We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, reasonable location”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a good stay at the Grand Canal Hotel. My room was reasonably sized, and everything was generally just fine. In terms of location, it's a reasonable distance to the city center (probably about a 15 minute walk). Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hello
Thanks for posting your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

My Wife and I had a one night stay in Grand Canal Hotel on 13th Jan 2013.A very handy hotel if you are going to nearby Bord Gais Energy theatre,that was the purpose of our stay.We travelled by train from Belfast to Dublin.From Dublin train station we boarded the Dart for 3 stops after which was a very short walk to Hotel.Staff were very friendly and gave us a quiet room which was just right,clean,bright and warm with bathrobes supplied. A pleasant surprise was the coach laid on for anyone going to theatre a charge of 4 euros per person return.For anyone who missed the show "Oliver" you have my deepest sympathy.We will use this hotel again and would reccommend it to anyone especially if you are going to theatre.

Room Tip: we had a room to the rear of hotel and it was the quietest hotel room I have ever been in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakethepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post you comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and 'Oliver' . The theater always has great shows - Starlight Express, The Full Monty and The Lion King are only a few of the first class productions they are hosting.
Thanks again for posting
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on Monday 21st Jan 2012. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The staff were all a pleasure to deal with. We stayed here as we were going to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, It is a 10 - 15 minute walk from the hotel but we got a cab as it is a long dark road., The cab was only 6 euro so well worth it. I would stay here again as the prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: Great value to stay here and a short distance from the theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your posting. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will have the opportunity to return soon. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre have some great shows coming up - Starlight Express, Full Monty and the Lion King.
Thanks again for the feedback.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Arrived in the Grand Canal hotel on Saturday and was greeted with a big smile from the lovely receptionist. Her name was Susanne and she couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We were even upgraded to an executive room with a balcony.
The room was spotless and smelled really clean and fragant. It was spacious and contained everything needed for a comfortable stay including his and her robes and free wifi.
There was plenty of hot water and a large bath with a power shower that could throw you into next week! The temperature of the room was consistently warm.
It's a quiet hotel in a good location with the huge benefit of free parking-a rarity in Dublin city hotels.
There are great deals to be had by booking directly on the hotel's own website, and I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again or recommending the Grand Canal hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandKDnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hello
Thank you fro taking the time to post your response. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again soon.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We only stayed there one night, but found the staff very friendly and the room clean and comfortable. We also appreciated their willingness to refund our planned second night stay there when our plans had to change last minute. In terms of location, it is a walk to get to the Trinity College/Temple Bar area --but nothing unreasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be able to return soon.
Many thanks again
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed 2 weeks in this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Dublin.

Rooms, beds and bathroom are large enough, Beds were comfortable and the hotel is clean.

Breakfast is complete, even if it would be nice to have some croissants :)

It is pretty calm during the night, no problem to get some rest.

Staff was always helpful.

regards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFF666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night just prior to Christmas. The hotel was well located with a the Grand Canal Dart station in close proximity and the Grand Canal Theatre is within walking distance aswell. We stayed in a Double room and availed of the parking and we were lucky enough to be allowed to keep our car in the car park an extra 3 hours after check out, without charge. We guessed this was because the hotel was relatively quiet during our stay. The room itself was very nice and had a Samsung Smart TV which was cool and the wifi was good. There was also the option of ordering room service from the bar next door to hotel but we did not avail of this service.

The only issues we had were that the room was extremely warm on the night of our stay and some of the apps on the Smart TV needed to be updated. Overall a good place to stay close to Dublin City Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Many thanks for posting your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will look into the Apps on the TV and the heating times for the bedroms to make everyones stay more comfortable.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide us your feedback.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
0.8 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
4,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $101 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing