We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow times 100!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of An bhialann

An bhialann
Ranked #154 of 2,526 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow times 100!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had an amazing meal in An Bhialann in Ranelagh. I brought my best friend there as a treat as he is moving away and I had eaten in the restaurant before and had great food. Well, it was such tasty food and fantastic service. The small little touches added to it, and they brought my friend out a special dessert with a lovely message saying sorry your leaving. What thoughtfulness! The best food in a restaurant in years. It is family owned and run and the atmosphere is lovely because of that, relaxed and friendly. I wanted to say particular thanks to Frank, Gerry, Raymond,Haley and Josephine. A fantastic experience and taste sensations. I will be back alot more!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristin1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    43
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cheers for the chef proprietor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My first visit to An Bhialann was for a quick early bird deal and the whole experience was perfect - lovely fish, no quibbles about catering for my allergies, a very large glass of white wine (at the perfect temperature for a hot evening) and the most amazing rhubarb crumble that beat all crumbles to date - and the chef was interested enough to ask how I found it. It wasn't that hackneyed 'and how is your meal' query either. I'll return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Went to An Bhialainn with my wife
tonight. We had a brilliant time. The service was attentive without being overbearing. The food was lovely, well presented and beautifully cooked. The total cost for three courses, wine and sparkling water was very competitive. This is a family run business and the owners are genuinely interested in customer feedback. Will definitely go again and would recommend anybody in the area does too.

Helpful?
Thank Fijinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food here was delicious and it's a great place to eat if you're dining gluten free as most of the menu is suitable including all their sauces. There was a bit of a mix up with how my steak was cooked and when i mentioned it to the staff they were so nice and replaced both dishes so that i would not be eating alone! nice atmosphere, definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ob269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This restaurant is terrific from all angles... food is delicious, prices are competitive, service is warm and welcoming, atmosphere is buzzing, even the location is great! The early bird menu is good value, with a nice selection of choice for all tastes. From what I have tried on the menu so far, I would recommend the pate, and steaks - both not to be missed. The owners are very hands on, to ensure that everything is run smoothly, which is great to see, and they offer a personalized service that adds to the experience at An Bhialainn. If you have been before, they remember you the next time - a great PR touch! I will definitely be back. 10/10

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vanillaicecream6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An bhialann also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to An bhialann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing