We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
2 reviews
“Excellent Rooms”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The rooms are large and very comfortable and spotlessly clean with all mod cons . The accomodation staff are great and very helpful , with no request being to small . Sharon and her team are a credit to the hotel

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UKvis08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am delighted the accommodation team look after you so well and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    756
    223
    47
    26
See reviews for
219
682
79
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

For those of you who have never navigated your way around Dublin look out! Its not easy. What made our trip more enjoyable was our stay at the Grand Canal Hotel. Good underground parking if you are driving yourself, close enough to the center of town to walk into in about 10 minutes and witha great bar and restaurant. The food is plentiful, well cooked and well priced with a grteat selection of good beers to choose from. the rooms are large and very comfortable with all mod cons although you will need to open the windows in summer. The staff at reception are great and very obliging. I would recommend this to anybody thinking of going to Dublin as the place to stay.

Room Tip: Off the road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenPaulineFayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and your time in Dublin - even with the traffic.
Thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I left a bag in another hotel in Killarney. Catherine, at the front desk, went out of her way to call the hotel(twice) and make the arrangements to have it shipped back to the US. Our room was clean and the breakfast hit the spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliebug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you for posting your comments. i am delighted Catherine was able to help to get your luggage home safely and I know she is thrilled with the special mention.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband booked the hotel in advance as part of his birthday present to me on my birthday to watch the Dublin Horse Show in RDS.It was well presented room and modern touches such as reclining chair in the corner and Smart TV where the hotel also have a fast internet connection through out the area and parking is great plus its free.The location wasn't too bad at all it takes a bit 5 minutes to go some places like shops and restaurants by taxi. The only thing that disappoint me was we need to sleep separately in a small beds(single bed) and they don't have dental kit you need to buy it in the vending machine which cost you a bit extra. But the room was extremely clean and the staff was very friendly thats all that matters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you get the opportunity to return. We have a number of different options with regard to number of beds and sizes in the rooms. Make sure you get the one you wish by booking directly with us - either on line to our own site or over the phone.
Many thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was treated to a stay in hotel for Rod Stewart concert. I cannot think of any problem.s with the hotel. As i had not booked it myself and had not researched it i had no idea where it was etc. Got a taxi from Connolly which was very quick. It was ideal for the concert and on the return journey for home the dart was only around the corner. Ate in the Gasworks and found it delicious. We had wine, main and tea but declined dessert as wanted to get to concert but i would definitely eat there again.
Room comfortable, everything as it should be . Shower strong. Breakfast was delicious. As we were finishing our meal a queue did form but it was late and it is very difficult for staff to cope with a huge influx but I noticed they were extremely polite to rather rude quests!! Reception were particularly friendly and pointed us in the right direction for concert and dart station .
On the return from concert Rod Stewart music was playing in the bar which was appropriate and many people were enjoying drinks in the spacious lounge where there was a lovely atmosphere. All the facilities were spotless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claremorrisdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will get a chance to return soon. Plenty of big name concerts & shows coming up in the O2 and Bord Gais Energy Theatre to tempt - Cats, Wicked, Brain Gibb, Fleetwood Mac and Roger Waters in the Aviva Stadium.
Thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We used a theatre/hotel deal recently which included a stay at this hotel which was nice and convenient to the theatre of course! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, enthusiastic and speak English! We had our evening meal in the bar before the theatre and asked for a wine list which we were told was not available, the barman tried his best to name what was available. so not being difficult customers we chose a pinot grigio. we did however find it strange that a hotel bar did not have a wine list!! Food was tasty but not exactly what we ordered! The goats cheese tart turned out to be a big size for a single portion, quiche with a slice of goats cheese slightly melted on top. It was so big and so filling we did not eat it all as we would not have eaten our main course. The main was a Guinness meat stew which contained a very large amount of Guinness me thinks!! It completely overpowered the taste of the beef! Again we do not like to complain as it was edible just disappointing and did not meet our expectations. Breakfast was also a bit disappointing, as I saw a sign for poached eggs I ordered one to have with my bacon etc but by the time I got it (about 8-10 mins) I had eaten most of my breakfast! All that said the room was lovely, spacious and very clean, again staff were great and yes I would still stay there again.! D&D

Room Tip: after reading other reviews we requested a room on a higher floor which was nice and quiet, apparent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I am sorry that you experienced these issues with the food and service. I have past them onto the manger and chef to review and am sorry they detracted from your stay.
Thank you again for taking the time to advise of them.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

stayed here recently for the dublin decider at the aviva. the stadium was a 5 minute walk away from the hotel so the location was ideal. the atmosphere in the bar inside and outside the hotel on the day of the game was electric. the staff were all very nice and helpful aswell. our room on the third floor was spotless and well laid out and even tho we overlooked the main street there was very little street noise. breakfast the next morning hit the spot, how some people complain is beyond me. the free car park and wifi is also a bonus compared to other hotels. will definitely be back again when visiting the aviva.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrendoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello
Thank you for the comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere of the match in the Aviva Stadium.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
1,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing