We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit outside the centre, but in the heart of Old Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #53 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Maldron Hotel in Smithfield is in the heart of Old Dublin. Many years ago, the city's cattle market used to be held in the concourse outside the hotel. The concourse is now used for occasional activities - for example, there is usually some event taking place on national holidays. There are still a few remnants of old Dublin to be found if you go looking around this hotel - the city council flats which overlook the concourse on the other side; a few dilapidated Georgian houses on the north side and the pawn shop around the corner all tell a story of Dublin's past, less affluent days.

The old Jameson distillery is just a short walk from the hotel; there, you can buy a bottle of the good stuff, or grab a coffee. Don't waste your money on the distillery tour though, this tour is overprices and is rather weak on substance: it doesn't even guarantee one or two drams of whiskey at the end.

The fashionable shopping districts around Grafton Street and Temple Bar are a 10/ 15 minute walk from the hotel and across the river Liffey. On the way, you will pass through ancient Dublin - founded in the year 986 - where the Vikings first settled. You will also pass near Christ Church Cathedral where the legendary Jonathan Swift - author of Gulliver's Travels - is buried.

Heading directly east from the Hotel will bring you through Capel Street, Mary Street, past the Jervis shopping centre, and then all the way O'Connell Street, finishing at the strangely singular millennium spire - a tall spike erected one year late in typical Irish style during 2001. Taken at a leisurely pace, this ~ 1 mile walk provides an opportunity to see the earthier side of Dublin; on a Saturday the streets are crammed with regular Dubliners doing their shopping for clothes, food and other general items.

My room came in at a very reasonable daily rate - I guess this hotel is seen as being outside the main city centre so the prices reflect this. Room facilities were good, the room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The hotel is fairly new, so no need to worry about the general condition of the furniture. I preferred to leave the window open during the day, because there was a slight odor of cleaning products in the room which never seemed to disperse.

The foyer is fairly basic, but there is a good breakfast room which converted to a restaurant and bar in the evenings. I preferred to eat out of the hotel as there are plenty of places on the north side of the river.

Being located just outside the city provided some benefits - parking was easier. Also the hotel is located just a short walk from the Luas Tram line. If you are planning to see Ireland by Train, then the hotel is very conveniently located because the same tram line will connect you Connolly station for trains heading north to Belfast and Heuston Station for trains heading south and west.

All in all a good experience - would recommend this hotel for someone or a group looking for a base to explore the city but you need to be prepared to do some walking!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BKearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

15th July
Dear BKearns

Thank you for taking the time to post your very informative review of our Hotel and the area around us

The entire team were delighted with your comments and that you liked the room and found it to be good value

We thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel was nice, clean and spacious. Beds were OK. Ventilation was needed.
However, the biggest problem was the noise. Stayed 3 nights and the closer you get the week-end the area in front of the hotel is used for extensive partying. Made it very hard to sleep. Called the front desk at 2:30 AM but nothing changed. Could not close window because it was hot. Food was just OK. Experienced better in Europe for same price.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that is on front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

15th July 2013
Dear CyTexas,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of out hotel,

The entire team were happy with your comments re the hotel and your room.

I am sorry your sleep was disturbed during your stay and can assure you this was not the norm. The hostel nearby had a power outage and had to evauate the property for a time and as it was full there were many people in the plaza outside. The Police were called as we didn't realise this at first but as it was an unusual circumstance and there was little we could do.

We thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved the rooms, the staff, and especially the cleanliness and free wifi. We did not like the walk into town, or the taxi rides home at night because we were told by many not to walk that way late. Next time in Dublin, we will stay at the Jurys Inn by Christ Church. (Also not a a great location, but shorter walks and close to everything.) We did like the restaurants and groceries nearby, so more positives than negatives. They will get you a taxi to the airport for "set rate" 20 euros. That is the way to go. We appreciated the helpful staff very much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeoweeGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear KeoweeGal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.

The entire team were delighted your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be so clean & comfortable .

We were also delighted you found the staff to be helpful as good customer service is vital and an area we strive to excel at.

We thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We chose this hotel as our room (it was inappropriately called a Suite) had a balcony. It is deemed to be a 3 star hotel and on reflection, it just scrapes into that bracket. The reception area reminded us of a basic French or Spanish hotel - the restaurant looked extremely uninviting and basic. The menus in the restaurant were unappealing and the choice very limited. Needless to say, we didn't eat at all in the hotel. In the room (it was not a Suite), the carpet was badly stained as were the chairs. The balcony was good offering great views of Dublin. No air conditioning and it was not possible to keep the balcony door open due to noise outside so the room was very stuffy.The shower was poor with pulsing hot and cold water and was not separate from the bath. A large support rail inhibits you having a hassle free experience as it gets in the way. The location of the hotel is good with plenty of cafes and bars close by - we had good cooked breakfasts in several cafes and chose to have a continental breakfast in the room with a good section of pastries and coffee from the supermarket next to the hotel which served us well throughout our 5 night stay. Temple Bar and Grafton Street were a 10 minute walk. Overall, we found Dublin to be very very expensive and didn't deliver value for money. This also applies to this hotel - they charged over £120 per night for room only and to call the room a Suite was inappropriate. If I travelled to Dublin again, I would not return to this hotel but would seek better value for money. On the positive side, the staff were very good and attentive and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinlayEMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I always enjoy my stay at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield - the hotel is very centrally located with many dublin attractios within easy walking distance and great bars and restaurants and the Fresh supermarket just outside your door. The bedrooms are comfortable - in addition the staff are so so friendly - they make it the perfect base for any visit to Dublin especially mine!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roryonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amtrayno, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Roryonline,

Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel.,

The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay once again you found the hotel to be convenient and the staff to be so helpful.

We thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was one of our three hotels on our vacation. It was by far the best. They allowed us to check in early, which was great after a red eye flight! Their WiFi is free in your room and worked the entire time we stayed here. We had a family room, the two beds were real beds, not a pull out.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning, so if the weather is scheduled to be nice and sunny, make sure to ask...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Thank you so much, as we as a three enjoyed are stay a your hotel the food, the room, an the whole experience and the bonus of being of upgraded for free. We can safely say we will be back.

Michelle Cardy

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4,619 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Academy Plaza Hotel
#44 of 150 in Dublin
4,621 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#64 of 150 in Dublin
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Family Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $100 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing