We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We style here for a hen night in October it was perfectly located and the reservations staff were so helpful they made the whole booking process so easy. I would definitely stay here again for ease I access to shopping, nightlife and theatre.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathyk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Tippy B,

Here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for leaving us extensive feedback regarding your stay,

Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments to our team.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly on elena.talpalaru@ocallaghanhotels.com

Best Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    548
    199
    72
    35
See reviews for
150
566
83
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights & I could not fault my room. It was in a newer section of the hotel and the room was big spacious, clean and the bed was big & comfortable. Breakfast was good with the choice of continental or fully cooked breakfast. The location is excellent , a two minute walk from Grafton Street & very near Trinity College, Temple Bar and close to tour Hop on Hop Off bus. My only negatives are that I had to pay for Wifi ( I always feel it should be free at hotels of four star & over) . The majority of the staff were friendly but one lady was a bit frosty & was more like a school mistress than a receptionist. However I strongly recommend this hotel & will visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tippy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Tippy B,

Let me start off by taking this opportunity to thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay here O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.

Your constructive feedback allows us the opportunity to review and improve upon the hotels facilities and services and I have shared your comments to our team.
We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!

Do not hesitate to contact me directly on elena.talpalaru@ocallaghanhotels.com.
Best Wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

stayed in the hotel the weekend 8 feb. The hotel is excellent, super location for the centre of Dublin. We had a junior suite which I could not fault.

However, my partner and I like to listen to music, the only music available via the tv you had to pay for. There was only one radio station and this was tuned into "talk radio".

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear guest,


We are very grateful that you've taken the time to provide us with your comments referring to your recent stay with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Excellent combination of location, friendly manner and good price. Big room, very big bed, clean bath. Breakfast has a reasonable price. Lobby needs a modernisation. Clearly recommendable. Special thanks to Juan and Laurentia.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisMtnezFuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear LuisMtnezFuentes,

Thank you most kindly for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your previous stay. We are delighted that all was to your satisfaction and we certainly look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Rest assured that your positive comments have been passed on to all the team.

Regards,
Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble. Well located, close to Grafton St. and Temple Bar. The room was a good size with equally good facilities.
The full Irish breakfast is not to be missed!!
I was in Ireland on business with my wife who was very happy to enjoy her time in the City whilst I attended meetings. The Hotel was in walking distance of interesting sites, shops and cafes and restaurants.
We be returning soon.
James O'Driscoll

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesdriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Jamesdriscoll,

Firstly let me start by thanking you for forwarding on your kind words.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time during your recent business trip here in Dublin and equally, that your wife enjoyed her time in Dublin as well.

Your comments are very positive and we have passed these on to our staff. It is important for us to receive such feedback as a reminder that we are on the right track.

We hope to see you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Started with a very slick check in, rooms very clean and well designed. Breakfast was very reasonably priced and food good quality and constantly restocked. Will def book here again.All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for king size room its only the bed that is bigger not the overall room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theduch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear theduch,

We would like to thank you for leaving us with your feedback.

Naturally, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be kind and helpful. We really appreciate your kind words.

I look forward to seeing you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Lovely & welcoming front desk staff. I received a complimentary upgrade. I've stayed here a few times and have been very happy each time. The location is fantastic, you really can't get much better. The only downside is that parking is a 5 minute walk away and can be expensive so book online in advance. You can pull up at the hotel door to drop off luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Kathy F,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback relating to your recent stay with us, as always, we very much appreciate that you took time to do so.

We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that all was to your liking.

With regards to the parking, we know that it can, at times, be a little difficult due to our central location however I am glad that you were able to find a good online deal and we would remind you that, for the future, we are able to stamp your parking ticket at the reception to apply a discount which our guests are eligible for.

We hope you are well and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best regards,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,318 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,478 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#77 of 151 in Dublin
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing