We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel very close to croke park but extremely warm heating needs to be turned down or off”
Review of Ardmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardmore Hotel
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 2, 2011

this hotel is perfect when attending any functions in croke park as it is only 3km away rooms are specious and clean and beds where comfortable friendly staff the only problem was the intensity of the heat on the forth floor even with window open all night room was still like sauna so heating needs to be turned down or off

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwalsh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 519 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

Quick bus connections into the city centre mean you don't have to stay with the crowds! Hotel is around the corner from a Burgr King and Tesco, so I did not eat at the hotel at all. Free parking (including underground, secured parking) and free wi-fi. No gym, no pool. My room was on the fifth floor, was clean and comfortable, but facing the street it was noisy with the window open. It was the hottest weekend of the year, so it got a bit too warm during the night, but reception will send up a fan on request. An excellent value, in my opinion, at 55 Euro per night.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgrbleu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Accomodation is extremely pricey for what you get in Dublin so this was a pleasant suprise at a wonderful price. Clean, spacious, friendly. I'd have no qualms about staying here again. Only slight complaint is we could ocassionally smell smoke in the room, which was non smoking and there was no air con and it was very warm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Coops77Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

myself and my lady stayed here for the take that concert in dublin on 19th of june.we oicked it cause usually 60 a night but for take that concert it was 85.that price hiking is epidemic in ireland but it was probably the cheapest hotel in dublin that night.
you get what you pay for,nice room,clean,very basic but it was so hot in the room.roasting.i dont want to waste much time writing about this hotel.if ya want a cheap hotel and dont care about nice things stay here.it is on a bus route to the city centre and croke park.i wont be staying here again anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redhero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the Ardmore Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not find the hotel to be above average. You are correct the rooms do not have Air Conditioning however we can provide fans to cool the rooms if requested.
The hotel has quite a lot to offer guests at what you rightly point out as being very competitive rates considering we are only a 10 minute bus journey from Dublin City Centre and the bus stops just outside the door.
Included in all of our rates is free carparking and wifi at the hotel. There are ample choices for breakfast both cold and an array of hot offerings such as Waffles, Poached Eggs, Salmon as well as the Full Irish Breakfast. Premier Bar offers an extensive Menu throughout the day and on Sunday Carvery is available until 5pm. As well as music on Saturday and Sunday in the bar we also offer a Movie Night package for €10 which is very popular.
Once again thank you for writing a review of the hotel, hopefully if you do return to Dublin in the near future you will change your mind and choose to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

A little outside of Dublin City, and yet close to the airport.
We were driving ourselves, the google map was not accurate, but the staff was very helpful for directions and for getting around Dublin!
The restaurant food was very good.
Loved the room service.
Definitely reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room on the 4th floor over the street. Good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottooold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Ardmore hotel. I will make sure that your kind comments are passed on to the staff who will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will also pass comments on to the Chef who has recently joined our team.
I hope that you are in a position to come to Dublin again and would very much like to welcome you back to the Ardmore Hotel.

Regards

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked a two night stay as we are in the process of moving to Dublin, and needed a base while sorted a few things out.

We arrived very early thanks to our ferry crossing, and we were desperate to sleep, so we were pleasantly surprised when we were able to check in at 10am. The check in was smooth and friendly, and without difficulty.

The room was a decent size (Europe size), nicely furnished and clean. There was a free WiFi connection throughout the hotel, and most exciting, it works well! The bathroom included a bath / shower and the water pressure was very good.

There was an underground carpark which the hotel recommends using; the area is surrounded by new housing developments. I walked up to the Tesco supermarket several times and had no issues, and the area us now very popular with young families, couples and older retirees, so I felt safe. If you aren't driving, there is a bus stop directly outside which takes 15 minutes into the city centre.

I had to ask questions of the reception staff several times, and found the service mostly friendly and helpful.

The only complaint I had was the housekeeping office; the phone kept ringing and the ringer was loud enough that we could hear it, and found it disturbing early morning and late evening.

Now that we will be living in Dublin, we will be recommending the hotel to any friends or family visiting that we cannot accommodate ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlinterested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ardmore Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing the problem with the housekeeping phone to my attention. We have adjusted the ring tone and it will now not be a nuisance to any of our future guests. I hope that you return to Dublin and to the Ardmore Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

stayed at hotel for take that concert(for the wife!).hotel says its a 10 min walk from croke park think they meant by car.hotel was nice,clean and modern but rooms were really warm,even with the windows open.we were with another couple and it cost €55 a room so didn't break the bank.we also enjoyed a lovely carvery in the hotel restaurant for €10 each so for dublin we were happy enough.down side is the hotel is a little out of the way.we had parked the car in the free secure underground car park which was great,so we got taxis in and about dublin which were very exspensive.think we spent more on taxis than the 2 rooms!!!! would recomend hotel for cheap,comfortable short stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in 501.quiet at end of corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreDublin, General Manager at Ardmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Ardmore Hotel.I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are a 10 minute bus or car journey from Croke Park, I am sorry that you were misled, as we are beside the bus stops I hope this wasn't too much of an inconvenience for you. I hope that you return to Dublin and to the Ardmore Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Donna Curry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
4,669 reviews
The Croke Park
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Hotel

Address: Finglas Road, Tolka Valley, Dublin 11, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 1, 2005 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ardmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing