We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Smithfield
Ranked #55 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed a week at this hotel and was very pleased with the room (which was large) and the service. Had a computer problem and the manager came right up to fix. The neighborhood was fine and very close to luas. The walk to O'Connell street was about 20 min and was happy to have the small food store next door. Not many places for late dinner in area but did enjoy an Italian resturant just around the corner.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseDublin7, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Rory,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor, and we thank you for your continued custom.

The team and I were delighted that you enjoy your stays so much and appreciate the efforts made by the team to go the extra mile to make your stays a little easier and a little bit more pleasurable . Excellent Customer and personal service is one element that we prioritise here in the Maldron Smithfield and we feel makes us different from other hotels and I am delighted that you have found this to be the case.

We appreciate the feedback with regards to the lack of WIFI in the bedrooms. This is something we are currently investigating and we do hope to offer WIFI in the bedrooms in the near future.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good location just off the track but easy walk to centre and Temple Bar, also just down from a Luas stop. Got a very early (3 months prior) deal on booking.com that made it exceptional value. Breakfast is ok and can be booked when you arrive on a special day before deal of €8. Warned by taxi drivers and staff not to venture north of the hotel in the evening, pubs and nightlife that way not as pleasant evidently, plenty of other places to go, so no issue there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

It is always nice to stay at the Maldron Hotel in Smithfield.

The room is always very clean and comfortable but what makes this hotel special is the friendliness and flexibility of the staff. The fact that they have kept the same front of house staff for the last number of years is a good sign - i always find them brilliant ...

the one drawback is that in the bedrooms whilst there is complimentary broadband there is not any wifi which can be challenging if there is more than one laptop user in your group or people with smartphones ... investing in wifi and offering it free would be a great improvement. This is the only reason why I didn't give the room quality a '6' .... i know it can be expensive to offer free wifi throughout the hotel rather than just in the lobby which is the current position but in these days it is really necessary ...

that being said i will be back to the Maldron in Smithfield again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roryonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseDublin7, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Rory,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a wonderful and positive review on tripadvisor, and we thank you for your continued custom.

The team and I were delighted that you enjoy your stays so much and appreciate the efforts made by the team to go the extra mile to make your stays a little easier and a little bit more pleasurable . Excellent Customer and personal service is one element that we prioritise here in the Maldron Smithfield and we feel makes us different from other hotels and I am delighted that you have found this to be the case.

We appreciate the feedback with regards to the lack of WIFI in the bedrooms. This is something we are currently investigating and we do hope to offer WIFI in the bedrooms in the near future.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to write such positive feedback on your stay.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Maldron Smithfield on a Saturday night as part of a weekend break. The hotel is very easily accessed from the city by road or the equally convenient Luas Tram which has a stop 5 mins walk from the hotel. I was greeted at reception by a really lovely girl who couldn't have been more welcoming and polite. I also was upgraded to a Junior Suite, which was a real treat. The room itself was very spacious ad comfortable with everything you could need, and the view from the balcony east over the city was amazing. Slept very well and then came downstairs to the restaurant for an extremely good Irish breakfast. Only negative comment would be a few 'wear and tear' maintenance issues they need to keep on top of, but overall the Maldron is a amazingly good value for what it offers. A great base for both the business traveller or anyone wanting to explore the nearby city sights. Close enough to the city centre for easy access but far enough away to enjoy a quiet nights sleep. This was my 3rd visit and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBlackburne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Mark,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor and for your continued custom.
The entire team were delighted with the positive feedback after your stay.
Customer service is an area we prioritise here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and positive feedback such as yours gives a great boost to the team as we can see our efforts are appreciated.

We are continuously monitoring all maintenance issues throughout the hotel in order to rectify matters immediately and bigger jobs are scheduled to be carried out during the quieter periods.

Both the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Smithfield in the future and we thank you once again for your positive review.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a pleasent trip to Dublind.
The Hotel had an nice atmosphere, it was clean and nice.
The breakfast was good and the people in the reseption was nice and accommodating.
If we come back to Dublin, we would like to stay in the same hotel again :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room and accommodations were just what we needed for our trip to Dublin. The staff was pleasant and we had no issues that needed to be addressed. Our only complaint was the temperature of the room, we found it quite hot and didn't sleep as well as we would have liked because of it. This hotel isn't in the thick of crazy nightlife which is what we desired, although within walking distance were plenty of bar options. Also very close to Jameson Distillery & walking distance to airport shuttle which suited us well. The breakfast was not worth the outrageous cost - go next door to the market, they have a coffee shop (which my husband says makes an excellent latte) and all sorts of excellent pastries for breakfast.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ladybug650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amtrayno, Ann Marie Traynor, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Smithfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Ladybug 650,

Thank you so much for your positive review on tripadvisor.

The entire team were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and were thrilled with your comments, in particular about the rooms and friendliness of the staff. Cleanliness and customer service are the two areas we strive to excel at here at the Maldron Hotel Smithfield and positive feedback such as yours is a great boost for the entire team.

I agree our central location allows us to be very convenient for those wishing to explore Dublin. With the luas on our doorstep it offers easy access to areas such as Grand Canal Theatre and the O2 as well as being located walking distance to many of Dublin’s main attractions.

Breakfast is €10 per adult and can be prebooked at a reduced rate. This offers a wide selection from both the full Irish breakfast offering sausages, bacon, beans, hash browns, pudding as well as a selection of eggs, also a variety of breads and pastries, porridge, wide selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad and a variety of fruits, selection of cheeses and a choice of homemade yoghurts.

Thank you once again for your positive review and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Smithfield in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ann Marie Traynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,399 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Smithfield

Address: Smithfield Plaza, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
#54 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $89 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Smithfield 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For outstanding service, a home away from home, competitive rates and city centre location the Maldron Hotel Smithfield is the place for you. The Maldron Hotel Smithfield has just undergone a new refurbishment and is a modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Dublin city centre, with the LUAS on the doorstep and only 3 stops away from O Connell Street and 2 stops to Heuston Station. All 92 guest rooms are furnished in a contemporary style with complimentary WIFI access as standard. Many bedrooms feature wall to ceiling glass windows or balconies with panoramic views of the city. Maldron Hotel Smithfield's doors open onto Smithfield Plaza, a vibrant and newly developed quarter of Dublin City Centre. The Stir Restaurant and bar offers an extensive all day dining menu and shows all major sporting events on the big screen. Complimentary WiFi access is offered throughout the hotel. Shopping, entertainment, sightseeing, eateries and business districts within the O'Connell St and Quays area are within an easy stroll from the Hotel with Grafton Street, Temple Bar and Trinity College just a stone's throw away. The O2 theatre, the Bord Gais energy theatre and Croke Park Stadium are very easily accessible. Smithfield's LUAS light rail station is only moments away from the Maldron Hotel Smithfield providing easy access to the airport and main bus & rail stations. Facilities at a glance - Superior 3 star property - City centre location - 92 superior guest rooms and suites - Stir Restaurant - 2 state of the art meeting rooms - Complimentary WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin
Comfort Inn Smithfield Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing