We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #52 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Surprising...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The biggest surprise was to note on leaving after a three night stay that the hotel was only rated "very good" by previous trip advisor contributors. We, eight aged genlemen, rated it excellent in every way. From the welcome on arrival through to the service in all parts of the hotel, all was superb. The rooms were a generous size as were the very comfortable beds. The location is also superb while the traffic noise for a city centre hotel was minimal. When our sailing was cancelled because of the bad weather Colin, the duty manager, spent a lot of time and effort to ensure that we were booked on the next day crossing. The extra night's booking went smoothly and was negotiated at a very favourable rate. Hats off to your staff, Mr O'Callaghan!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abercraverfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear abercraverfc,

Here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for leaving us extensive feedback regarding your stay.

We appreciate your comment regarding the 'very good' status on TripAdvisor. We are committed to continually bettering our services where possible and your comment is a reflection that we are doing well in this respect.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you for a further night when your sailing was cancelled and we were happy to assist.

We hope to see you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    514
    191
    69
    32
See reviews for
137
542
78
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Made a group booking for 17 over the rugby weekend with hen party. This hotel was in a brilliant location few minutes walk to grafton street. Rooms very nice. Breakfast lush! Best thing about this hotel was the staff service. They were all very professional helpful and super friendly. I would recommend this hotel to stay and would def book again. Cannot think of anything bad to say except us losing in the rugby! Thank you for a wonderful weekend and looking after the whole group.x

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Kim C,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it's very much appreciated.

We thoroughly enjoyed conversing with your party whilst staying with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel. It was our pleasure.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Your kind remarks have been passed on to all staff at the hotel.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My partner and myself arrived for a four night stay in Dublin a couple of weeks ago , I have never stayed at a O'Callaghan's hotel before , but we were not dissapointed... in fact delighted ! The location of the hotel was superb for our shopping in Grafton st .. Trinity college to see the book of Kills etc ...The room was very comfortable with a superb bed ...The food was excellent both breakfast and dinner and very reasonable ..how you supply full Irish cooked breakfast for €10 each is still beyond me ! .. Have to say the staff were more be than helpful on all occasions ...always with a free smile ! ....value for money ... definitely ! ..I have stayed often in most hotel chains in Dublin over the last twenty five years ...but O'Callaghan's comes up trumps ! ..would we return ? .. yes most definitely ...will done O'Callaghan's keep up the good work !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear wanderer566,

Let me start off by taking this opportunity to thank you for providing your extensive feedback regarding your recent stay here O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.

We genuinely enjoyed reading your feedback and would thank you for taking the time to give us a detailed account of your stay.

We're delighted everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel.

We look forward to accommodating you in the upcoming future!

Take good care,

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel just off St Stephens Green. Staff friendly and informative. Bar staff great. Room very comfy and massive king size bed! About 5 minutes walk from Graton Street/Duke street bars. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank colldoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear colldoll,

Thank you for taking time to leave us your comments. We genuinely appreciate it.

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed conversing with the bar staff. I've passed on your comments to the team.

We hope to see you in the upcoming future and wish you pleasant travels wherever they may take you.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I availed of a great offer at the above Hotel last week, My stay was perfect, lovely room, great staff, very helpful in regards to the parking and location to town, Hotel is in a great location to town. I would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OisinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear OisinDublin,

Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback regarding your previous stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your feedback is vital in letting us know that we are on the right track.

We hope to see you again in the upcoming future.

Best wishes,

Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night, great location, parking a bit of a pain but you will get over it - greeted by a lovely efficient receptionist, room very nice modern and spotless clean. Didn't use dining facilities but the bar was full of persons eating and drinking.Really enjoyed it and will use again when traveling to Dublin.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear tipp35,

Let me start by thanking you for your positive feedback.

We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction. As a team, it is of the highest importance for us to provide good service.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a well priced hotel in an incredibly central location. The rooms are very clean and well maintained and there is very little external noise for an inner city hotel. Very helpful staff too, would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbivore23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Talpalaru, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear herbivore23,

We are very grateful that you've taken the time to provide us with your comments referring to your recent stay with us here at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best wishes,


Elena Talpalaru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing