We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hostel, nice host.”
Review of ABC House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ABC House
Ranked #28 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy hostel, nice host.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for one night, 4 in a 4-people room. The host took time to explain some about the city, how to get to the center, what to see & stuff.
The disadvantage is the distance from the city center.
We also had an issue with the payment. We booked the room online, so we prepaid 10% and in the end they were asking for 100%. However I told them about the online booking, they checked and we paid only the remaining 90%.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    181
    71
    19
    9
See reviews for
88
231
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I try to book a couple of weekends each year, just as a small break of everything. Before we go we always meticulously search for a place to stay, within our price range and that has some good reviews. This one was spot on! We knew we would be arriving late, so I sent an e-mail to Mary. Who quickly replied that it would not be a problem to arrive late in the evening. We would meet her at breakfast the following morning.

We loved the entrance. At the entrance was a nice little info stand with stuff to do in Dublin and surroundings. It has these little cards, which give you a discount at some of the attractions.

The room itself is somewhat old, but was well maintained. Like stated in earlier reviews, the walls are quite thin, but that didn't bother us. The shower is awesome. TV was tiny, if that is something you value, we didn't mind. Sleep was good, although my side of the bed had some old springs, which made the bed sag a little. Not that much of a problem if you sleep on your back, but I sleep on my belly. Otherwise does what we want from a room: Sleep & shower.
Breakfast was good and Mary was busy constantly refilling what was there. She offers you hot breakfast, toast and so on. You're well taken care of.

If we visit Dublin again, we will definitely return here!


Some tips for other visitors.
- If you fly into Dublin: Take bus 16 or bus 41 to the city center. Ask the busdriver to give you a shout at "Opposite of Skylon Hotel". Busstops in Ireland work by stop-numbers, which prove to be very confusing for us.
- Just outside of the guesthouse there is a busstop which takes you into the city center in 10 minutes. You can buy a "rambler ticket" of "family ticket" at the Spar across the road.
-Across the road there is "The Ivy House". A modern pub with great atmosphere, be sure to visit it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Thank you ABC! Yesterday I attended a Seminar at Croke Park and back in July I'd got an amazing deal at the Croke Park Hotel for Tuesday night- except that when I arrived it turned out the online booking agency had run off with my money and cancelled the booking - I'd been scammed good and proper! (And I'm not the only one, it seems). Not only was the Croke Park Hotel full (and told me that my problem was absolutely nothing to do with them) but I was told I'd be lucky to find a room at 6pm in any Dublin Hotel!

Fortunately I remembered the ABC just down the road where I'd previously stayed 2 years before and where Des had made me very welcome. Thank goodness, they were able to offer me a room + breakfast for €40 which softened the blow of my financial loss. As before, the en-suite room was clean, quiet and had everything I needed for my overnight stay including tea making stuff, TV and a hairdryer. The lady who met me on arrival was friendly and courteous, and I met Mary at check-out. Breakfast was basic but fine (although some fruit would be great - that would have been 5 stars) - I quite like not being fussed over in the morning, and I would rarely eat a cooked b'fast anyway, but I could see this not being everyone's choice.

Last time I parked the car in their car park which is accessed via a narrow lane at the rear - this time I parked on a side street 30 seconds walk away. Croke park is walking distance or a 10 mins drive.

So thanks ABC for being there. Next time I won't bother with any special hotel deals - I'll just book straight with yourselves. Cheers!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mct1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Do not stay here! ABC house does not honor the online price that I booked. They ended up charging me more than double the rate of my reservation. It was extremely dishonest and misleading. Furthermore, the room was musty and there was mold in the shower. Do not recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abchouse, Owner at ABC House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dave M was not charged double the price as She says. She booked a single occupancy room but when she arrived she was accompanied by another person. She was informed that she would have to pay 50% more for a twin room. She was happy to do this and she happily paid to me the additional 26.00EUR on departure the following morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Mary is so well organized and manages well with the 3 houses - well done! Even before you arrive on the Irish land you will receive by email the code for the door of the house where you will stay. Rooms are so cosy, comfortable and clean, that you could stay all day! Perfect for the winter as it is sometimes a bit warm. I always succeed to have the same room, which I love! And Loylty is rewarded! :) (I go regularly) - A lift by cab is 9 euros, and its on the way to the airport (15 minutes early morning)
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmeraldIsle1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed a total of 4 nights at Mary's B&B and enjoyed every minute we were there. The rooms are lovely, clean, fresh and reasonably large. The first 2 nights we were in a downstairs room, the other 2 nights we were up 2 flights of stairs - this didn't worry us, however, some people may struggle with heavy luggage up the stairs. Fantastic location - 3minute bus ride into town or a 20 minute walk which is lovely to do. All staff very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs if carrying luggage upstairs is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I only stayed here one night - but it was the first day I arrived - they let me have my room early so I could sleep off jet lag for a few hours. Had a single that was small but everything I needed. Although my room was on the street the noise never kept me up - of course I am a wise traveler and took precauations like a sleep mask and earrplugs. Breakfast was good, staff was healpful, really close to DUB, cozy and cute, and what a value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.8 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#23 of 150 in Dublin
446 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#13 of 150 in Dublin
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#17 of 150 in Dublin
337 reviews
3.7 mi away
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
Donnybrook Hall Hotel
#4 of 150 in Dublin
444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Botanic Villa
Botanic Villa
#14 of 150 in Dublin
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABC House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABC House

Property: ABC House
Address: Abc House 57 Drumcondra Road Upper | Dublin 9, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the ABC House. ABC House provides comfortable, quality accommodation for visitors to Dublin City Centre, Ireland, with a friendly welcome and free private car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your ABC House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abc House Hotel Dublin
Dublin Guest House

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing