We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal location, great customer service”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a pleasant weekend stay in this hotel for my partners birthday. They upgraded us to a suite which was very nice and spacious. The staff were all very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The location is ideal within close walking distance from Temple Bar.

We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and i am delighted to hear that the hotel and location met with your expectations, and i shall pass on this lovely feedback to all staff.


Kind Regards.

Dara McEneaney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    525
    191
    69
    32
See reviews for
140
547
81
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights for business. On entering the hotel, the foyer lacks atmosphere. The stairwells and passages had dirty carpets and smelt of damp. This is not what you want in a 4* hotel. The rooms were basic but the bathrooms definitely need refurbishment with taps and showers that are very old and towel rails falling off the walls. The television is tiny for a hotel of this class and took much negotiation to get onto television channels with first preferences on all screes being pay movies and even adult movies!
The service was similar to the hotel - it just did the job with nothing exceptional. I only had breakfasts in the hotel but again there was nothing memorable with a basic selection of cold and hot foods.
This is not a 4* hotel and I think the only reason it is doing good business is because of its great location on Stephens Green. It is a preferred hotel for my company but I hope that will change.

Room Tip: Best rooms have good view of Stephens Green but may get a bit more traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear ProfW,
Many thanks for taking the time to write concerning your stay with us. We very much appreciate our guests feed back as it is very important to us. I am so very sorry you were unhappy with the hotel. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments. With Kind Regards Sally Hughes General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on Friday 29th July. It was a celebratory event for my mothers 80th birthday. We were both looking forward to our stay in this '4 star' establishment. What a disappointment - we arrived and entered a souless and grubby foyer that was completely unadorned and was furnished only with a few well worn sofas and dirty tables.

We checked in and the room itself was ok but the bathroom left a lot to be desired with cracked and peeling paintwork and a whb that could not be filled as the plug was ill fitting. We decided to have a drink at the bar before a spot of sightseeing - big mistake!!! The bar area was as grubby as the foyer and I had to return my glass of wine as the glass was smeared. No wonder the room was devoid of customers.

The biggest disappointment however was to come the following morning. We came down to have breakfast in the Pie Dish Bistro. This was a room with stained carpets, threadbare chairs and an overall feeling of neglect. The breakfast fare itself was truly abysmal. It was located in a dark ante room (which in retrospect was probably a blessing given the standard of the food) and consisted of watery, tepid scrambled egg, a few sad sausages, overcooked mushrooms and black pudding which looked as though it had been hanging around for a few days. There was no bacon and I had to wait for 5 minutes for mismatched crockery to arrive. If this was a traditional Irish breakfast I'll have a MacDonalds.

I can only assume this hotel is rated 4 star because of it's location as in my opinion there are Premier Inns which would be of a much higher standard. If you are travelling to Dublin stick to the Gresham or Burlington if you want a 4 star rated experience.

I did give the hotel the opportunity to respond to my complaint but after having heard nothing despite having emailed them on two separate occasions I opted to write this review as it would appear that this is the only means by which management deal with customer feedback!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeFatLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear ThreeFatLadies,
Many thanks for post your comments and thank you so much for taking the time to speak with me on the telephone. I will write to you personally concerning your stay. In the mean time please accept my sincere apologies. With Kind Regards. Sally Hughes General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel has many plusses, location is def number 1. Most of the staff are very nice and helpful, Room was very clean, great water power which makes taking a shower after a full day of sightseeing a relaxing pleasure. Haven't eaten here so I cannot comment.
The only negative for us was NO Free WIFI anywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Marsh1972,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of your comment concerning WIFI. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write. With Kind Regards Sally Hughes General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

When we arrived at this hotel about 9 a.m. having just arrived in Dublin, we weren't surprised when we were told our room (for which we had a confirmed reservation) wasn't ready yet and we should return in several hours. We returned about 12:30 p.m. and were again told our room wasn't ready. After sitting in the lobby for about another hour, a hotel staff person approached us and explained that the hotel was overbooked and we would be moved to a sister hotel across town, the O'Callaghan Alexander. We were given lunch, free breakfast for three days at the sister hotel and a cab ride. We loved the O'Callaghan Alexander (which has a much more attractive lobby) so it was a win/win for us. My advice: be cautious about booking this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaryCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear CaryCook,
I would like to apologise to you both for the inconvenience caused due to the hotel being over sold. We very much appreciate your help in moving to the Alexander Hotel. Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies. With Kind Regards Sally Hughes General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

AC didnt work. Wireless couldn't connect because their router had no power. Repeated calls to fix both ignored or unable to fix (even though the former was only 6 months old). To cap it off, they screwed up the room service order.

One saving grace was one staff member who valiantly tried buy failed which is why I give them a 2 and not a 1 for service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLeeInSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephensGreenGM, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Yagoohoogle,
I am disappointed to read your comments, we have since had our IT person service the routers in the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. With Kind Regards Sally Hughes General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Booked this hotel for a 2 nights, 2 Junior Suits, 5 months in advance. The day before we are meant to arrive, I get a very anonymous email stating, 'due to a party extending their stay, we are moving you to another hotel'. No phone call, no asking if we would even LIKE to be moved to another hotel in a totally different part of town. We called the person who sent the email. HA!
Firstly I was told that the switch had been done, nothing we could do about it. When we tried talking to the 'Customer service' girl about this, she hung up on us, saying I was shouting. I called back, explaining that I wasn't shouting, I was just a New Yorker...! Hung up on again. After calling back a THIRD time, I was told I would have the original rooms at the original hotel.
Such a lack of basic customer service would refrain from me recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishgalinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear irishgalinnyc,
Firstly, please let me apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to our over booking situation also for the way it was handled. We normally take great pride in the service we offer to our guests' on this occassion we will be first to admit to our short commings. I very much appreciate you taking the time to write. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies.
With Kind Regards. Sally Hughes General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Address: 1 - 5 Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel comprises of two magnificently restored Georgian buildings, with a heritage of great historical and cultural importance to Ireland. One was home to the great Irish playwright, George Fitzmaurice, while 4 Harcourt Street was the birthplace of Lord Edward Carson, one of the founders of Northern Ireland and a central figure in Ireland’s Unionism movement. Entering through the tasteful reception area, guests will be struck by the stunning glass atrium, filling the lobby with natural light and overlooking the idyllic Stephen’s Green park. The stylish interior design throughout the hotel, with wood panelling and soft leather furnishings sitting alongside Georgian stucco ceilings and elegant fireplaces, beautifully showcases the fusion of old and new. George Fitzmaurice is honoured in the hotel through our bar and restaurant, which are named after two of his plays. The ‘Magic Glasses’ Bar is an opulent, comfortable bar where local businesspeople and visitors alike regularly meet over a coffee or drink, while the ‘Pie Dish’ Bistro, set in the bright atrium and the inner rooms of the Georgian houses, serves the finest in contemporary Irish and international cuisine. Located on the first floor, the Georgian library has a charming old-world feel, where you can sit in 19th century surrounds, featuring open fireplaces and chandeliers – an ideal way to unwind over a pre-dinner drink. A gymnasium is available for the exclusive use of residents, while the business centre is open 24 hours, with a secretarial service available for the business guest. Flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels. Guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Callaghan Stephens Green Hotel
o Callaghan Stephens Green Dublin
St Stephens Green Hotel
Stephens Green Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing