We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and friendly staff”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 13, 2009

This is a standard business hotel with very good value. The rooms are clean and quiet, the beds comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There are more luxurious options but they cost at least the double. The only negative thing is the free internet service which is really slow but hey, it's free. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2009

Around 15-20 minutes walk from town (or plentiful buses or DART station across road) it benefits from therefore being quieter than what you'd get in and around Temple Bar for example. Also better value than hotels in the centre. Staff very friendly and helpful and the room was big and clean. Hotel pretty new and has been built in an area that's being redeveloped to include new bars and restaurants on the Grand Canal and the new Landsdowne Stadium. Also close to all the amenities in Ballsbridge and the fascinating Beggar's Bush (old Army barracks where Erskine Calders was executed).

Hotel is attached to an Irish pub of the 'pretend Irish pub' genre (ie modern and identical to the sort of Irish pubs you find in the UK). Good to know you can have a pint before bedtime (and live music) but serious pub-goers should buy a Dublin pub guide and look for the loads of proper old and historic boozers around.

All in all, good value and a quiet night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This hotel is in a good location as it is within walking distance of the main attractions in dublin but far enough away to feel relaxed and quiet. My room was of a good standard and the beds were comfortable which is always a bonus when travelling.
I would of liked to have fridge in the room but as it was a short visit it wasnt really an issue and the coffee bar in the reception sells cold water in the morning.
I would recommend this hotel for short weekend stays, for longer visits its worth paying a little more to get all the little luxuries.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvtotravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and this was our first visit to Dublin. The location is good. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, very welcoming. The room was of a very high standard, lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed too, nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good, something for everyone. We couldn't fault this hotel and would stay here again. Definitely deserves higher star rating.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

I had stayed here a few times with work & had numerous meetings here which were always successfull.
Even after leaving my job, I still booked in here with my other half when we came to Dublin as it is so convenient to the city centre (you could walk it in about 20 mins) and great if you were going to anything in the RDS.
Hotel is very clean & modern. Rooms spacious and comfortable. FREE parking for residents or anyone who has a meeting booked there.
Good bar food in bar...which is quite a popular place too. Breakfast not included in price, but good breakfast can be had there.
Stayed in Ballsbridge Inn on last trip to Dublin, which I regret and will be booking into Grand Canal next time we are visiting!
Definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABCiarrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed in late July for our first visit to Ireland. Here’s an overview of our experience:

Room
We stayed in a standard room with a double bed. The room was comfortable and clean. No fancy amenities - coffee, tea and toiletries were provided - but we weren't expecting much more. The decor was contemporary and the furniture was in good shape. Housekeeping did a great job. We had a street-facing room, slept with the windows open some nights and weren't bothered by the noise. Speaking of noise - I don't think we heard another guest the entire time we were there - a definite plus.

Food
We stopped into the Gasworks Bar after a long day of touring and happened on the Shamrock Rovers v. Real Madrid football match. The food was good (fish and chips and a burger) and the pints were flowing. A great international crowd made us not miss the more traditional pubs too much. :)

Service/Staff
The staff, for the most part, were accommodating. Some were much more helpful than others - I'd expect that anywhere. We got caught up in sightseeing our first night and needed help finding a close restaurant that was open late - they were not too helpful in that case. However, they were great with advice and assistance with public transit.

Overall
The Grand Canal was a good experience, and the price was right for a last minute booking. I probably would prefer to stay closer to the city center next time I visit Dublin, but it was only a 10-20 minute walk to everything we wanted to see. We ended up taking a cab only once, on the first night - we were jet lagged, a little lost and the rain was coming down. Being so close to the DART station was great, too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Stayed in hotels on O'Connell Street and near St. Stephen's ... but in reading the reviews on this site I chose the Grand Canal. Now I'm convinced. It's a great value - and it's easy to get to ... right on the edge of the revitalized docklands/gasworks district. It has a railway stop basically across the street [the building across from the DART stop is Irish HQ for a certain Internet power whose name sounds like a small Irish midlands town] and has a free car park ... taxis are plentiful ... and yes one can walk to the center of town in about 15-20 minutes if warranted. A new footbridge across the Liffey will connect this area to the city's convention center shortly.
The rooms are clean and large. Plenty of electrical outlets. Free wi-fi. A connected restaurant with full licence and flat-screen TVs. A separate restaurant for breakfast. And even a coffee shop in the lobby. And it s quiet. Got room service for breakfast one morning and it was just fine.
This place has lots of potential, and when I go to Dublin again this will be HQ.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,447 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,609 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
586 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,618 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $109 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing