We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Canal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$281
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$206
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$423
$283
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stauntons on the Green(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$227
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$183
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,865)
Filter reviews
1,865 results
Traveler rating
709
825
247
52
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
825
247
52
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgasworks baraviva stadiumtheatre packagedart stationgas workscity centretheatre breakbord gais theatreminute walkfree car parkinglovely hotelbar foodbooked this hotelreception staffstayed here for one nighthotel bartwin room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,583 - 1,588 of 1,865 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Stayed in this hotel over the weekend of the rugby international, February 2009, and was impressed with value for money offered. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the centre, has a good bar (with excellent live bands on the two nights we were there), plus offers free parking facilities to hotel guests. The rooms were a good size and clean and comfortable. I have stayed in 4 star hotels which have not been up to the standard of the Grand Canal's 3 stars. Would definitely go back - not particularly grand but more than adequate and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed three nights at the Grand Canal Hotel and found that it's in a great location to explore the city by foot (around 10-15 minute walk to the centre). Arrived at the hotel three hours before we were due to check in on the off chance that they'd have a room for us to leave our bags but the staff were great and allowed us to check in there and then. Room was fine and comfortable and looked clean although we did find someone's bra behind the sofa which suggests that it's not that throroughly cleaned between guests. If you're staying there, try to ask for a room away from the main road as ours overlooked the road on the fourth floor and the noise from the traffic was quite loud and enough to wake me up.
For the price and the location this is a really great find and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cluelessoncuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Grand Canal Hotel.
Check in was handled efficiently and I found the staff at reception extremely helpful and friendly, with a great knowledge of Dublin City.
The rooms were clean and spacious.
The hotel is situated within walking distance of the City centre.
Although we didn't eat every evening in the restaurant the ones we did ,we found the service to be prompt and the food to be lovely.
The free onsite parking was an added bonus. I'd highly recommend this hotel for either a weekend break or a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trixibelle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Stayed in hotel over bank holiday weekend/dublin marathon weekend. Hotel was very busy but staff coped very well and managed to keep smiling.
We found the staff very helpful when it came to giving directions and had a good local knowledge of Dublin.
Breakfast was great, good choice of cereals, toast and cooked breakfast. We also had our evening meal in the bar, the service was brilliant and the staff were very friendly.
The rooms are clean and bright, the decor is modern.
The area is very close to Dublin city centre, within walking distance along a main road. The safe free parking is also a bonus.
I would recommend this hotel, it has everything you need for a stay in Dublin. A+++

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missjojo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

good standard in the hotel accommodation, in general a nice service from reception.
bit of slow service in restaurant, evening, when little customers.
breakfast needs more vegetables, and fruit.
walkin distance from centre, and good surrounding for rest, not too much souns disturbing nighttime

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank trotterEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews