We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here loads of times and have never had a bad experience. Rooms are very comfy. Free wifi is good. Adjacent bar very good good. Breakfasts are wonderful. Highly recommended and good value to.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays with us and hope you will continue to so so.
Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    730
    215
    46
    26
See reviews for
206
652
76
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

this was the last stop & hotel on our tour of Ireland. It was an arranged package. the hotel was clean, room was nice and the staff was very helpful. The only glitch along the way was the room heater, it only operates from 5-8am and 5-8pm. The room was cold because the windows were left open when we arrived and the heater itself did not turn on. A call downstairs brought up a portable heater. The person looked at the non working unit and said it is now fixed and should work between the given hours. The portable worked great but alas the 'real' heater still does not work.

Room Tip: make sure the heater works or ask for a portable heater. Obviously many people have this problem bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harborctylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that the radiator in your room appeared not to work. I would like to assure you that the heating works fully in all our rooms but am glad the temporary heater solved the situation for you.
Thank you again for the posting and hope you enjoyed you time in Ireland.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had the pleassure to visit this hotell and was quite satisfied. Arrived before check-in time but that was not a problem. Checked in fast and got to our room in the fifth floor with a big bathroom and a very good bed. All very clean with own bathrobs etc.
Went downstairs for lunch at the Gasworks and it was really good.
As well was the breakfast the next day.
This hotell is a little bit out of the centrum and the neighbourhood is quiet compared to the ones closer. Easy access to the centrum by foot, bus or DART.
The staff are very serviceminded and helpfull.
I would not only recommend it, but also return if ever in Dublin again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank Margrethe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will get the chance to return to Dublin and stay again.
Many thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of October 2013 for a gig at the O2. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and immaculate throughout. Breakfast was delicious. Only a 15/20 minute walk into town and just 1 mile from the O2 arena - perfect location for us. We already plan to stay here again on our next trip to Dublin. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. There are plenty of shows coming up in the O2 for all tastes from Depeche Mode to Stereophonics to Billy Joel.
Thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked the hotel about 2 weeks in advance as the trip came unannounced - this being one of the few avalible hotels with a good location near the city center. The hotel itself was accessible via Aircoach (Airport-Leopardstown, get off at Lower Leeson street and walk along the canal for about 15 minutes). The hotel itself was connected to Dublin city center via bus, DART and well... walking (about 15 minutes walk to Trinity college). The check-in was quick and simple, the staff at the desk were helpful with all our questions. The room itself was clean and well-maintained. However, the beds were small and the blankets could hardly cover you (we measured them to be ~1m across). The room has no air conditioning and as it was rather warm, it was hard to fall asleep. The main problem was that the price did certainly not meet the quality - 298€ for 3 nights with breakfast. Our window faced a wall. The breakfast was rather delicious though - the beans were superb and black sausage tasted like my grandma' made it. There are both pros and cons to this hotel, but if you want a rather OK location while paying extra, go for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer_Keerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast. While the Aircoach is a good option from the airport we also have a direct shuttle to and from the airport with Paddywagon Tours for €4 each way. Details of this and our guaranteed best available rates are on our website www.grandcanalhotel.ie.
Thank you again for your comments and we hope you might be able to return soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip and had expected more based on the many positive reviews. The Grand Canal isn´t really bad, but it´s not cheap and should deliver more. Location is not impressive (20 minutes walk into town - good exercise but still), and the room I had was definitely not updated. Some rooms may have been renovated, but this one certainly wasn´t.
It looked old and worn and the furniture made up by a mix of old pieces. It was relatively clean but cleaning lady overlooked a used champagne cork left by previous guests in plain sight on the floor so what else might she have missed? On the positive side the breakfast restaurant was nice with a good buffet selection and friendly staff. The attached hotel pub was too big too be really cozy but nice enough for a pint. My overall guess is that one can find a better deal elsewhere in Dublin for this price range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishFamilyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am disappointed that the standard in the rooms was not up to our normal and have spoken to the accommodation team regarding this. Our location is within 15 minutes walk of the city centre, with the business areas of the Grand Canal Dock, RDS and Merrion Square closer still.
We will certainly take on your comments and hope you might consider us again in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

nothing negative to say about this hotel. excellent value for money, excellent well equipped room, friendly staff and handy car park. lovely canal walk. Only stayed 1 night but definitely recommend to anybody thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing