We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Stayed midweek Tuesday to Friday, for a great price. Although they will provide a continental breakfast for E6.00, don't bother. Rathmines has several cafes and bakeries, not to mention McDonalds and Dominos Pizza! A few minutes walk takes you to a shopping centre which has a Dunnes store for cheap clothing and reasonably priced quality food shopping. There's an Aldi right next to the hotel (literally), and while we were there a Lidl was being built across the road, so if you're on a budget, honestly you couldn't do better for making your own sandwiches and breakfasts, especially as Dublin is pretty expensive to eat out! The rooms facing the road are noisy, with both the road and two building sites opposite, so make sure you ask for a garden facing room for maximum quiet. Bed was comfortable, room clean, bathroom good size for price. Buses 14, 15, 128 and others stop outside and take you through St Stevens Green, past Grafton Street right into the City centre, or you can jump off at St Stevens Green onto the Luas to head out South into the suburbs. It's not an unreasonably distance to walk, either. We loved this place, it's a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisalgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2009

Hi there,

Thanks for writing your positive review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 552 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is not very far from the city centre certainly within most people's walking distance, but the buses are plentiful too. Although you do need the correct money for them.
I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2009

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to write your positive review - there always welcome!

We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stayed here for a weekend away with my girlfriend. I had read the hotel was only a mile away from the city centre but I think it is a bit further than that. However, the bus service is very good in Dublin and there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. It only took 5-10 mins to get into the city on the bus and the buses are very frequent. The room was big and clean. However, the shower kept going boiling hot and then freezing cold when it was turned on, which was pretty frustrating. But for £50 a night it was pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foresthills_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, tr at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2009

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review - they are always welcome!

We do hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My partner and I had found some great deals for this hotel online and as we had already stayed in Travelodges around Canada, we thought it would be a good bet. Our first impressions were unfortunately so-so; as we arrived at the hotel to check-in, the clerk's welcome was very cold and dismissive, the person rushing through our check-in as if to get rid of us. Gladly, the other members of staff were all very kind. Our room was better than we had expected. Fresh rooms with renovated bathrooms, array of wall plugs (different socket types), comfortable beds, tv... The walk from the hotel to Dublin City Centre is around 20-25 minutes, but it is done very easily. There a number of restaurants in the area and even a supermarket. The hotel was great and the possibility of finding good deals year-round are always a plus!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy-a-e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2009

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. They really do cheer us up 
I’m delighted we met your standards. I’m sure the member of staff that checked you was having a bad day – usually all the receptionists are fun and friendly.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Looking at some of the other reviews I wondered if I had stayed in the same place!
I booked 3 rooms for our family at the Rathmines travelodge. It's easy to get to (bus stop from city centre is right outside the entrance - go for the family rambler ticket; 2 adults + 4 under 16s for 10euros for all day travel) or about a 20min walk. Rooms were all clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The reception staff were very helpful and always available. If you're after an inexpensive and convenient place to stay whilst exploring Dublin this would be a good choice, certainly in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyK0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Admittedly we arrived late in the evening however we didnt expected there to be a sign saying popped out back in 10...........When the man did arrive he wasnt very impressed we had disturbed his food. We booked in and went to our room which was obviously been smoked in bigtime and smelt of what I can only discribe as stale custard cream biscults. There was one towel and 2 pillows the bed was dirty and the curtains had never seen a cleaner. The toilet roll ran out after one use being girls we had spare tissue.......The water was cold but that didnt matter because the shower didnt work at all. Lucky for us we were only in the room a few hours before our early morning flight. We didnt even bother to undress. On checkout I advised the still grumpy member of staff who was not one bit bothered about the smell and shower. Avoid this so called hotel we would of been better sleeping at the airport..........

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimQueenofQuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

Hi there,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. We can never improve unless we get feedback from our customers.

I can offer you no excuses for lack of service or unpolitness by our staff. I have sent on your comments to the general manager to investigate further.
The team at Rathmines are usually friendly, helpful, and would go out of there way to help all our guests - so your comments do dissappoint us.

If you would like to discuss these issues further, please contact me directly at the hotel.

On behalf of the staff at Rathmines, please except our apologies for any Inconvenience caused to you.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

The hotel was further out than all indications on the websites with taxi's costing on average euro 15. The cold water did not work in the evening then in the morning there was no hot water for a shower. The noise and lighting was disturbing in general, hard to sleep. To make matters worse the fire alarm went off twice in one night (freezing cold and after 1am) with no explanation either then or in the morning on check out. Staff not interested in you as a person let alone repeat business.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttraveller278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaWalsh, Travelodge Group Revenue Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2009

Hello,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review about our hotel.

We were saddened to read your comments.

I've checked our website and the hotels location is correct. If you still have the website address where you seen our hotel location, we would really appreciate if you could let us know so we could have it corrected immediately.
I do apologise for the disturbance within the hotel. We will review this situation and take action.
Please except my apologies on behalf of the staff – they are generally great with all our guests. Our customer service is one of our biggest strengths within the Travelodge group.

We would like to see you again and hopefully you will have a nicer stay.

Kind Regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Tara Towers Hotel
#113 of 150 in Dublin
797 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 150 in Dublin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $74 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing