We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendliest Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Canal Hotel last Saturday night as part of a theatre deal. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with such friendliness, from the receptionist to the bar staff, restaurant staff and especially breakfast staff. The atmosphere in the hotel is one of friendless and home. Dinner was very tasty and served with a smile. Breakfast was so enjoyable the next day and this was done so by an especially friendly waiter called Bert (can’t remember spelling of name) – he even came out with a take away coffee for us both on leaving as he knew we had a long journey home. The experience was one of relaxation and total chilling. The only fault I would have and I think they are in the process of working on this...is certain parts of the interior are very old and worn, down to the table mats on the table. The reception desk that you wait at to be seated, is very worn and tattered looking and does not give a good impression. I need to have everything looking right to feel that everything is also right in the kitchen etc. This was really the only complaint. Would defiantly recommend the Grand Canal Hotel if you want a friendly experience. Well done all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndigoflowerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. i am glad we were able to look after and know Bart is thrilled with the acknowledgment.
We are continuing to work on updating the hotel and have recently completed a refurbishment of the bedrooms and the lobby. So will keep all areas as fresh as possible.
Thanks again for your posting and I hope you will have an opportunity to return again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    721
    213
    46
    26
See reviews for
204
639
76
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here recently for 1 night while attending a party in Dublin. It was a freezing cold day and when we checked in our room was nice & warm. Room was nicely decorated & immaculate and couldn't be faulted. There was wifi througout and free parking which is a nice touch in Dublin! We ate in the Gasworks bar next door, the food was nice and the service was quick and friendly. Overall we enjoyed our short stay here and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donegalboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello
Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will have the opportunity of staying with us again.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night on Saturday 26th January. Overall no complaints about the accommodation, location or food in the Gasworks bar. The rooms are spotless and very warm. We were on the 3rd floor and it was really quiet. The staff at reception and the Gasworks were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneD801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again to the hotel.
Thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a good stay at the Grand Canal Hotel. My room was reasonably sized, and everything was generally just fine. In terms of location, it's a reasonable distance to the city center (probably about a 15 minute walk). Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello
Thanks for posting your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comber, Nortern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My Wife and I had a one night stay in Grand Canal Hotel on 13th Jan 2013.A very handy hotel if you are going to nearby Bord Gais Energy theatre,that was the purpose of our stay.We travelled by train from Belfast to Dublin.From Dublin train station we boarded the Dart for 3 stops after which was a very short walk to Hotel.Staff were very friendly and gave us a quiet room which was just right,clean,bright and warm with bathrobes supplied. A pleasant surprise was the coach laid on for anyone going to theatre a charge of 4 euros per person return.For anyone who missed the show "Oliver" you have my deepest sympathy.We will use this hotel again and would reccommend it to anyone especially if you are going to theatre.

Room Tip: we had a room to the rear of hotel and it was the quietest hotel room I have ever been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakethepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post you comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and 'Oliver' . The theater always has great shows - Starlight Express, The Full Monty and The Lion King are only a few of the first class productions they are hosting.
Thanks again for posting
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on Monday 21st Jan 2012. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The staff were all a pleasure to deal with. We stayed here as we were going to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, It is a 10 - 15 minute walk from the hotel but we got a cab as it is a long dark road., The cab was only 6 euro so well worth it. I would stay here again as the prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Great value to stay here and a short distance from the theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello
Thank you for your posting. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will have the opportunity to return soon. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre have some great shows coming up - Starlight Express, Full Monty and the Lion King.
Thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Arrived in the Grand Canal hotel on Saturday and was greeted with a big smile from the lovely receptionist. Her name was Susanne and she couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We were even upgraded to an executive room with a balcony.
The room was spotless and smelled really clean and fragant. It was spacious and contained everything needed for a comfortable stay including his and her robes and free wifi.
There was plenty of hot water and a large bath with a power shower that could throw you into next week! The temperature of the room was consistently warm.
It's a quiet hotel in a good location with the huge benefit of free parking-a rarity in Dublin city hotels.
There are great deals to be had by booking directly on the hotel's own website, and I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again or recommending the Grand Canal hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandKDnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello
Thank you fro taking the time to post your response. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again soon.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing