfectly good hotel, though their boutique moniker is a bit much - looks like a standard late 1980s-decorated place. Rooms are fine and the service quite helpful. Users from non-euro countries should watch - they try to charge in your home currency as default with rates 3% unfavorable - 1.445 EUR/USD for us when the spot was 1.400 that day. They happily move to euro on request.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crescent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are currently reviewing some of our older reviews to ensure O'Callaghan Stephen's Green continues to offer distinguished service and excellent accommodation. I wish to acknowledge receipt of your review as feedback both positive and constructive allows for enhanced improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Clifford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,311 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,475 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#78 of 151 in Dublin
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing