We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in Dublin”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in Dublin”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

What I would right about in this review is pretty much what a lot of the others are writing. The hotel was fantastic. Great staff. Everyone was very accommodating from the front desk to the bartenders to the housekeeping staff. Clean, beautiful hotel. The food was delicious.

Down the street is a great little Italian and wine bar called Asti. It's within walking distance of the hotel and had absolutely wonderful food. Definitely give it a try if you're staying at Croke Park.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmlsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,076
    1,118
    201
    29
    20
See reviews for
985
1,841
166
519
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I chose this hotel on the basis on the reviews here, and whilst its true that its a modern property, offering decent rooms with space and free internet, I didn't get any "wow" feeling and didn't think it was so much better than other hotels in Dublin that I've stayed in, which you would think from some of the reviews.

I got a decent rate (85 euros) for a mid week Jan stay not including breakfast, and when I asked at checkin for a high floor room, they told me that the third floor was closed off for lack of demand, but the desk clerk kindly upgraded me to the 4th floor which he told me has the "Deluxe rooms" on it which was a bonus. The Deluxe rooms seemed OK though nothing special, but I can't comment what the standard room would have been like.

On the plus side - rooms have a desk to work at and large comfortable beds (better than other more expensive properties like the Dylan which gets the award for the least comfortable beds in the world, let alone Dublin), but not much other space. There is also a philips flat screen TV and weirdly a CD HIFI player with no IPod / MP3 facility, but a library of CD's is apparently available in reception - like time travel back to the pre-Ipod era.

I tried the room service which was Good quality food but fairly expensive with a 5 euro tray delivery fee on top of the food (but most hotels in Dublin are at similar prices), as the location by the Stadium means that you can't easily walk to get a big selection of meals out.

I was disappointed that my 7:15 wake up call on the first day didn't materialise until 7:30 and when I commented on this, the guy (as its the desk team making the calls manually) said "Oh sorry" in a voice that conveyed that he couldn't care less. Good thing I wasn't on a deadline to catch a flight that morning... I set my own alarm for the next day when I was.

Would I go back, yes, but only if I couldn't get something in town, or if I needed to be out near the Croke Park stadium, so find myself strangely ambivalent about this property, which is clearly designed to service stadium events more than any thing else.

Nice / OK - nothing special, but not bad either.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DepDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2011

absolutly first class, stayed in many hotels, not get much better than this, only downside was that there was a very limited choice in the restaurant, although the food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank man0ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This hotel is just fab - from the lovely staff to the decor. The rooms are beatifully decorated with very comfortable beds. Very tasty breakfast. Would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We also got this as part of a great package we got with airfare. We are glad we did - it was just about the perfect place to stay in Dublin. We had the same experience as most other travelers on here - got in EARLY from the U.S. and they still got us to our nice room so we could take a nap. The room is just beautiful and welcoming, and sized more to American standards, if you compare it to other typical European hotel rooms. We took advantage of both the breakfast in the morning and the bar at night, and both were great - the breakfast was delicious and the bar was very accommodating. We ordered from the late night menu at the bar, and normally they only deliver to the room, but they were happy to let us enjoy our delicious sandwiches at the bar – a bar that can pour a proper pint of Guinness, by the way – come to Dublin and you’ll realize what that means. I wish they had free Diet Coke at breakfast, but that’s just my craving – a small complaint.

It is about a 15 minute walk from O’Connell Street, which is where the real Dublin downtown action begins. We both like walking so it was no bother at all, and did give you a great introduction to the city. We felt safe during the day, but it is probably a good idea to cab it at night, which is really pretty reasonable, and after a long day you’ll want to anyway. It might be a bit of a disadvantage, but honestly, it is away from the noise and bustle of downtown, so that does have its advantages as well. Again, grab your last pint at the bar downstairs – which has really nice bartenders who can also apparently talk American football; we were watching the Pittsburgh – Ravens game, which was interesting to do in Ireland.

I do wish the hotel had WiFi in more locations, but that is mostly just because of my American Sprint Evo phone only working on WiFi over there. My ThinkPad ran fast on the provided free internet in the room via ethernet cable.

We did think the room was a bit warm the first night, but then we figured out how to work the thermostat, which is a bit tricky, even with the directions that are on a card sitting next to the bed. Here’s a tip – “dehumidify” means “air conditioning”. The shower has unique controls as well but you get the hang of it, and both the shower and the separate tub are beautiful.

Overall, the Croke Park Hotel is HIGHLY recommended, and would definitely be our base in Dublin our next trip, even if it is not part of a package deal.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbhockey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

we spent five nights at this hotel at the start of our European Christmas holiday, and were more than happy with the location and amenities. the staff were friendly though the stay, the restaurants and bar were inviting at the end of a long day, and the management were very keen to get our feedback afterward to ensure they could make any improvements (although we couldn’t identify any)

we booked a standard room and received a complimentary upgrade to the executive floor which included the continental breakfast and free wi-fi, which was great as there wasn’t much in the way of alternate restaurants or cafes nearby.

whilst it is a little away from the city it’s only a 10-15 minute walk to O'Connell Street. we were happy to use a different path each day and get a better feel for the city, and when we had enough walking or it was raining , the cab fare to or from most places in the city was only €10-12.

the hotel was quiet, although I'm not sure if that would be the case on game days, and we would definitely stay there again.

ps; if you do have a few days in Dublin, make sure you take in Kilmainham prison, the Guiness storehouse, and a train trip down to Dalkey for lunch and onto Killiney to view the coastline

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We spent 4 nights here over New Years and could not have been more pleased! This hotel was included as part of a packaged vacation deal. Following an exhausting overnight flight, we arrived early in the morning and pleased to find that our room was ready. We were greeted with warm towels and upgraded to the Executive floor where the rooms were very spacious, tastefully decorated, and immaculate. The staff could not have been more accommodating. A very special thanks to the concierge who was helpful in assisting us with purchasing tickets to see "Scrooge" and recommending travel routes and points of interest.

The breakfast buffet was tasty and substantial, waitstaff attentive. While the hotel is away from the downtown area of Dublin, the walk was easy and we felt safe in this quiet neighborhood. In the evenings, we did use taxi service to return to the hotel and found the rates reasonable.

An enjoyable time! If our future travels find us in Dublin, will definitely return to this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,803 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,026 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing