We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great FOOD and Service”
Review of An bhialann - CLOSED

An bhialann
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $36
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great FOOD and Service”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Had pleasure of eating here recently. Very good food and service. Started with delicious seafood chowder, followed by perfectly cooked steak, managed to squeeze in cheesecake and great coffee. All served by Josephine and very friendly staff. Looking forward to a return visit. Thank for a great night out, which did not break the bank. Bryan.

Helpful?
Thank driverguide1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnBhialann, Manager at An bhialann, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Bryan (driverguide1),
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are so please that you enjoyed your evening. Chef Gerry sends his thanks for your kind words regarding his chowder and steak.
We are delighted that another reviewer has noticed the quality of our coffee.
We look forward to your next visit,
Best wishes,
The team at An Bhialann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    43
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous restaurant, fantastic food ”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I decided to try out this restaurant based on recommendations from friends. I was not disappointed. The restaurant istelf is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. For my starter I had crab claws that were cooked perfectly and bursting with flavor. For mains then I had fillet steak, again cooked to perfection. There was so many nice choices for desert it was hard to decide what to have. In the end I went for the cheesecake. It was delicious, and to top it all off I had a coffee that was so nice I wont drink any other coffee again. As for the service our entire meal was served promtly and with a smile, our waitress was very friendly and helpful. Thank you An Bhialann for a wonderful dining experience

Helpful?
Thank Evan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnBhialann, Manager at An bhialann, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Evan25,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are most pleased that you had a great dining experience, chef Gerry is very pleased that you mentioned the infused crab claws as they are one of his favourites. Lastly, thank you for noticing the quality of our coffee, its nice to know its appreciated.
We look forward to your next visit,
Best wishes,
The team at An Bhialann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrible food and Service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Last night we ate here (4 of us). The starters were atrocious - frozen king prawns and cold scallops.The mains got worse - burnt Sea Bream and really bland steak. It was en par to food served in IKEA or a motorway cafe. So disappointing and staff who certainly had no training in service. Terrible terrible waste of money. I'm afraid there couldn't be a chef here, only cooks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank may n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnBhialann, Manager at An bhialann, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
We are very saddened to see such a harsh review. We must question the validity of such a review for the following reasons:


1.We did 70 covers this night over a four hour period. This amounts less than 20 covers an hour. We also had 2 managers and 3 waiting staff on duty this night and we are quite proud of the service we provided to our guests.
2.We do not use frozen seafood, Our suppliers are local and deliver daily with our fish orders. Also you might note that our kitchen is an open kitchen where guests can see their food being prepared so to have frozen prawns on show would only lower the standard of our business. To add to this, our Prawn Salad is served with poached prawns, therefore “they are poached before they ever leave the kitchen. (frozen at the table, impossible!!)
3.Sea bream is not on our menu and never will be as it is a very cheap and tasteless fish.
4.As for the comments on the quality and flavour of our steaks, we would strongly disagree with any criticism with regard to this, as would the 40 or so guests that ate our steaks this night, in fact they are so popular that we actually ran out of Rib Eye steak after only 2 hours this night. Plus I would draw your attention to the very kind and positive reviews that mention our steaks on websites such as yelp and menupages. Our steaks are dry aged for 21 days and are sourced locally from the Village Butcher here in Ranelagh and we are more than happy with the quality of meat that they are providing. As for flavourless; We have an open kitchen, guests can watch as all the food in our kitchen is seasoned before it is cooked.
5.Our team of chefs are fully qualified and we are very proud of the produce that leaves the kitchen each and every day.
6. Our service staff and mangers are exceptionally well trained and continue to receive ongoing training as part of our service standard.

To sum up, we feel that this review is not genuine, especially considering that certain items mentioned are not on our menu. As we are a new restaurant; our managers request feedback from each table with regard to our menu and the service that they have received, we can assure you that not one table mentioned any serious actionable issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Delicious relaxing dinner”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly service with unbelievable cuisine! What more could you ask for. Very reasonable value for the quality of good we got. I had vegetable soup for starter, salmon for main and warm apple crumble pie for desert, absolutely beautiful food in a relaxing and warm environment.

Helpful?
Thank Fintang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnBhialann, Owner at An bhialann, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are delighted that you had a nice evening.
Best Regards,
The team at An Bhialann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant would recommend”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Came to this restaurant the other evening with my wife. We had a great meal together, the service, food and ambience were all wonderful. We did not know of the restaurant, i think its only just opened, we happened to pass it on our way into Ranelagh. Would definitely recommend it to anyone. Primarily its a steak and seafood restaurant but they have a great range of dishes. I had pork belly for starter with a whole lobster for my main course while my wife had a beetroot and tofu salad and a vegetarian filo parcel for her main (she's a coeliac, and to our surprise everything on the menu bar two dishes are gluten free, including sauces) . There was a great menu choice for vegetarians also. For desert I had apple crumble and my wife had the cheese plate with gluten free toast. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and will be eating there more often now that we've found it. Perfect, couldn't fault it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnBhialann, Owner at An bhialann, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Brian,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted that you and your wife had an enjoyable evening. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
The team at An Bhialann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An bhialann also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing