We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel a little bit out of town”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are going to Lansdowne Road this is a perfect hotel - I stayed here in September for a concert and it is literally 5 mins from the stadium. If you are going to the City Centre it is a little way - about 15 mins walk but the Dart Station is across the road and can get you there in about 5 mins. Room was very comfortable and clean. Good quality HD TV - albeit limited channels in Ireland - but at least could get UK Terrestrial channels. Free internet in hotels means 256k connection with limitations on what you can access. Not here - the free internet is fast and the connected TV lets you access your Netflix account. Breakfast very good selection to keep you going for the day.
IF you are staying for a few days and want to do something different - instead of taking the Dart to the City go the other way to Bray - a lovely seaside town - and the trip itself has spectacular views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Yankee_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the concert. The stadium is very close and a great venue.
The Dart is a super way of getting out of the city for an hour or two - the other direction to Bray is Howth, which is also a beautiful place to visit with lovely restaurants and walks.
Hope we will get the opportunity of weeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting family in Dublin. We arrived early for check in and asked if we could leave our bags, but were informed our room was ready, and were checked in there and then. The weekend we went happened to be a home match for the Irish Rugby team, and the bar was very much trended towards the game - our request for coffees took a while to be delivered, and we were not asked what sort of coffee we wanted. The room was adequate, although the bath had no plug, but this was delivered quickly when reception were informed. The breakfast was of a buffet style, full English or continental, and we were seated quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAR6463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your posting. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the reception team were able to offer you an early check in. We are very close to the stadium which creates a great atmosphere on match days in the bar. I hope you might have the opportunity to visit us again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Myself, my boyfriend and his parents stayed at the Grand Canal for 2 nights beginning of September. We got there 8am and found our travel agent did not confirm our stay, but no worries the reception worked hard to get this corrected and got us 2 nice rooms in less than 20 minutes we were checked in:) Rooms were spacious, beds were nice and the bathroom was nice, everything was clean. The staff very nice and helpful. The breakfast was tasty as well. Its a bit of walk to get into city center but it is definitely doable. Overall it was a great stay at the Grand Canal Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webbeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments. I am glad we were able to accommodate your booking and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of the Vagabond tour (also wonderful) the staff was great and the pub was perfect. After a long day of touring it was nice to come back for a pint and meal.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: they were all great- we had three rooms. I chose my room again when I returned form the tour. I bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doularose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your time in Ireland.
Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here with two friends in a triple room. We availed for the the theatre deal i.e.bed, breakfast, dinner and a ticket to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre for €130 a head. It is a good deal but the hotel was only fair to middling. Triple room was decent enough. Dinner was in the bar, food was very good. The two main issues I had was that the reception were a bit slow with checking in - it seems they were short staffed. My other issue was the breakfast. We came down from our room at 10 am (not very late at all) and only half of the cooked breakfast was available while the other half was being cooked in the back kitchen. There was a long delay waiting for a very basic things like a fried egg and sausages! We ordered coffee for three. The pot of coffee which arrived tasted like something in between tea and coffee. We found this really bizarre as our coffees in the bar on the night before were freshly brewed and lovely. The "pot" was replaced by three mugs of proper coffee - only after complaining about it. These are small issues but the hotel did feel a bit disorganized. Only for their good deal with the theatre package I would be hesitant to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Small_trolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed to hear that the breakfast service was not up to standard and have past your comments on to the manager. It is not our normal standard and since there are some great shows coming up in the theatre and at the O2 I hope we might get the opportunity of welcoming you again when we can provide a standard of service more in keeping with our normal.
Thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. The hotel is nice and the staff were friendly. The room was quite big and bathroom was good. The hotel is about a 25 minute walk from Grafton street and a 2 minute walk to the DART train station to Tara Street. There are some nice restaurants down the road towards Beggars Bush (5 minute walk, turn right when you come out of the hotel). It's a good value hotel compared to the other hotels in Dublin. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gobees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our location good. The Dart is very handy and we still operate our airport shuttle.
I hope you will get the opportunity of see you again
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends as we took part in the Dublin city marathon 2013 . We were delighted with our stay , from the friendly staff at reception to our lovely breakfast on marathon day ,to the use of a shower after the run even tho we were checked out but hotel looked after us with no extra charge . Very good rates and spotless hotel room . We will be back .

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank paddy76Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Hello
And congratulations ! It is a huge achievement to participate in the marathon. We are in awe of you all and delighted to offer you use of the shower rooms after all that effort.
Hope we do see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,557 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,692 reviews
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $99 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing