We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly hostess, inept management, no locks on inside of doors”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unfriendly hostess, inept management, no locks on inside of doors”
Reviewed November 2, 2006

Upon check-in I requested that the mini-bar be emptied so that I could put in my own water, and whatever. The check-in lady gave me a stricken look and said "You want to use it as a fridge?!!" Nevertheless, she agreed to have this taken care of. It never was DESPITE 2 enquiries to the front desk, 2 requests to housekeeping, and a personal talk with the MANAGER!! Each time they stated that it would be done. Instead, the minibar remained LOCKED the entire visit (3 nights).

There were no slippers, no robe, no heated bathroom floor.

At breakfast my first morning the hostess kept me waiting then
gave me an alarmed look while stating that "your room rate does not include breakfast". So what, they had my credit card on file to charge me. She then was very annoyed that I didn't want to sit where she wanted to place me. Just as I sat down with my plate of food, she appeared to rudely stick the bill in my face for signature.

There are no bolts or other inside locks; I found this out when housekeeping entered while I was there. However, when I asked on a Sunday at 8:30 that they clean while I was out, it was promised at 9:30. When I returned at 11:10, nothing was done.

The lock issue is important, for the surrounding neighborhood is borderline seedy. I like to walk, but the walk to O'Connell is through an area where there is nothing to see, and the sidewalk is littered with cig. butts and trash bags.

I did like the older concierge (40s-50s), but that's about all that comes to mind to recommend a stay here.

Oh, by the way, I arrived at 12:30 on Saturday, following 2 international flights and they wouldn't let me check in until 2P, claiming that a non-smoking room was not available.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank outofthisworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,080
    1,118
    201
    29
    20
See reviews for
985
1,844
166
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North-East England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

Stayed for 2 nights and we absolutly loved it there! Decor was very modern and stylish, beds nice and big and also very comfy! Rooms had iron and ironing board, hairdryer, tea and coffee, bath and shower, 24hr room service, minibar. The hotel bar was relaxing and sold really nice food. Hotel staff were very friendly.

Would reccommend this hotel to anyone and would definately stay again. Cost us 16euros for a taxi from airpost to hotel, 20 euros to get back (cant understand how it was more though!) Taxi into Dublin town cost us around 10 euros. To walk it takes about 10-15minutes.

  • Liked — Plush surroundings
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank linzima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2006

We had just spent 2 days in a stylish but freezing cold new hotel in Castlebar. It was such a relief to get to Jurys at Croke Park and to receive a warm welcome in an immaculate hotel. It is about 20 minutes walking from the centre and in a quiet area (unless the football stadium opposite was in use!)

The rooms were stylish, super clean, warm and inviting. The bathroom was of an excellent standard with a full stand-in shower and seperate bath to please both hubby and I. We had paid a little extra for the champagne and chocolates which added to the indulgence effect.

The bar and restaurant areas were equally stylish and run by very friendly and helpful staff. The evening bar meal was well above the normal hotel standard and the breakfast was similar. Hubby wasn't sure about the high tables and low seating, but I reiterated it looked great and there was less distance to drop food!

On planning our sightseeing the following day, the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and took the time to explain things to us even when busy. Bags were kept for us at the hotel until the end of the day and someone assisted loading into our vehicle when we returned.

In summary, we highly recommend this hotel for a break in Dublin and can offer little negative about it other than the usual troublesome shower. What's with the 'brown but brilliant', sadly this was my school uniform color and I have destested ever since. The fact that this was the predominate color throughout the hotel and I still enjoyed so much speaks volumes!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank PerfectPammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

I stayed here with 7 other family members for our final weekend in Ireland. This hotel was the nicest one we stayed in during our trip. The most comfortable beds I have slept in, a wonderful shower with oversized towels, a modern workout room, and very friendly staff. We did need to take taxis several times to the city centre as we were not familiar with Dublin, and this hotel was a bit further out than the map led me to believe, but we knew we might need to cab it so were not completely taken by surprise.

  • Liked — Luxury/price value
  • Disliked — We did have a mix up with taxis called by the hotel concierge a couple of times when multiple parties were requesting cabs.
  • Tips/Secrets — It is a bit further to Trinity College/Temple Bar area than the map would lead you to believe, especially if you are travelling with older people who may not be able to walk great distances.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cbhicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

The rooms are excellent, beautifully fitted out with more than enough room to swing the proverbial cat.

You can expect a spotless bedroom/bathroom, large bed, plasma TV, CD player, tea & coffee making facilities and electronic safe. We really liked the fact that the bath and shower were separate too.

The downside is the location. It's a good 15-20 minute straight walk to O'Connell Street. We have no idea if there were public transport options, we did not see any.

Bear in mind that this hotel is across the street from one of the biggest sporting arenas in Europe, and be prepared for people flocking to the gigantic stadium across the street on match/concert days - check whether there is an event on before you stay! That said, this is a great hotel with excellent value for money in terms of what you get.

  • Liked — Brand New
  • Disliked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Check whether there are any events on at the stadium across the street (Croke Park)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

One of the best fitted out hotels I've stayed in with extremely well-equipped bedrooms and excellent bathrooms with bath and separate shower. The beds were very comfortable.

I was staying with a group and this 4* hotel was serving up unimaginitive, mediocre food that was often lukewarm to cool. In five meals taken, there was only one that was almost acceptable. I have eaten much better food in 3* and below.

The hotel is not in a very salubrious area, and is 20/30 minutes walking to Dublin centre. There is a bus route about 5 minutes away and there can be quite a wait for a taxi.

  • Liked — bedrooms and the beds
  • Disliked — Food
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose somewhere else!
  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PJAH42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Stayed at Jury's Croke park for the one night with my boyfriend. Booked an executive upgrade room with complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates upon arrival.
We had a lovely time there at Jury's. The room was spacious, modern and with all the little niceties you'd expect from a 4/5 star hotel.

Reception staff were efficient and friendly. We were asked at least twice during our stay there if everything was to our satisfaciton and if it wasn't not to hesitate alerting the staff.

The bed was very comfortable, the mini bar packed with goodies!
The room service menu was good, and they offered a 24 hour menu to choose from also.
We visited one of the bars downstairs for drinks in the evening time, and again the staff we very friendly and the service was excellent.
This Jury's is a little gem. The location isn't probably ideal at the moment, but in a few years with the refurbishment thats planned for that part of Dublin, you'll find it hard to get an executive room here for 2 for one night for €129!
Booked with lastminute.ie by the way.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing