We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food but their timing was off ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opium

Opium
Ranked #365 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food but their timing was off ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Recently ate here with my wife for the dine in Dublin week. The food was extremely good but the service was lacking, dont get me wrong the staff were extremely friendly but they need to work on their timing. We ordered cocktails when ordering our meal. 10 mins later our starters arrived which where very tasty, we finished our starters and still no sign of our drinks. About 25 mins after we ordered, our mains arrived and still no sign of our cocktails. We asked to cancel our cocktails as we wanted to enjoy them before dinner and not after when we probably would be to full to fully enjoy them. About 5 mins later 2 cocktails when placed on our table and we were told that they were already made and that they where on the house. Which was a nice touch.

Dinner was really good, I highly recommend the lamb massaman curry. Best I've had in a long time.

After dinner My wife order peppermint tea with her desert. Again we were left waiting for this to arrive. When it did arrive she was given normal black tea which my wife doesnt drink. This was quickly return and asked to be changed.
Again the staff were full of apologies.

Finally when our bill arrived we were only charged for the tea, we thought to ourselves maybe they were trying to make it up to us after all the waiting during the course of our meal. NO they actually got the bill wrong too!!!

If they can cut out the silly mistakes and get the timing right this will be an class dinning experience.

Helpful?
Thank bodge1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    109
    36
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Was not impressed initially when arrived at opium on a Saturday night it was more like a nightclub than restaurant very crowded and people standing too close to the tables but was very happy when we were shown to our booth from then on happy days! Food was gorgeous, service was friendly and helpful and great music, the zombie cocktails are soooo strong. Great place for a night out but would have to make sure you have booked a booth.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Irelizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Maybe a litte old for this hipster restaurant cum bar...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Went here with a group last Saturday night, based on their previous experience there. On entering you immediately notice the buzzy atmosphere and music, DJ was playing some old school tunes, that were probably older than a lot of the clientele. Opium is a cocktail bar with a thai restaurant or vice versa depending on your view. It certainly is full of the young, good looking demographic, which alas I do not fall into. Food was good, cocktails also. Becomes a disco bar after about 10-30... 11pm, so plan accordingly, not a place for conversation over a meal or at least I found it like that, but music was great and good enough for this guy to do the old man shuffle. Probably more suited to a group of guys or girls than couples, but we said we would try it again mid-week to get another perspective. Worth trying.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food, great bar and really good cocktails...pity about the service though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This a great spot for dinner and drinks with a few friends; there's always a good atmosphere here and they usually have someone spinning out a few tunes on Fri/Sat nights. Their food is delicious, the Rendang beef is one of my favourite dishes and is a must try for anyone who enjoys Thai food. The cocktails are also really tasty but my experience of the service is that it doesn't match the food unfortunately. When I brought this to managers attention when last here he dealt with it immediately though, apologising and offering us a round of drinks on the house, which was a decent gesture. We did our best not to let the sketchy service detract from the experience and still enjoyed ourselves. They will need to make sure the service improves however if they want to remain busy. Worth checking out...

Helpful?
Thank ROC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere. Great Music. Good Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I ate here with a group of 9 people on New Years Eve. We all really enjoyed it.
It is a very modern restaurant with a New York vibe going on.

The music is loud - but in a good way.
The atmosphere is absolutely fantastic, with lots of modern electronic music playing.

If you are going on first date - it might not be the place for you because the music is loud.
But with a group of friends - this is perfect!
The food was great - and reasonably priced. All mains are 15-18 euro. Starters were 7-9 euro.

There are many nice bars closeby - so if you are visiting Dublin you have lots of options in the area if you wanted to go for a drink after dinner.

There is a huge selections of cocktails, beers, spirits, wines etc.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opium also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Opium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing