We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appropriate for our visit. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Simple accomodation but room was large with large bathroom( incl shower). Very clean room. Stayed 2 nights. It was well placed for our visit as we were able to walk to city centre and UCD in 30 mins. Some places to eat pretty close in up market Ranelagh.

Thank minycoedpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear minycoedpeter,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Basic Budget hotel, if on a budget and want to stay near City Centre this should suffice. Ten minute walk to Stephens Green , to get to O'Connell St is a further 10 minutes. But plenty of buses outside you can get. Also plenty of bars etc in teh area where you can meet the locals and are not as much of a tourist trap as Temple Bar. Staff on check in were friendly. Rooms were spacious, amenities were basic. Only issue I had was the toilet was too close to the shower wall, bit of a squeeze if you are a around 6ft I'd guess.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnianOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear FinnianOD,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

For just one night the hotel was ok. You get what you expect for a room that is less than 100 €. However, i expecteded the hotel to be closer to the city center. From a hotel with the word city center in its name i expect something different. To walk to temple bar it took me nearly 25 min! At least there is a bus stop right in front of the house which was ok. The room was clean but very small and it had a stong smell of an air refreshener spray, which was way too intense.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saendu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Saendu24,

Thank you for your comment.

We are sorry to learn about your disappointing stay.

The points you’ve raised will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Your feedback is important to us, and we would like to investigate the issues. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form, to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having stayed in many travelodges in the past we thought we would stay safe and book this travelodge, we stayed for two nights and paid a reasonable amount, the size of the room was impressive with two single beds next to each other bedside tables a desk wardrobe and bathroom, the bed linen was disgustingly dirty I found numerous hairs on mine, bits of dirt my sister had a yellow stain on her sheet, the carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in months, the ceiling had dead flies on!!! The room was very noisy at night with traffic and people, the Hotel is not very central and takes a good half hour walk to get into the centre the bus is 2 euros but a taxi back will cost around 10 euros! I would not stay here again I would rather pay extra to stay in a room that is clean and closer to the city centre nobody wants to sleep on dirty bed sheets no matter the price of the room!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikiannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Kikiannie

Thank you for your post.

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion.

We would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us, please visit our main Travelodge website and use the ‘Contact Us’ form to provide us with full details of your issues and your booking number.

We can then liaise with the Hotel Management team and provide a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were staying for just one night ready to go to the airport the following day.
Mixed feelings about our stay at this Travelodge, it was neither good nor bad, it was just OK and as the title says, it was OK for just one night.

The check-in was quite stressful as we had to park out on the busy road and then go in to reception to obtain an electronic key to gain entry to the secure parking which apparently we should have pre-booked but luckily there was a space. Parking cost €6 per night.

The member of staff on check-in was not at all friendly or welcoming but did answer any questions we had with regard to buses into the city centre etc as the Travelodge is situated about a ½ hour walk from the city centre.

The room was the smallest we've ever seen at a Travelodge and we've been to quite a few. There was only enough just enough room for a double bed which could only be accessed from one side. No bath just a shower, a rather large TV took up most of the room on the dressing table/desk. Kettle and tea/coffee were provided and the room was clean but our room faced a side street which was quite noisy and the nearby clock tower chimes kept us awake - every 15 mins throughout the night! The bed was very uncomfortable and lopsided.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePurpleScorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear ThePurpleScorpion,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements or refurbishment efforts which may be required at this hotel.

We do hope that all of our customers get a good night sleep when staying with us. Due to the central location, some noise might be heard, however we will try to tell our customers by putting details on our website. We also try to reduce the noise from outside the hotel by having double glazing and insulated walls.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution that will hopefully benefit yourself and our future customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stopped for one night and didn’t have any problems.
The reception were friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and surprisingly large as was the bathroom.
They had parking which at 6 Euro I thought very reasonable.
Only a 30min walk to the centre with pubs, shops and cafes on the way.

Room Tip: The corner room 116 was very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi Simon A,

Thank you for your very kind review on our property.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This Travelodge is clean with friendly staff. It's about a 30 minute walk into town but you can hop on a bus to and from the city pretty easily and with an unlimited 28 euro bus ticket at the airport you get airport transfer and all bus travel paid for in the city. The room was pleasant - big and clean but fairly noisy at night but it is clear that it's on a main road into the city. Try Yum for food, halfway into town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank potnoodlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellemanager, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi potnoodlegirl,

Thank you for your very review on our property.

We hope to see you very soon in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Tara Towers Hotel
#113 of 150 in Dublin
797 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Uppercross House Hotel
#78 of 150 in Dublin
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines

Address: Rathmines Road, Dublin D6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $74 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge is perfectly located in a vibrant area 1km from Dublin city centre with many quirky shops, cafe-bars and restaurants, and offers modern, elegantly designed, spacious bedrooms. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious family, corporate guest or short break customer the Dublin - Rathmines Travelodge cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Rathmines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing