We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We toured Ireland the 3rd week of October 2013, and had the most amazing time. Driving around Irland is very daunting , and when you get to your hotel for the evening one would expect to rest, relax, and enjoy the rest of the evening. If you end up, or start for that matter, in Dublin, Ireland, you should consider staying at the Croke Park Hotel. It's on the North side of the city, away from most of the hussle and bussle of the main tourist area. 6 Euro will get you to where you want to go in Dublin. When we checked in to the Croke Park , we were met with one of the most friendly fronts desks I've ever encountered. The "Lass" (I forgot to get her name) got us checked in and situated on everything we were going to need to know during our stay. Once in our rooms, we found them very well appointed, and comfortable. One strange thing though, and we found this at all 5 hotels we stayed in, was that there was a queen bed and a small single bed. If you travel Ireland in a group, you should keep that in mind.. The only problem we encountered with our stay was in the Sideline Bistro. After a long day of touring Dublin , we went to the Hotel's Sideline Bistro for deserts and cocktails. The food and beverages were excellent, but only had one round. That was because we never got our server to return to us. I'm sure this was an isolated personal problem, and am confident after talking and e-mailing the Manager, Sean, that this wll not happen again. Being that this was our last evening in Ireland ,it did upset us a bit. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfest and the food and service was excellent. When we return to Ireland (4 couples ) we would like to spend a few days just in Dublin, and we WILL be staying at the Croke Park Hotel.
G. Hare

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,053
    1,106
    201
    28
    20
See reviews for
979
1,825
164
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed here in october and found it to be a very enjoyable visit. the hotel was modern and the rooms are lovely. staff couldnt have been nicer and room service was quick. i dont have a bad word to say about this hotel and i can be hard to please at times!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was the nicest hotel we stayed at during our travels through Europe. The room was large and spacious with a wonderful King size bedroom and a bathroom with a separate shower and tub. I mainly chose it for the free parking (underground) which was a rarity in Dublin. It was fairly easy drive from the Airport though we didn't drive much in the City. The concierge was very helpful when we needed a place to get some laundry done and didn't want to pay per piece at the hotel. The only thing that kept this from being perfect was that it was a 20-minute walk or 10-Euro cab ride from the central Temple Bar / Trinity area. But that sacrifice was more than made up for by the wonderful facilities. And the quiet!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA_Gumdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Have just returned from the Croke Park , having previously stayed here in April. As on our previous visit we found all the staff friendly, engaging and extremely helpful without being intrusive.Rooms for a city centre hotel are large and extremely well equipped.
Nearest restaurant is literally one minute away, and yes it sells pizza, and the nearest pub about another 30 seconds on, just round the corner!

Granted it is about a ten minute stroll to Parnell Square and the bright lights of the city, which means, as other contributors have mentioned, a good nights sleep without the noise and hassle experienced in many other Dublin hotels...Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brody51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefiield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked The Croke Park Hotel for a surprise break for my birthday..... And he picked unbelievably well!!! The hotel is stunning, with the most friendly, helpful, polite and welcoming staff you could imagine.
The hotel is a good 10min walk from the centre but means that on a night it's quiet to sleep rather than being surrounded by noisy bars. There is a nice bar/restaurant just a few mins walk on the same road as well if you didn't want to go into town.
At breakfast no request was too much, and it was nice to have a buffet breakfast which was hot and fresh rather than just warm!!! The continental breakfast looked lush too!!!
Would happily recommend to anyone looking to go to Dublin and would love to stay here again!!!
Thanks to all the staff for making our visit so fantastic!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brear86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Croke Park Hotel for 3 nights bed and breakfast and it was amazing!!!! The room was immaculate, toiletries, hairdryer, iron etc. Staff we're very attentive and helpful. The buffet breakfast was gorgeous. We was concerned about the hotel being out the way of the city centre but it was literally a 15 minute walk nothing at all as long.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very nice hotel across from the stadium, but there are absolutely no places to go out to eat, even for a pizza or a beer, without taking a taxi. It is in a neighborhood where there is just nothing. I was tired after sightseeing so we just ate at the hotel. The food in the bar area is very good.Their best perk is that there is a shuttle to the hop-on-hop-off bus in the morning and one shuttle back to the hotel in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver_BJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing