We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, but disappointed”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the kingfisher capel street apartments, I somewhat feel disappointed with the experience. Don't get me wrong, the apartment is situated in a excellent location, 10 to 15 minute walk to the town centre, bars and restaurants. But the overall condition of the apartment was poor, stains on the carpet, no shelves in the oven. Furthermore, the toaster didn't work, and the wifi was poor. In my opinion the apartment needed a real make over. Compared to the photographs on the website, I feel like I was somewhat cheated. 450 euros for 3 nights, you may say good value. It would have been if the apartment resembled the photographs displayed on the companies website. This apartment could really be an excellent family base, but the company needs to invest in updating the apartment.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmc2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Bavaria, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I do not know what the other reviewers experienced, but the apartment we stayed in was very nice, clean and pretty big! The location is great-just a few blocks from Parnell Square, O'Connell Street and even Temple Bar. Everything is within walking distance for an able-bodied individual.

Apartment management was very nice and helpful. They even walked us to the apartment the first time. Our wifi didn't work the first day, but after we reported it... it was up and running by the time we returned that night. They held our baggage for us after we checked out for free and gave us discounts to two local restaurants.

Capel Street has quite a few restaurants and pubs, but it can feel a little seedy late at night. However, there is enough foot traffic that we felt safe. Only real complaint: the bedrooms are on the street side of the apartment, so we were awakened a couple of nights by the folks leaving the pubs late.

Great place all-in-all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed on the top floor 2 bedroom apartment at the end of July, 2013. It was clean and had a big bathroom and well fitted kitchen. Easy walk from the Kingfisher after check-in. They had daily room tidy up which we don't usually get with self catering. It is close to everything but still on a quiet street, quiet enough to sleep with the windows open. The beds could have a little bit more comfortable but good enough for a long weekend and good enough for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ovr40gamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

DIRTY WALLS, FILTHY FLOOR, COULD HEAR EVERY FOOTSTEP ALL NIGHT FROM ABOVE, FANS GOING ALL NIGHT, BUSTED LOCK ON THE BATHROOM DOOR....just some of the things i came across in apartment no.1!!! My girlfriend and I and another couple attended a concert in Dublin recently. We booked a 2 bed apartment and as advertised on their website expected to find 2 double beds. This was not the case only 1 double bed and 3 single beds in another room. I went to reception to find the most ignorant person i've ever come across working in a hotel. I told him the situation and he just said that i booked through a stupid website and if I wasn't happy cancel my booking and he'd have it rented out again in 10 mins for double the price!!!!! Being 4 o' clock on a Saturday he knew i didn't have any options but to just take what i had as i was only there for 1 night. On top of this the bedroom walls were dirty, the floor was filthy (my girlfriend had to wash her feet twice after coming OUT of the shower!!! and you could also hear every pin drop from above...got no sleep at all with the noise. Would definately never ever stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david02187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were disappointed in the amenities at Capel Street Apartments. Also, no one replied to our email expressing our view afterwards. In themselves, each of the issues was quite small. However, when added up, it left us feeling we had received misleading information about the quality of the accommodation. All in all, it had a down-at-heel feel to it and we would not want to book an apartment with this company again. These are the problems we encountered:
- The television did not work at all. We reported this to the office on our second day but nothing was done to fix it.
- The kitchen equipment was of very poor quality (eg. broken lid on saucepan, lack of glasses)
- The sofa bed cover was split
- No lock on the bathroom door
- Not very clean (the window-sills were filthy)
- Towels were frayed
In addition, being in the basement wasn't very pleasant - on the website it says floors 1-5th.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlisonT863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, SY
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in number 4 for a long weekend (Fri - Mon) in March. The apartment was nice and spacious but in need of a little bit of love - some of the knobs on the cupboard doors were missing in our bedroom, the seal of the shower had peeled away and there were no shelves in the oven.

Having said that, it was big enough for the four of us (you wouldn't really want any more people) and we had a good time there.

The bathroom was nice and large with fresh towels daily. The toilet flushed every time we used it (which although you're unlikely to admit it, it is important when there's a group of you!) and the water was always nice and hot. The only downside of the bathroom (which was probably a one off) was that there was no soap.

The kitchen was basic as expected, although there were no shelves in the oven - so it was nigh on impossible to cook anything in the oven. There was also no frying pan - so using the hob was pretty tough too unless you want to boil stuff.

As on the outskirts of town I wasn't sure how noisy it'd be - but it was pretty quiet - I don't recall hearing anything outside, or at least nothing more than the usual sounds of being in a town (usual dustbin men, occasional siren - nothing major). The people upstairs were actually the only real noise we noticed (we guessed they were wearing hobnail boots or a bunch of elephants were up there).

The apartment did the job and was pretty comfortable. The beds were standard, there was an abundance of storage which is always good. There were plenty of extra pillows and duvets too. I slept pretty well too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIANOTKYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Our bathroom was soaking for two days from the bathroom above us. I do understand that it can happen. Staff was kind when we called them and they came over to fix the problem. On the second day the same happened. We called reception again and asked for discount. Status was terrible, we could not switch on light since lamp was full of water. It already seemed to be dangerous. Staff promised they give us one night refund. Finally the manager himself told us that they did not give us any refund against their promise. It was a big disappointment!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matifou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#69 of 151 in Dublin
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
406 reviews
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#85 of 151 in Dublin
1,552 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments

Property: The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments
Address: 95 Capel Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capel Street, a short stroll over the river Liffey from Temple Bar, The kingfisher have 5 apartments contained in a classic Georgian building. There are four 2 bedroom apartments and one 1 bedroom apartment, all fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect in your own home.Our rooms sleep up to 6 people.Check in for the capel street apartments is located at the Kingfisher Reception On Parnell St. 3mins walk. All our guests receive a 10% discount to use at the kingfisher for breakfast lunch or dinner, also can be used in our Cafe In Cahoots or Violet Hair salon.This Dublin Accommodation is within walking distance of Temple Bar, Trinity College, Henry Street , O'Connell Street, The Spire , The Guinness Brewery, Museums, Rotunda Hospital, Croke Park (venue for Irish sports/international games & concerts),Lansdowne Road, Grafton Street. 15 minutes walk to Connolly bus station, 5 minutes walk to Luas/tram line. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure this is a superb selection of one and two bedroom self-catering apartments in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capel Street Apartments Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing