We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Standard Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #6 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Standard Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a conference at Croke Park, which in terms of location could not be better, as it is directly over the road from the venue. The rooms are spacious and well desinged, with everything you could need for a business stay.

The room rate are very good value compared to other hotels where i have paid far more for far less in terms of quality and service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grizzly147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers.

I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay and I will be sharing your kind comments with my team. I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I would like to thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,948
    1,071
    199
    28
    19
See reviews for
934
1,767
162
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

As many other reviewers have said, this hotel is very nice but the location is way off the beaten path. Getting to Temple Bar took 20 minutes through a mostly run down part of town and while we never felt it was dangerous, it wasn't a pleasant stroll and I wouldn't walk in the area late at night. We ended up taking a taxi back at night, which cost about 8-10 euros, depending on the starting point. That said, the hotel staff was wonderful, our room had a beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed and pillows, and all the amenities one could possibly ask for, including a pants press and an ipod dock. The food in the bistro was very good. I enjoyed watching the kitchen staff prepare the meals. Added bonus: free parking underneath the hotel. Because it is on the outskirts of town, getting to the hotel and the airport couldn't have been easier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Croke Park Hotel. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and ensure they have a truly enjoyable and relaxing stay. I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay with us.

I was disappointed to learn however that you did not find our location suitable. Located on the North side of the city allows for quick, easy access to Dublin Airport and is only approximately five miles from the airport. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights’ sleep away from the city revellers. I would like to reassure yourself and other TripAdvisor reviewers that The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. Taxis to or from the world-renowned Temple Bar district should cost no more than €10 each way.

Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Dublin and the Croke Park Hotel in the future.

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here with my Girlfriend in December as was attending a concert in the city the following day so decided to make a weekend of it and do a bit of shopping also. The hotel was easily found, with its proximity to the main stadium. The outward appearance of the hotel was clean modern and quite appealing. Inside, the Hotel has a very modern yet warm look, very spacious in its arrangement in all areas so even with crowd you dont feel under pressure.

Room was excellent, very very clean, very well finished and very well furnished. Beds were soft are very luxiousous and pillows proived were of varying firmness from the very soft to quite firm depending on your own prefrence. The room was very warm with an excellent environmental control on the wall which provided tempratures from 16-26 degrees, but the overall temprature of the hotel means that you have very little need to boost the heat in the rooms. The bathroom was also very spacious despite having a seperate show and bath provided, both were very clean the the water temprature and pressure was excellent.

Bar area again had a very modern but still very warm feeling to it, a open plan type Gas fire more for decoration that heat value and a large screen provided a very nice atmosphere. Tables were all weighted on, which ment that i never had to go to the bar, which was nice, albeit making me lazy!. Food was very good, but i would say a little of hte pricy side for main courses although sandwiches and paninis were priced on the higher side of average. The portions were quite good, but without sounding critical for the price they certainly would need to be.

The area around the hotel, despite Croke Part itself is not particularly nice, you are very close to Dorset Street and there are a few other pubs around, but on a whole you would not be really that eager to leave the hotel and walk to the town centre particularly on a quiet nite. Best thing to do would be to make directly for Dorset street through one of the residential areas and if it was late, i would not advise walking alone.

Breakfast was delicious with a massive arrange of hot and cold foods, it was very very busy, but that was down to our own timing (30 mins before end of breakfast) as much as anything else, that said we were queueing for only about 5-10 mins and while we where were queueing, staff were encouraging us to have a glass of juice/ tea or coffee and a mini danish. Again a very nice touch. Staff were a little over stretched during the "rush period" i thought and one more person waiting tables or bringing out tost and tea and coffee would of made a huge difference but the rush was over quite quickly and the room emptied rapidly.

Staff were very polite from Check in to Check out, and it was perhaps the most "Friendly" reception ive had in a hotel, the hot towels on arrival and the complimentary bottled water at check out is a nice touch, but maybe a flirting a bit on the side of overkill.

Cant fault the hotel really, a very nice and most of all comfortable stay, probably as luxiourious a hotel as ive stayed in. A Little bit pricy is certain areas, but is i suppose a hotel of its type and in Dublin, it was to be expected. While i got great value for the cost of staying, cost of eating and drinking were easily 10-15% higher than other hotels, that would be the only thing that would stop me staying again. Then again taking into account how comfortable the hotel was, id almost overlook it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the statium, regardless of what people say it is a very impressive str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfinnerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers.

I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay and I will be sharing your kind comments with my team. I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I would like to thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights on a short break, can't remember what we paid but it wasn't expensive, or we wouldn't have chosen it.
Room was good, good shower/toilet, staff were some of the best I've come across, reception, waiting, and concierge.. We didn't get to try the breakfast, but we did eat there 3 times and the food was very good, again at a reasonable price.
not sure when/if we'll be going to Dublin again, but if we do I'll certainly be looking at this hotel - if the same combination of price/quality holds up, it's hard to beat.
Only downside - It's not central, but it's only a short cab ride or a walk of maybe 15 mins to the centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genghis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It gave me great pleasure to read your most kind review, thank you so much and I am delighted to hear that we continue to provide a service that you enjoy throughout the hotel. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to the rest of my team and I`m sure they will be very appreciative.

I hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon, please let me know if I can help with future reservations or in any other way.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The room was very nice and modern. They had great tea and coffee factiles and the shower was really relaxing. There was also sky sports on the tv in our room and a hi-fi radio where you could play your mp3 player. The hotel was well built and well mentained and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niamh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Please allow me the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete your most humbling Tripadvisor review regarding your recent stay with us here at The Croke Park Hotel.

As a member of The Doyle Collection, our Proud values are that we meet every guest with a smile, a greeting and an enquiry, we care about the well-being of our guests and actively look for opportunities of how to enhance their experience. I am thus delighted to hear of your positive and hopefully memorable experiences whilst with us.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We booked this hotel on a great deal with a comparison website and might not have chosen it before that because there are so many hotels in Dublin so there is so much choice. I'm glad I got the opportunity to stay in the hotel because it lived up to my many expectations of hotels. I stay in a lot of hotels so I know what I like.

The hotel offers free parking and free internet access along with the choice of a 4th floor executive floor stay which has an executive lounge offering complimentary drinks and snacks and someplace to relax. There is the use of a meeting room also.

We booked for a birthday visit to the city and there were balloons and a happy birthday sash on the wall which was a nice little extra. They had given me the wrong room and within minutes apologised and upgraded us to the Liam McCarthy Suite on the 4th floor which has the exact same bedroom area with the addition of a living room/dining room, 2nd TV, iPhone dock(up to 4s) and Nespresso machine(in all 4th floor rooms).

We arrived at 11am and stored the car in the underground car park and headed off to Dublin City Centre to do some Christmas shopping. Dublin city is expensive for parking so getting free parking with a 15minute walk is a good choice because parking can be around €12 per day otherwise. It is important to note that I wouldn't walk the same route in the dark.

We had breakfast and it was standard hotel affair. I commented that the price comparison website offered me a "Full English breakfast" and this was "Irish". I don't think the girl got the joke.

If I am coming back to Dublin I will choose this hotel. If you are going to Croke Park then you cannot get a better location. If you are visiting even the Mater hospital then chose this hotel. 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertieBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We picked this hotel based on a package and we were glad it included breakfast. The hotel is pretty close to Dublin airport and we paid 26 euros to get to it. Once we checked in, the concierge offered us to upgrade a suite and be able to check immediately... for a fee, so we declined. She said there were no rooms available so we would have to wait until the regular check in time at 3. We were not able to get to breakfast either since we were not checked in. They did offer to hold our luggage on the mean time though.

I noticed the had a shuttle that take you to O'Connell street every hour. We signed up for it and the concierge told us we had to pay 2 euro each to take us there. If you go on a car or taxi, it is about 5 minutes, walking about 20 minutes or so. We came back later on the day and were able to finally check in. Yay! One perk was free Wi Fi in the lobby and in your room.

The room was pretty good size, we had 2 double beds, a small table with a chair, a flat screen TV, a roomy closet and the bathroom has a separate shower and a tub. The bed was very comfortable and the area is very quiet. There were no games on the stadium so we got a very good night sleep.

For one tour, we had to leave at 6:20 am to catch the bus, the concierge put together 2 small bags with our breakfast: cookies, muffins, yogurt, fruit and a small water since we were going to miss the breakfast. We had to ask though for it.

When we had breakfast, it was traditional Irish breakfast with eggs, sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms, potatoes, pastries, cereal, yogurt and juice served in a buffet.

If you decide to take a cab to town is about 10 euros each way.

We did walk at night coming back to the hotel and the area is residential, so it was pretty quiet. The downside is that there are no stores such as Tesco really close by, you need to walk 10-15 minutes. So when we went to town, we will buy water and snacks to bring them back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandyKane056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,176 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
2.1 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing