We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked our accommodation last November and spoke to Kelly on reception who was friendly, helpful and answered all questions I had regarding parking etc. I was staying with my husband and son and we were going to the Rihanna concert on 21st June. We were booked in by Suzanne who was full of smiles despite the madness of the crowds assembling outside for the concert. We were staying in the executive rooms which overlooked the Aviva stadium with our own balcony. This room was on the 5th floor and was very "French boudoir" in its design and furniture which also included a smart T.V. and it was worth it as the bed was super comfortable. It was a bit noisy on the Friday night but we expected that so it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was all you can eat and there was plenty of it. Staff in the restaurant were efficient and helpful and the food was fresh and plentiful. My 12 year old son said that the breakfast was awesome and unbelievable!!! On departure we were greeted again by the lovely Suzanne and Lorraine at reception and it was certainly the Cead Mile Failte that has been lacking in so many Irish hotels over the years. So a big Go raibh maith agat to Kelly, Suzanne, Lorraine and Linda - you are all a credit to your profession and please continue to smile. Hotel is located only a 10 minute walk to Grafton Street and was clean. If I had to make a criticism it would be with the shower curtain and the shower in the room as both seem to have their own personality. A little more scrubbing on the bathroom tiles wouldn't go astray either. However, that being said we will certainly be back again to the Grand Canal Hotel because of Location, Budget and above all the Great Welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for an Upgrade and rooms on the 4th or 5th floor. We stayed in 501 which had the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrannigansClonmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was delighted to hear that the front desk team loked after you so well. I know they are all delighted with the special mention.
I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    748
    220
    47
    26
See reviews for
215
671
77
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here in August 2011. Had a lovely time, staff was friendly. The bar next door was a laid back place to hangout as well. I stayed there for a little over a week and had no complaints. The breakfast was alright.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenroach99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello
Thanks for the posting. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great hotel and location, free parking on site with WiFi. Nice and clean with fresh rooms

What's less then acceptable is breakfast opens at 7am and the staff are still laying out the food at 7:20 not ideal if you want to grab your food and go, especially when they charge €10 for the pleasure.

I wish this was a one off but having stayed many times - its not a one off


Come on guys 'sort it out' try getting up earlier.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was sorry to hear that you had been delayed at breakfast. On occasions when the restaurant is not expecting allot of guests for breakfast early, table service is offered for the hot food. I have highlighted to the restaurant team your comments and have been assured they will work to provide a speedy service even if the buffet is not present.
Thank you again for your comments and I hope to see you again in the hotel soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Service is lacking. Public spaces are very open - not great for talking. There's very little atmosphere. The bar next door is a bit of city centre dive. We didn't like it there.

The hotel is clean and it was being refurbished when we stayed there. They had a special offer of an upgraded deluxe suite, and some extras but the room is tiny and the extras were utterly forgettable.

The hotel really needs to work on the ambience downstairs. It is central, near the Grand Central Dock area. We went by train, no idea where you'd find parking. Taxi's are pretty easy to get

Room Tip: Good for a basic, business or city central stay. You'll need to get taxis if you're visiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidQuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello David
Thanks for the posting. Things have moved on a pace here since your visit. All the bedrooms are now refurbished as well as the lobby area, which is now has cosy corners for chats as well as a new menu with light meals and wines.
We have complementary secure under and over ground parking for all our guests who require it. As you said we are easily accessible from the Grand Canal Dock station by Dart and Train and are under a 10 minute walk to Grand Canal Basin area. Grafton Street would be 15 minutes away on foot.
I hope you might consider us again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Good points. Lovely friendly helpful staff, great location, very clean well run establishment. We were bumped up to executive suite which was grand. Breakfast was brilliant very good range of products.
Bad points. We had a meal included in package I opted for the steak (comes with €4 supplement) which is a bit cheeky considering my steak was very bad over cooked and was cooked in microwave or oven of some sort. Which was a shame cos otherwise it was lovely

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitoman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.Delighted you were well looked after on the night but am disappointed about the standard of steak recieved. I have past your comments on to the chef to review this
I hope you will get the chacne to visit again - there are some fantastic shows coming to the theatres, Cats, Westside Story, Hairspray and Wicked.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The triple room was pleasantly spacious. The Aviva is a short five minute walk. The added bonus of a car park was appreciated. Our only issue was we were unable to get through to order room service when we arrived but having gone downstairs we understood due to the volume of people trying to eat! Staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are quiet despite the bar being packed before and after the concert. Definitely would book again for a night out!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-MarieMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post. There was certianly plenty of Robbie Williams fans here on the weekend and I am sorry that we missed the room service call. I hope we will see you soon for that night out - plenty of other shows and concerts in the O2 and Bord Gais Energy Theatre to tempt.
Many thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't fault it. It does what it says ....a few comment the food was a bit bland,also we were upgraded to an executive room compliments of the hotel,cos if that was the size of the executive room,a "regular" room must be the size of a shoe box. Having said all that we would stay there again, gasworks bar very enjoyable especially the mojiotos!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munster-Rugby-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and the Gasworks mojito's - always a good choice.
If you get the chance to stay with us again be assured that the executive rooms and the standard rooms are the same size, we just have a couple of extra touches in the executive rooms such as laptop safes, bathrobes, complementary water and chocolates.
Thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#28 of 151 in Dublin
2,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,144 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing