We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Dublin”
Review of O'Donoghue's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
O'Donoghue's
Ranked #31 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Varese, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Dublin”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice and clean rooms really near the city center but in a quiet position (I was at the top floor, so no noise coming from the pub downstairs) near St. Stephen's Green. Totally independent: they gave me the keys (entrance door and room door) when I arrived and I saw them again when I left for returning the keys, Reasonably priced, it is an excellent choice to visit Dublin...and to drink a pint of Guinness too!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrypalmer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    72
    23
    8
    11
See reviews for
14
65
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
359 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This bar is lovely, relaxing, warm, friendly staff and snug

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

It was so dirty and discussing there were bugs. never would i stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rockabillyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is a really nice pub with OK accommodation. Our room was quite basic and oldish but clean and spacious. The bathroom was not really great but I guess OK considering the rate. the best thing about it was the location though, opposite a supermarket and a 1 minute walk to Grafton street.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2011

If you can afford to be p .... sd everynight , befor going to bed , ....... do !! Even my trusty earplugs didnt help ..... my room was on the first floor , as there are two more , i would advise to ask : the higher , the better ; / ..... Also , there don ' t seem to be anyone on the premises during the night , till they open around 9.30 in the morning ..... I wanted to leave early ( 8am ) ... and couldnt reach anybody , even rang their phone ..... so just left the key in the room and left ....
There is a supermarket across the way .... very good , but I had no fridge , as others stated . Again...... if you want a pillow , after your hectic night , the location I tops ..... but at a price for some ...... sorry , but I wont be back : (((

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primetime54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Our room at O'Donoghue's was your basic hotel room. It was clean and the location is amazing, right around the corner from St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street. The only drawback to the room was that it was extremely noisy at night with the pub downstairs (especially on Saturday, not too bad on Sunday). It would have been fine except that the windows in the rooms let a surprising amount of noise through (we had the windows closed all Saturday night). If you're staying during the week, it's probably not too bad, but if you're a light sleeper, you may want to avoid staying here on the weekend. Even with the noise, I'd still recommend staying here simply for the location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katespace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

I have visited Dublin over 15 times in recent years, and this was certainly one of my better experiences,

I was looking for something close to TCD as i was visiting the university every day . O'Donoghue's was close and certainly reasonably priced. I stayed on top floor , so noise was no problem especially since my granddaughter and I were part of the noise most nights.
Clean and modern , if small, toilet, good size room with good furnishings. Room was cleaned daily.
On the two occasions I needed help getting cabs, etc., handled quickly and efficiently by barman once, owner second time.

I have recommended O'Donoghue's to family and friends and hope to return in the near future.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#103 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#82 of 151 in Dublin
780 reviews
The Lombard Townhouse
#42 of 150 in Dublin
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cliff TownHouse
#20 of 150 in Dublin
334 reviews
Kildare Street Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
402 reviews
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
#33 of 150 in Dublin
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Donoghue's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Donoghue's

Property: O'Donoghue's
Address: 15 Merrion Row | Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Donoghue's 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Donoghue's is one of Dublin's most famous traditional Irish bars which offer a number of tastefully decorated guestrooms. O'Donoghue's is the perfect base to explore the city of Dublin with Trinity College, the national art gallery and St Stephen's Green right on our doorstep. With traditional Irish music in the bar each evening a stay at O'Donoghue's offers guests the complete Dublin experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your O'Donoghue's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Donoghue`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing