We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !!!”
Review of Ashling House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashling House
Ranked #117 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Wonderful !!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful and clean hotel. The staff was so friendly and accommodating to our needs. I would come back again!!i loved the bar area with the nice seating so cozy. The cappuccino and the muffins were amazing!! Our room was beautiful decorating and very clean

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheniqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    50
    33
    28
    16
See reviews for
30
49
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed for 5 days in Dublin, booked the B&B via Internet.
They have very comfortable rooms, very clean, very friendly welcome.
Continental breakfast ist optional, was very fresh and good for a nice start of the day.
Padraig and Bernadette, the owner, are very very friendly people, they do almost everything to make your stay comfortable and relaxed. The employees are very relaxed and nice women who do an excellent job every day.
Beds were made every day, fresh towels also.
From the Airport, a bus (Nr. 16&41) stops every few minutes after 30-minutes-drive directly in front of the B&B.
To the city center, you will need only ca. 15 minutes by several busses again.
Go there, you will be satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRReiseBerater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at Ashling House because its "sister" B&B Azalea House was booked up. We were glad to find something close to the airport at a reasonable rate. Bernadette was very helpful with all of my inquiries. However the room and House were very disappointing. All of my Bed & Breakfast experiences have been staying in people's homes. This was like a hotel. Granted we had to leave too early to have breakfast, but we did not enjoy the home ambience we expected whatsoever. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the attic I suppose. I luckily only banged my head once on the low beam hanging over my bed. The bathroom was the tiniest I have ever had the need to use; the sink was small enough for a leprechaun. I think it should be more accurately advertised as a hotel, or room to let. The best thing about our stay was the view out of our window with the Irish rainbow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

swindon,england
Level Contributor
218 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for three nights as part of a six day holiday in Ireland to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.The whole trip was a surprise booked by our three children,so the accommodation choice was out of our hands,but thanks to the many previous very good reviews they chose the Ashling,thankfully.
The Ashling is very easy to find as it is on the very busy Upper Drumcondra Road which is a main route into the centre of Dublin and only a ten minute drive from the airport.
We were welcomed on arrival by Padraig and shown to our room which was located on the ground floor to the rear of the property,the room was fairly small but very cosy with the radiator on which was much appreciated due to the weather outside,there was an en-suite bathroom situated at the end of the room comprising of all the usual essentials,both rooms were very clean and of a very good standard.
Once settled in we were invited by Padraig to join him for a briefing on the bus services and places of interest etc. which was all very helpfull.
Breakfast which is continental in style was available in the large dining area/lounge area on the ground floor to the front of the house,there was plenty of tea/coffee,cereal,toast,fruit ,hams and cheeses available which you can help yourselves to.
During our stay all the towels were replaced daily and beds made up and room cleaned spotlessly.
All in all a very nice place to stay whilst in Dublin,many thanks to Padraig and the staff for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear of the property would be a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scaffolder1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weekend nights for St Patrick's day celebrations. It is a 15 minute bus journey into Dublin centre.
We (4) had the largest room between us but didn't feel cramped. Room was clean, bedding turned down daily and the towels replaced in the morning.
Host was very amenable with information on buses and fares as well as local info on bars and places to eat. Even allowed us to use his pc and printer as well!
Would book there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martint8336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

there was 4 of us who went over for st pats weekend, ashling house was spot on clean friendly and a 10 min bus ride from o'connell st. the room was clean and spacious with the beds made everyday , the host were fantasic and will deffo be going back, padraig(hope i spelt that right) was great all the info we needed on our arrival

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 525doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I and my daughters had a wonderful stay at this bed and breakfast. From the booking stages Padraig the manager made us feel at home, the staff made our stay a pleasant one.
Very clean … to describe it is like home away from home.
Value for money would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAZ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
4.2 mi away
The Marilyn Mansion
The Marilyn Mansion
#54 of 149 in Dublin
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#24 of 149 in Dublin
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Purcell House, All Hallows College, Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Avoca Lodge
Avoca Lodge
#92 of 149 in Dublin
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almara Bed & Breakfast Dublin
1.3 mi away
Marian Guest House
Marian Guest House
#48 of 149 in Dublin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling House

Property: Ashling House
Address: 168 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashling House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashling House was built in the 1930s, can boast a wonderful location in the leafy suburb of Drumcondra and yet within a short distance of the city centre and Croke Park. Dublin Airport is 6 miles away and journey time is ten minutes by car or twenty minutes by bus (bus fare is €2.40, taxi about €15). At Ashling House Bed and Breakfast you have full use of our Landscaped Private Garden to the rear of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ashling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing