We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but needs a good cleaning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location but needs a good cleaning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Im not a clean freak but travelodge needs a good cleaning. From a hair in the dirty fridge to thick dust everywhere, lamps, curtain, bed head rest and loose toilet seat, its not only outdated but grubby. On the plus side, good comfortable bed, friendly staff and good location. Needs a lick of paint and a good deep cleaning, surprising for a chain hotel, usually modern but basic

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tabris6ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi tabris6ie,

Thank for taking the time to write this review.

I am sorry to read some of your comments as these are not acceptable. We take reviews like this very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    187
    118
    42
    40
See reviews for
81
177
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.
It was located in a quiet street off Stephens green...perfect for us.
The room itself was clean, pleant of towels, it was cosy more so than spacious but was fine.
The girl in reception was nice and helpful. WIFI is not free but only cost 5EUR per day and can be used in other place in dublin which is good.
For the price and it being Dublin, great value, not glamourous but ticked our boxes for the trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank obbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi obbarry,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and also for your positive feedback.

We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very nice hotel! It was a local hotel, that Travelodge bought recently. I believe that it’s because of this that our room was HUGE! Very nice carpeting and a spacious bathroom. It was a pleasure staying here, everything looked nice, reception staff was nice as well.
It’s not very close to everything but you can walk to most places easily. Very calm street, so no noise and still close to many places.

They do have a restaurant but it was going through renovation and we couldn’t try it. Not a problem, there were plenty of cafés around so you can have your breakfast.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaisSiqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi LaisSiqueira,

Thank you for this very positive review.

It is great to hear such positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Dated; well worn++; black mould on windowframe and in 2 places on toilet seat underside. The cafe/bar was a pile of old chairs and was not functioning so we were offered a cash refund of our prepaid breakfast which we had to collect each morning like Oliver Twist,(why could they not refund to the card)!
We booked for several days and the cleaning consisted of empying the rubbish and once, changing the towels.The staff athough reasonably polite,appeared to be primed up to defend complaints.Because of its location, I would excuse some of the bad points if there were any good ones. This appears to be an old hotel that has been revamped under the Travelodge banner in order to get open for the Summer without having the facilities advertised on the website and athough it might be OK when refurbished is bad even by Travelodge standards. Dirty net curtains with a fag burned hole do not give an impression of quality and a few wipes over surfaces here and there in the bathroom would eliminate the worst problems.This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Supervolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Supervolt,

As a manager you can imagine that reading a review like this is extremely disappointing and worrying.

I would appreciate if you could email me on michelle.gaffney@travelodge.ie so we can discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

newtownards, northern ireland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The location of this Hotel for walking distance to St Stephen Green, Powerscourt, Geroge Street, Cafes and Bars is first class. It's also very hand that they are in the Qpark building and their is a special parking rate for guests. I cost us €15 for 24 hours which is good for Dublin. We booked it through booking.com though it lists it as free parking as well, so watch out for that.
We enjoyed our stay but, rooms are good size, rooms have bath with shower, and are clean.
They are let down a bit due to being dated, and could do with a refurb quite soon, loo roll holder missing in bathroom, metal cover over cistern coming off, basin cracked, bath enamel worn through and rusted in one place, and the wardrobes interior shelving is a bit rough round the edges.
Saying that you do have to weigh up location and price of under £70 a night. And the room does have air conditioning, big flat screen tv, tea and coffee.
Overall even with the refurb issues it can only be great value for the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Zaria123,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We do appreciate all the comments you made in the review both positive and negative.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is very central to everything the city of Dublin has to offer. The staff are friendly & welcoming. The room was spacious & very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable especially the pillows! the bathroom was bright with both a shower & bath. Although there is no restaurant, we dined at the adjoining restaurant & enjoyed a lovely meal. This is also where we had breakfast which was plentiful & very tasty. Ther is also a lovely comfortable bar in the restaurant which could be great if there was some live music. I do think that a seating area at check-in is needed & checkout time is strict, but I will stay here again & rest my weary head on those lovely pillows!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Mary B,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope to see you again in the near future where you will now be able to experience the newly opened bar and restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

First off, the location is great, just behind St. Stephen's Green Shopping Centre, the location is in the center of a lot of restaurants, coffee shops, pubs as well as close to Grafton Street and the Green itself. It was a quiet area. The rooms and decor were dated, the bathrooms definitely in need of refurbishment with cracked tile floors and sink. The shower required a good 10 minutes to heat up - and on no account do not leave the bathroom door open. My friend turned on the shower early Saturday morning, left it to warm up, which it did, only to have the steam activate the heat/smoke detectors which set off the fire alarm. The beds were clean, the mattresses were good. There were in-room tea and coffee services but the supplies were never refilled or, in fact, fully stocked. During our visit the restaurant and lounge were closed for refurbishment, although no work had been done which lead me to question whether, in fact, there were any plans to refubish or whether the proprietors just decided that, due to the close proximity to good restaurants and bars, it wasn't worth while to keep open. For a short weekend stop it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mswiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Manager at Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi mswiseguy,

Thank you for your review.

I do appreciate your comments both positive and constructive.

The bar/restaurant has now been fully refurbished and has reopened.

We do hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#88 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Central Hotel
#91 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel

Property: Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel
Address: Lower Mercer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Mercer Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel situated in Dublin's center near to Grafton Street & St. Stephens Green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Dublin City Centre, Stephens Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing