We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this place out... What a bargain!!”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Travelled from the North of Ireland and stayed in the GCH on the 03/4/13, enroute there got lost and had to phone the hotel. The lovely, efficient Catherine navigated us to the hotel.... not a problem - thank you!!!
Got the car parked okay in the car park (which is a bit small if you are like me....need plenty of space). The Car Park was very clean,and tidy. Entry from the car park to reception was quick, everywhere signposted. Check was quick, efficient by the lovely Catherine and we then proceeded to our room on the executive floor. Everywhere was neat and tidy. Staff we met enroute pleasant, smiling and busy. The room was modern, HELLO ---- VERY CLEAN!! We had everything we needed for a quick city break and guess what ""SMART TV IN THE ROOM".... this was brilliant.. Had a lovely day in Dublin, came back and ate in the gasworks and watched a football match.
Breakfast the next morning was great but there was only one person on and he was stretched trying to do everything to the best of his ability. Food was great and plentiful!
would I stay here again definitely....

Room Tip: Request a room to the back of the hotel... it is quieter at weekends and you also get a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booboo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will have an opportunity of returning again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel for one night as we were coming down from Belfast to a concert in the O2. The room was clean and comfortable, with free wi-fi which was a plus. Breakfast the next day was good and the free parking was great. We struggled a bit to find a restaurant for dinner before the concert, we tried the one attached to the hotel but I guess a whole bunch of families with kids had just been in or something because it was filthy, food everywhere. After about a 10 minute walk we were down at the canal front where there were lots of places to eat. If you need somewhere to just sleep in that's not too expensive I'd recommend this place, good for what we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LdawnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Disappointed that the Gasworks Bar was untidy when you called.
We are indeed only a short walk from the Grand Canal Dock area and so on to the O2. I hope you will have the opportunity of staying again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights last weekend over Easter. We had 2 rooms, a double and a twin for my teenage kids. We went to RDS on sat night to the rugby(sadly Leinster lost) and the hotel is a very easy walk to there. The staff on reception were very friendly at check in and we were in our rooms in no length. Had requested rooms side by side but did not get, they were on the same floor though so no big problem. Rooms were warm and clean and very comfy beds and you get free wifi much to my teens delight. Went to the Gasworks bar after the match on Sat night but the music was very loud and we could not talk so took our drinks out to the lobby and relaxed in the nice comfy armchairs. Had breakfast on Sun morning in the restaurant and this was fine, plenty of choice. Coffee was very strong though not enjoyable. The Gasworks make lovely cappucinos though. We decided to eat there sun night but there was a christening party going on and the noise was horrific but the girl waitressing said we could eat out in the lobby and so we did. Had a very enjoyable meal. The reason I only rate the hotel as "very Good" and not "Excellent" is down to the noise in the Gasworks bar. I hate not been able to hear myself think and having to shout to have a conversation. We checked out on Mon and went into the cityon the dart leaving our car in the hotel carpark and on our return they did not charge us any extra for parking, well done!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello
Many thanks for your comments. I have past on your comments relating to the music to the Bar Manager and we will monitor it more closely in the future.
I am glad you all enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel was excellent. It was clean, the staff were extremely friendly and it was in walking distance of the city centre.

We had a double room, which was very comfortable! The room had a good hair dryer, iron & ironing board which was really useful.

I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammyb609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay. We are glad you had a good weekend in Dublin and the hotel. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of availing of the Cead Mile Failte offered in this Almost perfect hotel last night.
My wife and I booked in for one night only as a quick break and were astonished at the welcome we received.
As a person who worked in the hotel industry for a number of years in the pre Tiger days, I was more than pleasantly surprised to discover that Irish welcomes do still exist.
Arrived at reception at around 2.30pm to discover a new Receptionist was In the process of being trained!
Normally a traumatic experience for both Trainee and Customer, this was quiet the opposite.
The trainer explained what was happening and that we were this receptionists first customers ever!!
We knew that if the trainer and indeed trainee were anything go by, our hotel experience was beginning well.
Having finished check in, we went to our room. Greeted by serious warmth on a bitterly cold March day was most welcome. We then went to the Gasworks bar attached to the Hotel, at €5 for a pint in the centre of Dublin, we knew that this hotel were not ripping us off. I paid €6.25 for the same 10 minutes away!!!
Had a tour of temple bar and the city having used the train which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.
We came back to the Gasworks to be greeted by a lovely staff member who is from Letterkenny, her friendliness and attention to our every need left nothing to be desired.
This morning we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast and checked out.
We were offered the luggage minding facility free of charge!!
We could travel into the city and leave our bags at reception until ready to go home.
My faith in Irish hospitality has been totally restored and to whoever is in charge of this hotel, I thank you most sincerely.
To those who are considering booking this hotel, do not hesitate.
Thank you for a fantastic Customer Experience.
John Quinlan

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quinlanjohn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your nice comments were particularly welcomed by the staff who got a special mention - especially our new receptionist - off to a great start in a new career.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again to the Grand Canal Hotel.
Thanks again for the comments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went to a show in Dublin, ideally situated for Bord Gais theatre 5 minute walk away and not to far to the Aviva & RDS, very comfortable rooms, the bar food was extremelly good as was the breakfast, the girls in reception could not be more friendly and helpfull, all in all very good

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Hello
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will get the chance to return again soon. There are plenty of great shows coming up in the Bord Gais Energy Theatre to tempt and a couple of great concerts in the O2 and Aviva stadium also.
Thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Small hotel offering great quality for the value. Rooms are rather small but clean and nicely furbished. The hotel is located a 100m from the Google offices, so very convenient for a business trip. On the other hand if you want to go in the city you'll have to take a cab.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Hello
Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will have the opportunity to return again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,614 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,062 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $100 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing