We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Belmont, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and great service”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the 2BR apartment on the 5th floor for 4 nights. It is a walk-up so you get your exercise going up and down. The apartment was spacious, with a fully equipped kitchen, washer, and huge bathroom that had a heated floor- a nice bonus.

The location is great. Just a few blocks from several pedestrian shopping streets and maybe 10 minutes walk to temple bar just across the ha'penny bridge. Yet it is relatively quiet at night, save for some occasional traffic or people in the street. The entire city center is within easy walking reach from the apartments.

The service at the Kingfisher (which owns these apartments) is exceptional. Ana Maria was absolutely wonderful, extremely kind and helpful with advice, had the apartment ready for us even though we arrived early, and arranged for Carmen, who also works at the Kingfisher, to babysit our 2 girls. Carmen was very nice and did a great job at a reasonable price.

For 124 euros per night, the value was exceptional. The Kingfisher also has delicious smoked salmon for breakfast at their restaurant 2 blocks away. The Church restaurant closeby has an amazing atmosphere, a converted historic grandiose church. I highly recommend these apartments and the Kingfisher.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor are a little quieter, though there is no elevator/lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MateoElViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This apartment was just the job for a short stay in Dublin with teenage children. Clean and comfortable, plenty of room and great location. Lovely jacuzzi and even underfloor heating in bathroom. We could also leave our bags at the reception area which was a real help. Slattery's pub just down the road served great food and huge helpings! and for something a little more up-market would recommend 'The Church' especially the early-bird menu. Didn't find it noisy in the apartment at all - maybe just lucky? Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireAfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights early June 2012. First impressions was that it was very clean and spacious.
Had coffee and tea and milk in the fridge waiting for us which was welcome.
We had apartment 2, the bedroom is at the front so can be a bit noisy, only disappointment is that there was no jacuzzi in this apartment, felt a bit cheated as the pictures and their website stated that there was one, only had s hower.

Good location and close enought to all attractions.

Room Tip: Make sures yours has the jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenAP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I was very pleased with the apartment on Capel Street. The people in the Parnell Street office were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for site seeing and visiting a lot of pubs. We were able to walk everywhere, including Trinity college, the Guinness Brewery, and all of the other tourist attractions. The apartment looked just like the pictures and provided plenty of space for 4 of us.
We stayed 2 days in Dublin, then went on the road for a few days, and then returned for 2 nights. It was great to stay somewhere that was familiar. I would definitely stay here again on future trips to Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcox6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

The apartments were situated just outside of the centre, and a short distance from reception. The street was a little run-down, but very quiet at night and not too dodgy. Security to enter apartment building is good.
Rooms were clean, spacious and had all the facilities needed for a short stay.
There was a great pub practically next door, and a fantastic cafe/restaurant/club down the road called 'Church's'.
I am a little shocked by previous reviews as I found the apartments to be perfect for exploring Dublin on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Illustratedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Was pleased with the location of these apartments. Yes the street is a little run down but has a cracking pub (Slatterys) right next door to the apartments as well as supermaket and cash machine (which are hard to find in Dublin)
Apartment was good size but was quite cold. Has too keep over riding heating timer. This wasn't helped by the fact the windows and balcony door were wide open on arrival, but least it was aired.
Was annoying that had to pick up and drop off key about 5 minutes away. Could have left key in apartment when leaving and shut door.
Receptionist was helpful and let us store suitcase with her until room was ready as we were early.
Overall I would use these apartments again but pack a few more jumpers!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Heating system
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaksBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Just back from long weekend stay in capel street apartments. Was disappointed to say the least as we were expecting to stay in millennium apartments as that was where we had originally booked for and were given no indication we were being moved until we checked in. Pictures in the photo galleries on various websites are obviously for penthouse apartments in capel street as our apartment was a lot smaller and not as nice as this. The location was ok, 5 mins from temple bar but that was about only good thing. Quite a few "seedy" shops in the street which is the norm for this street apparently There was a funny smell in entrance hall of complex and second door to get into apartment area was never locked. (building has offices of some sort on ground floor) Definitely not worth the amount of money we paid for it!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank belle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#68 of 151 in Dublin
396 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#103 of 151 in Dublin
175 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments

Property: The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments
Address: 95 Capel Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Capel Street, a short stroll over the river Liffey from Temple Bar, The kingfisher have 5 apartments contained in a classic Georgian building. There are four 2 bedroom apartments and one 1 bedroom apartment, all fully equipped with all the amenities you would expect in your own home.Our rooms sleep up to 6 people.Check in for the capel street apartments is located at the Kingfisher Reception On Parnell St. 3mins walk. All our guests receive a 10% discount to use at the kingfisher for breakfast lunch or dinner, also can be used in our Cafe In Cahoots or Violet Hair salon.This Dublin Accommodation is within walking distance of Temple Bar, Trinity College, Henry Street , O'Connell Street, The Spire , The Guinness Brewery, Museums, Rotunda Hospital, Croke Park (venue for Irish sports/international games & concerts),Lansdowne Road, Grafton Street. 15 minutes walk to Connolly bus station, 5 minutes walk to Luas/tram line. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure this is a superb selection of one and two bedroom self-catering apartments in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kingfisher Capel Street Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capel Street Apartments Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing