We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in the center of Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #52 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Le Chesnay, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel in the center of Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Victoria, from reception who was not only helpful but also suggested some activities to do during my days there.
Rooms are big, comfortable and clean. I only missed a minibar, but it has a kettle with coffee and tea. Windows are double-glazed so you barely notice anything going on on the street. And if you need to put anything in the fridge, they can keep your stuff in theirs.The breakfast buffet variety was fine, not too much to choose, but enough for all tastes. :) Waiters are very kind too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Maria S. I am delighted to hear you found the staff very friendly and helpful. I will be passing your kind comments onto Victoria and the team in the restaurant. Improvements have been made recently to the breakfast offer but we are continually assessing the variety based on feedback from guests. Once again thank you for leaving feedback and we hope to see you back in Dublin soon.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    514
    191
    69
    32
See reviews for
137
542
78
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed 3 nights for a business trip and had a great stay. My room was in the newer section of the hotel and was very nice and modern. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was incredible! Love being right across from the park and shopping area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the executive wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CMcKoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review CMcKoy. I am delighted to hear you had an excellent stay at the hotel whilst on business. At Stephen's Green Hotel, we are committed to providing exceptional service to all our guests and it is great to hear this was the case during your visit. Some improvements have taken place around our breakfast offer and whilst we feel it offers exceptional value of money we will soon be adding some additional options following guest feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Green be it for leisure or a return business trip.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on business. My room was nice, but not cleaned properly.There was a nasty ring in the bathtub/shower from the previous guest and wasn't cleaned throughout my stay. The variety of drinks at the bar was fairly limited. The food was good. The employees were very friendly, helpful and professional. The location of the hotel is very convenient downtown Dublin. A variety of shops, restaurants and landmarks can be reached by foot, or public transportation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Eddie L. I am sorry to hear you found an article belonging to a previous guest in your accommodation. Needless to say this should not have been the case and is not reflective of the normally high level of cleanliness in the hotel. I will look into this further and take necessary steps to prevent against a similar occurrence in the future. I am however very happy to hear you found both the staff and food to be good during your stay. I will pass your comments onto the team. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin soon.

Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I truly enjoyed this hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was helpful and responsive with most issues. The restaurant had a very limited menu but the food was excellent. The location was superb! The biggest issue we had was using the internet. It was not included in our package so we bought the service when it was needed. Getting logged on was very difficult and the internet would drop out frequently. On one day, we had no internet at all. We informed the front desk and asked for a credit. They refused. We would probably stay here again as long as we didn't need to rely on the internet at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review Clint130 following your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you experienced issues with the Wi-Fi at the hotel. We have taken steps in recent months to improve the overall experience with improved bandwidth and ease of connection. Needless to say I am disappointed to hear this was not the case from your experience. We are continually looking to improve this service allowing for secure and reliable connection. I will raise your issues with our ISP in an effort to prevent against a similar reoccurrence for others. Please feel free to contact me at paul.clifford@ocallaghanhotels.com regarding the refund which was not honoured at reception. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I hope your issues with Wi-Fi connection will not distract you from O'Callaghan Hotels in the future.

Kind regards, Paul Clifford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here for two nights on my recent trip. Very good location and helpful staff. The room was very clean and was the perfect size. The view wasn't the greatest- I had a view of the wall of an adjacent building- that doesn't bother me because I didn't spend a lot of time in my room. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachw182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review racw182 following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you had a positive stay and that you would recommend our hotel. As with most city centre hotels we cannot always guarantee a nice view but we will endeavour to provide a front facing room overlooking St. Stephen's Green where possible. Should you be returning to Dublin in the foreseeable future, be sure to contact me at paul.clifford@ocallaghanhotels.com and I will ensure you get a front facing room offering a view of the Green. Once again thank you for your kind review.

Kind regards, Paul Clifford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights during a conference in Dublin. I had an executive room which was comfortable and quiet. Good breakfast, especially if you can get a seat in the glass atrium with a view over St Stephens Green. Obviously very convenient for Central Dublin: my conference was only two minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review Deramore following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you had a positive stay at the hotel. We have given our breakfast offer some focus in recent months following feedback obtained from our guests and we feel the recent changes to include improved layout and additional breakfast items has greatly improved the breakfast experience at the hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel be it on business or for leisure.

Kind regards, Paul Clifford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nothing but good to say. Very friendly and accommodating reception. Clean and pleasant room. Nice food in the hotel bar where the staff were also very helpful when we arrived jet lagged. Central location in the heart of Dublin. Stephen's Green is a delightful park for a stroll to escape city life, right alongside the best of urban Ireland. Plenty of shopping, pubs, museums, businesses within easy walking. Hop on Hop off green bus tour was just right. 110v outlet. Apple chargers are built to handle both 120 and 250. We brought along two inexpensive plug adapters that worked as advertised. Free wireless worked well. Put the hotel key card in the holder by the switches at the door to activate the lights and ventilation. This hotel was just right for our holiday.

Room Tip: We had a fifth floor front room. Very quiet, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslanderEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review IslanderEh following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear you had a positive stay at the hotel. We have recent launched our new bar menus so I am glad you found the food nice. We understand the importance of having the right power supply particularly when travelling from overseas so you will find an 110v socket as well as the standard 220-240v sockets in each of our bedrooms. If travellers from the US or Canada require additional sockets, we can point visitors in the right direction to secure inexpensive convertors. Once again, thank you for leaving feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin in the foreseeable future.

Kind regards, Paul Clifford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing