We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reassurance that Travelodge is still a good bet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #102 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reassurance that Travelodge is still a good bet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The welcome from staff was excellent. The room was very spacious, very neat and tidy and everything was as it should be. The night staff were very helpful in providing extra items. We stayed two nights and used the hotel as a base to explore Dublin city centre. Regular bus service from right outside the hotel in to the city centre, including an acceptably regular service on bank holiday Monday! Unlike some of our more recent Travelodge experiences back in the UK, with noisy 'neighbours' and noisy kids running around late in to the night, the room was quiet. The traffic outside was busy but the windows are more than adequate at reducing it to a very quiet hum in the background. We have used Travelodge for many years and we had read some of the reviews of this hotel beforehand and were quite worried that we would find a dodgy room, dirty floors, things missing and with noise from traffic etc. I am pleased to say that none of these came to pass and it looks like the management have taken on board reviews from previous years. I would definitely recommend this hotel and it "does what it says on the tin!" PS, using a Leap Card (Travel card, similar to the Oyster cards used in London, UK) was both cheaper and more convenient than using cash for the buses. They can also be used on the trams and trains, too, but we didn't get that far!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyOB1KENOBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi DickyOb1Kenobe,

Thank you very much for your very kind review and taking the time to write it. Its is great to read that our ongoing efforts to improve our standards here in Rathmines have not gone unnoticed! We hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    157
    146
    62
    51
See reviews for
55
183
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed 2 nights does what it sais on the tin, basic hotel room was clean which is all you really want, staff were friendly good location, plenty of buses available from right outside we had a hire car no parking at this hotel which we knew but there is bout 2mins away so not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Russ N,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights last week. Arrived early couldn't book in 'til 2pm but left cases in secure room. Friendly staff. Went to room and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room 204. The room overlooked a lovely garden of the adjacent apartments. It's in a very lively area with a fitness centre and swimming pool opposite ( which guests can use). Lots of cafes and shops in the vicinity. Room clean, good shower, clean towels. Try Graces pub (about 300 m away) for a lovely breakfast. A bargain of a budget hotel

Room Tip: sk or a room overlooking the gardens on the side, I would imagine they are quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi Greyst,

Thank your for taking the time out to write this great review on our property. It is very encouraging for both the staff and myself to read reviews like this one. We hope you will visit us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Simple accomodation but room was large with large bathroom( incl shower). Very clean room. Stayed 2 nights. It was well placed for our visit as we were able to walk to city centre and UCD in 30 mins. Some places to eat pretty close in up market Ranelagh.

Helpful?
Thank minycoedpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear minycoedpeter,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Basic Budget hotel, if on a budget and want to stay near City Centre this should suffice. Ten minute walk to Stephens Green , to get to O'Connell St is a further 10 minutes. But plenty of buses outside you can get. Also plenty of bars etc in teh area where you can meet the locals and are not as much of a tourist trap as Temple Bar. Staff on check in were friendly. Rooms were spacious, amenities were basic. Only issue I had was the toilet was too close to the shower wall, bit of a squeeze if you are a around 6ft I'd guess.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnianOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear FinnianOD,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

For just one night the hotel was ok. You get what you expect for a room that is less than 100 €. However, i expecteded the hotel to be closer to the city center. From a hotel with the word city center in its name i expect something different. To walk to temple bar it took me nearly 25 min! At least there is a bus stop right in front of the house which was ok. The room was clean but very small and it had a stong smell of an air refreshener spray, which was way too intense.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saendu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Saendu24,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having stayed in many travelodges in the past we thought we would stay safe and book this travelodge, we stayed for two nights and paid a reasonable amount, the size of the room was impressive with two single beds next to each other bedside tables a desk wardrobe and bathroom, the bed linen was disgustingly dirty I found numerous hairs on mine, bits of dirt my sister had a yellow stain on her sheet, the carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in months, the ceiling had dead flies on!!! The room was very noisy at night with traffic and people, the Hotel is not very central and takes a good half hour walk to get into the centre the bus is 2 euros but a taxi back will cost around 10 euros! I would not stay here again I would rather pay extra to stay in a room that is clean and closer to the city centre nobody wants to sleep on dirty bed sheets no matter the price of the room!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikiannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Kikiannie

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dergvale Hotel
#70 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#65 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#132 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing