We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Noisy Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Canal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Canal Hotel
Ranked #38 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Noisy Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2007

We stay at this hotel on Dec 2007 the room are not really special and the most disapointing is have a discoteque just down our room with full volume music during all night until 3 afterwards in the morning all turist buses with engines on loading tourist from 5 am.

Defenetly not a great hotel and not a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The noise everywhere is like you are inside a discoteque or in a garage
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocolizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    727
    215
    46
    26
See reviews for
205
651
76
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartsville, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

We stayed at the Grand Canal for our first two nights in Ireland. I have to say we bought a GPS for the trip and we would have never found this hotel without the GPS. (But we would not have found many places in Ireland without the GPS). The hotel was very clean, the room a good size and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was just OK but it was included in our stay. They have a hot buffet with usual Irish breakfast fare and a cold buffet. I do think this hotel is a little bit too far from City Center. It was a good 20 minute walk with not much to see on the way. There is a metro stop close to the hotel but their metro takes you along the outside of the city center so its not worth it to get on. Also, there were many bus stops along our walk to the city center but they didn't go to many of the top tourist spots. You had to take a bus to city center and then get on a different bus. In Dublin we loved the Guinness tour and spent both nights in and out of the bars in Temple Bar which are alot of fun. The best restaurant we ate at was Gallagher's Boxty House in Temple Bar.

  • Liked — Nice clean room with fluffy comfy bed
  • Disliked — Too far from the city center
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

I stayed at the Grand Canal from Nov 15-17. It was a cute little hotel that was far away from the city center. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very kind. Ireland has the nicest people! If I have to go back I would stay closer to Grafton Street or Temple Bar area. The hotel from the city center is about a 20 min walk which could be annoying after a long day. I mean you can always take a cab back they are very accessible in Dublin but expensive. Dublin is a great city!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VanesI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

The Grand Canal Hotel is beautiful and functional - service is efficient, the rooms are tastefully decorated and there is a high level of security (you need your room key to use the lift). Bathrooms are clean with a lot of toilettries, and the beds are comfortable. Room Service is (as expected) a little pricey - but very tasty, and breakfast (hot buffet) is excellent. The bonus was that it was served until 11 on a Sunday.

It _is_ 15 mins walk to Grafton Street, but it's a pleasant walk, and if you are there as a tourist, you can always stop and catch the City Tour bus a block down the road (14 Euro for 24 hours).

I would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — Ambience - very homely
  • Disliked — No mini bar in standard rooms - but there is a vending machine.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

I have just returned from 2 nights at the Grand Canal Hotel in Dublin. I have stayed in several properties in Dublin and this hotel was the one I liked the least. I have so many complaints that I don't know where to start.

Front Desk Staff - Extremely rude and unhelpful. Whenever I asked a question they answered me in a tone of voice that suggested they were annoyed that I was asking them. Also, they really need to learn better english if they are going to be dealing with the general public on a daily basis.

Rooms - I can't speak for all the rooms but the one I was in was terrible. It was on the street side so I hardly slept all night. I could hear vehicle and human traffic all night long and at 5:00am I was treated to the sound of large tour buses loading up their passengers. I was so desperate to sleep that I put my headphones in and stuck the pillow over my head. The only other problem with the room was the bed, it was really hard.

Location - The hotel is in the Ballsbridge area of Dublin so you have to take a cab or bus to the city centre if you are not driving because it is not within walking distance. If you are in good shape you could walk to the National Library or Archealogical Museum. Not the best location.

Laundry - This is my number one complaint. I was charged 52.00CAD for washing 5 items. I was not driving and there was no laundry facilities in the immediate area so I had no choice but to use the hotel laundry. I feel really ripped off. It would have been cheaper to buy a couple of new shirts and hand wash clothes in the sink. Shame on them.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you like hard beds, long walks, rude people and loud noises.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoiled5starTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinawhitegirl, General Manager - Grand Canal Hotel at Grand Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2007
Dear Trip advisor,
I am very disappointed to read of your recent experience during your stay with us. All comments whether negative or positive are appreciated, I would be most grateful if you would contact me at the hotel to discuss your comments in more detail.

Kind Regards

Kirsty Fallis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2007

Finding a relatively cheap hotel in Dublin was tricky, but we found the Grand Canal Hotel, which wasn't too bad price-wise. The room was clean and spacious, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was nice and modern, and it had a bathtub.

It wasn't extremely central, but it was close enough to be able to walk into town. The sightseeing buses went from Merrion Square, which was pretty close. There was a DART train station pretty much just outside the hotel, which was great. It meant we didn't have to walk very far with luggage.

Kitty O'Shea, the pub/restaurant next adjacent to the hotel was great. Good food and good value. We didn't go to the "real" pub restaurant, because we felt it was a little too pricey for our budget. We also didn't have breakfast at the hotel, as it was extra. Instead, we bought our breakfast while walking into the city, which worked out cheaper.

  • Liked — Clean and fresh + the pub next door was great
  • Disliked — A little bit out of the way
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctortrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Nice quiet and clean hotel 20 mins. walk from the city centre.
There’s a Dart stop next to the hotel, but it’s cheaper and quicker to catch a bus on Mount Street Lower, across the canal (buses 4, 5, 7 8 and 45 take you to Trinity College in 5 mins.). The bed was comfortable but the room needed more drawers. The hairdryer was hidden in a drawer! Breakfast was okay. We were really glad to get a quiet room in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Manuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.5 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canal Hotel

Property: Grand Canal Hotel
Address: Grand Canal Street Upper | Ballsbridge, Dublin Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Business Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Irish hospitality as it should be at the Mc Eniff Grand Canal Hotel in picturesque Dublin 4. Featuring a coveted location in the heart of the city centre, the newly refurbished hotel is only steps from the vibrant Grafton Street shopping promenade.At the meeting point of the Dublin's technology hub & Ireland's Broadway like theatre district of Grand Canal dock, The Grand Canal Hotel is truly amidst the best of what the historic Georgian city of Dublin has to offer, such as the Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva Stadium, Trinity College, The Irish Financial Services Centre, The RDS, Convention Centre Dublin and The 3Arena. The 142 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites cater to the need of the most discerning travelers, featuring start-of-the-art smart televisions and complimentary 50mg WIFI as standard. The Business Executive floors of the Grand Canal Hotel provide additional luxury and exclusivity to our corporate guests.After a relaxing nights sleep you can look forward to a sumptuous breakfast in the Epic restaurant, the hotels more formal dining choice. In a rush and don't have time for breakfast? Grab a coffee and a pastry at canal express. Gasworks bar, serving casual food and drink in a lively atmosphere, is the perfect location for an important business meeting or just an informal coffee with friends. The Grand Canal Hotel offers an array of additional facilities such as 2,200 square feet of fully equipped meeting and conference space, a fully equipped gymnasium and a two story parking for all guests. Business and leisure travelers alike will find comfort in the hotels friendly but professional environment, combined with the quality, efficiency and reliability that is synonymous with Irish hospitality. Step into a simple world of elegance where a friendly welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canal Dublin
Hotel Grand Canal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing