We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location,fabulous room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location,fabulous room”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Please read until the end! I stayed at this hotel last week,while atrending a conference in Dublin. The entrance,lobby and breakfast restaurant are somewhat dull and lack character. They need to be better lit and looked after,also adding a touch of class. First impressions are so important,Mr O'Callaghan!! :-P The people at the front desk were unhelpful and quite nasty on the night I arrived. I was cold,tired and felt they were being quite nasty. However, I got to my room and things changed SO MUCH! It was located at the renovated side of the hotel,and boy was it comfortable,clean,spacious, cozy and nice altogether! Already happy with my choice I had a very comforting dinner at the Magic Glasses bar (in the lobby) and had a great night's sleep. Breakfast in the morning was ok,though it could definitely be better. Also,waiters and waitresses were really noisy clearing away plates while we were having breakfast,which was not very nice and could be improved. As I was so happy with my room,these flaws did not matter much,and the people at the front desk were nice in the end too. Overall,great value,great location at a stone's throw from Dublin's amenities. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falavacarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your constructive feedback. We are planning to refurbish the hotel lobby and restaurant at the start of the year, so we hope to have this completed early next year.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced upon checkin, and the noise in the restaurant,, as i can assure you this is not the standards that we aspire too.

Once again your feedback is important to us, and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    525
    191
    69
    32
See reviews for
140
547
81
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed @ the Stephens Green Hotel for the weekend of the ND/Navy football game, and other than paying an inflated price because of the enormity of the event, the hotel was an excellent choice. Stephens Green is centrally located to enjoy ALL of Dublin city center, the staff was helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable about everything in Dublin.
The rooms were large enough, very comfortable and spotless. The bathrooms have great showers!
This hotel was a good experience for the 3 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and in our hotel.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A 4 star hotel would have enough staff for a bellman upon entry to help with bags and a much better lobby. I agree with the previous reviewer about the shabby experience overall when you compare to real 4 star hotels. The rooms we overall ok with nice comforters and decent sheets. Pillows were average. The bath shampoo was the lowest quality and worst smell I have ever seen in any 3 star hotel. No washcloths provided
Positives: very pleasant staff, good location
Recommendation: get rid of cheezy advertising on the glass window, improve lobby as is planned per manager, more bell staff, improve quality of breakfast (this was average at best), upgrade shampoo, provide washcloths

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJAugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and for your constructive feedback. All feedback is important to us whether positive or negative, as it helps us to improve on our product and service.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the O'Callaghan Stephens Green hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is horrible. My wife and I stayed there for four nights on the weekend of the Notre Dame vs. Navy football game when rooms in Dublin were impossible to find. The toilet in our room did not work properly at any point during our stay. Despite many complaints to the front desk, the toilet was never properly repaired. The paint was peeling off the wall in many places; the wood work was broken in several places, the tile floor in the bathroom was chipped. Management had an "I don't care" attitude. The hotel does have a good location, but staying here is a huge rip off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was most disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

When you reported the issue with your toilet on the first evening of your stay, the manager on duty tried to fix the problem, however he was unsuccessful in doing so, and therfore this was reported to maintenance the following morning, and as per the telephone call from reception the following morning, you gave permission for maintenance to access your room to repair the issue.

Maintenance reported back to the front desk that the problem had been resolved, however i believe the problem arose again that evening, and i can only apologise for this.

This is certainly not a true reflection of how the hotel operates, and i sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay, however we are the first to admit to our shortcomings, and we clearly fell short on this occassion.

I have passed on your commets to all concerned, and i thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with a good friend. We were lucky to get a great deal through otel.com We were given a suite with a huge and extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was great, powerful shower, plus bath and lots of toiletries. Only down side was poor view and hum coming from outside. Room was made up every morning to a high standard. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and delicious croissants. Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. Location was great, central but quiet. I would have no hesitation staying there again next time I am in Dublin.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if possible and avoid the humming noise coming from the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinlizzieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the hotel good value for money.

I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to all staff, and i hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a very dated property. Whilst conveniently located just off St. Stephens Green, the whole experience is a little shabby. The lobby ambience is a little depressing. The lifts are cramped and slow. The rooms are very tired. Bathrooms are awful - notices saying that "bathnmats are availbale on request". Limited TV channels. Mediocre breakfast - basically airline quality food (i.e. powdered scrambled eggs, economy sausages). Its not cheap either, so be sure to shop around to find far superior hotels (e.g. Raddison Blu) at better rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest..

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i was most disappointed to read your comments.

The hotel bedrooms were all refurbished last year, and we have plans to refurbish the lobby/ reception area at the start of next year.

In relation to your comments about the breakfast, i can assure you the eggs are not powdered, and are freshly prepared each morning, and the sausages are a standard breakfast sausage.

Thank you for your feedback, as all feedback whether positive or negative is constructive, and assists us in the day to day running of our business.


Kind regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had two great stays here recently. Hotel is perfectly located on Dublin's Saint Stephens Green which is a stones throw from the very famous Grafton Street. Staff are warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious and comfortable and we will definitely be returning :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Dublin.

I shall certainly pass on your kind comments to all the staff, and i hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing