We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel and handy location”
Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night just prior to Christmas. The hotel was well located with a the Grand Canal Dart station in close proximity and the Grand Canal Theatre is within walking distance aswell. We stayed in a Double room and availed of the parking and we were lucky enough to be allowed to keep our car in the car park an extra 3 hours after check out, without charge. We guessed this was because the hotel was relatively quiet during our stay. The room itself was very nice and had a Samsung Smart TV which was cool and the wifi was good. There was also the option of ordering room service from the bar next door to hotel but we did not avail of this service.

The only issues we had were that the room was extremely warm on the night of our stay and some of the apps on the Smart TV needed to be updated. Overall a good place to stay close to Dublin City Centre.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Many thanks for posting your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will look into the Apps on the TV and the heating times for the bedroms to make everyones stay more comfortable.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide us your feedback.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,099 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have had the pleasure of interating with the hotel staff twice in my life. The first time I was meeting visitors from abroad and misunstood that they were staying in this hotel. The staff did everything in their power tolocate them and even rang other hotels in the area. I eventually got a text from my daughter telling me where they were. The second time was the Christmas Party night. No wonder it was full to the brim. It was out of this world. Twleve of us went in a group and the food was out of this world. Best of all was the attitude of the staff. Can you imagine @ 2.30 in the morning asking for a glass of tap water? Well my friend did and it was with her in no time and I asked was there a chance of me getting one and without heistation it was got for me.... that says an awful lot about the staff. They are wonderful. The next morning it was exactly the same treatment for breakfast. The breakfast was so nice too. I will be back as they say. The room was very good too. Well done!!!

Room Tip: The room I had was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O-Sole-Mio-Darling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Thank you for the feedback. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the party night at Christmas and that the staff were able to assist you in locating your colleagues.
Thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here January to see Oliver with my daughter and other family members.
Were on the 4th floor in an Executive Suite - great room
Shower great pressure...
Food and staff all excellent - both evening meal and breakfast were excellent...
Would highly recommend for a theatre break....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armaghfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre has a great line up of show coming up - including 9 to 5, Starlight Express, The Full Monty & the Lion King so hopefully you will be back to us soon.
Thank you again for the posting.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Got an amazing deal on booking.com for this hotel and made a weekend out of it.
Location is top notch!
Free car parking for guests is the business.
Although breakfast wasn't included in our deal we happily paid for it, we'll worth it!
The minor drawback was the room was very warm during the night.
However all in all it's a good complaint!
We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gearoidoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Thank you for the feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will get to see you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here on recommendation from my friend who lives in Dublin. It is located near the stadium and has several pubs right around there. It's a 20 minute not so scenic walk to Trinity, so not super centrally located. However it is pretty quiet. The hotel is a little dated, but comfortable. The shower has great water pressure (a luxury in Ireland) and the beds were comfortable. We didn't get to eat the breakfast because we had a really early flight, but we did grab scones from a pastry basket at reception the night before. There are always cabs out front and complimentary secured parking if you're driving. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for comfort without luxury in a decent location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Hello
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that should you get the opportunity to return you will see a difference in our standard of decor, as we will be completing our lobby and bedroom refurbishments this week.
Many thanks for the posting.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Considering we only paid €30 per night for something that is easily worth more than that I shouldn't really complain....the issue though was ours was a no smoking room yet everytime someone (possibly next door) lit up, we felt as though we were in the same room! There is a very.strong stench of cigarette smoke in the room which is rather offputting. We also had torn towels. Apart from that, the hotel offers excellent value for money and it's proximity to the major Dublin attractions is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missteeheehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hello
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you were one of the lucky ones who were able to get one of Super January Sale rooms and sorry that the smoking of other guests affected you so much. it is something that we will continue to monitor but do rely on guests not to smoke in the non smoking rooms.
Many thanks again for the posting.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheilaBaird, Manager at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,614 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,062 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $100 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin 4, just a stone’s throw from Dublin City Centre, the 4 star Grand Canal Hotel is the perfect choice when staying in Dublin. The hotel is located across from Grand Canal Dock DART Station which gives you direct access to all areas in Dublin, north and south including Dublin's gorgeous coastal towns. The Bord Gais Energy Theatre and Aviva Stadium are just 5 - 10 minutes from the hotel and the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Grafton Street shopping district and Trinity College are just a 15 minute walk while The Dublin Convention Centre and the 3 Arena are within a 20 minute walk. After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant. Grab breakfast, lunch or dinner at Canal Express. The Gasworks Bar is managed by Galway Bay Brewery, it serves delicious food and a choice of 26 craft beers in a lively atmosphere. We have a secure car park on site. Enjoy a relaxing break or explore Dublin city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing