We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value quality room with all the basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #102 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
uk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value quality room with all the basics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good Room, Good location, Good receptionist. Everthing you want from an hotel for a brief nights stop.
Good Room, Good location, Good receptionist. Everthing you want from an hotel for a brief nights stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Davidjjarvis,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your positive feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    160
    149
    62
    51
See reviews for
57
187
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is about a 20 min walk out of the centre, so you need your walking shoes. Plenty of local shops for breakfast and is on the bus route to the airport which was the cheapest way back. Staff were very friendly and the room was clean although a little noisy in the morning

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clowcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Clowcock,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here because the location is fabulous, I needed to be in Dublin6 so this is perfect.
Budget hotel, so everything is standard.
Staff were nice though!
Room was ok, was clean but its a little old. But again - its so cheap to stay there, Its what we expected.
Beds were actually really comfortable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Trigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Girlgregg,

Thank you for your positive review and taking the time to post it.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Perfectly decent and adequate example of this chain.
Good, friendly and helpful staff.
Quiet room although it was round the back.
Very good bus service outside the front door, 10 min ride into town through the poor traffic conditions.
Good restaurant within 5 min walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfjradyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Mfjradyr,

Thank you for your positive review on Travelodge Rathmines.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Staying in dublin for the weekend i arrived ať the hotel around 11 pm after taking the 747 airlink bus from the airport to collage green from here you can get another bus to the hotel which stops right at the travelodge doors . I bourght a 3 day ramble ticket from kiosk in A/P arrivels the ticket cost 15 euros and was ideal for me because i used the bus service alot and it saves the hassle of having the correct change every time you use a bus . Loads of taxis around so no problem with getting about . Upon checkin i was given a room i asked the location the receptionist told me it was to the front of hotel i requested another room to the rear of hotel after reading previous reviews concering noise levels from front of hotel .they changed the room no problem it over looked the gardens and i never had any noise probs . The travelodge did the job ,great transport connections ,plenty of restaurants around and some wonderful tradional old irish pubs and all only minutes walk away from travelodge

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorke_jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Yorke_ih,

Thank you for posting this review on Travelodge Rathmines.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wife n I stayed here for 4 nights over a long w/e (not knowingly over the Heineken Cup rugby final w/e between 2 French sides when Dublin was invaded by French fans) to have a brief visit of the Irish goods and greats and to meet up with a relative couple the last 2 days. This travelodge woudn't be our first choice location wise but it was difficult to find accommodation that w/e. After being stepped off the Air Coach by Trinity, with light luggage we walked thru Grafton Street, the side of St Stephen's Green, crossed the Grand Canal and continued down the Rathmines Road Lower to arrive at Travelodge, in about 25 minutes.

Checking in was quick and easy. We requested for a quiet room and pointed out the fact that we were light sleepers and were staying for 4 nights. We got a room facing the back garden on the 3rd floor and was indeed very quiet. The room was ok and clean and the bathroom as clean and bright too. The shower over a bathtub worked reasonably well and water was hot. Kettle was provided. TV was ok. There were supermarkets next door and opposite (Lidl), a Tesco 5 minutes further down and many eating places nearby. The bus stops were right outside though we didn't use the bus as we have had decent weather that w/e and so we walked all the time. Over the 4 nights our room was cleaned when we returned from sightseeing. Wifi was chargeable at 5Euro(?) per day which I don't think was reasonable these days.

Dublin was a great place for a few days and we also joined a day tour to visit the Newgrange and Tara Hill which we enjoyed.

I'd recommend this Travelodge if you don't mind walking a bit (20 minutes to St Stephen's Green) and if you can get a decent rate (say not more than 70Euro).

Room Tip: As for a room at the back overlooking the garden if you prefer a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi SC168,

Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us here in Travelodge Rathmines and indeed in Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woods
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My son and I stayed herfe last weekned for a trip to Dublin to watch rugby. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to the south of the city centre but is well served by buses, with the stop outside. The rooms are large and clean. As to be expected in this chain, they are basic but perfectly adequate for a good nights sleep. For this type of weekend or those on a budget, I would recomend considering this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhistlingBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Whistling Bear,

Thank you for writing this positive review.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay here with us in Travelodge Rathmines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#127 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#77 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing