We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but Too far”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel but Too far”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from Dublin and stayed at Croke Park Hotel. From many of the reviews we read we were under the impression it was close enough to walk into the city centre. That is simply not true. Even the staff told us it was too far to walk. We did try it one evening and it took us thru sketchy neighborhoods and over a half hour in the rain. The hotel itself is quite comfortable much like a holiday inn in states, no thrills but great bed and space. Shower was on same level as floor so there was puddles of water everytime we used it. Staff was good, breakfast great, but distance too far. Westin is perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I would like thank you for having taken the time to complete your Tripadvisor review regarding your recent visit to The Croke Park Hotel. I was most disappointed to learn that you did not find our location suitable and would gladly welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further detail.

The Croke Park Hotel is located directly across the road from Croke Park Stadium which is the GAA sports’ Mecca. The Croke Park Hotel is located just one mile from Dublin City Centre and a walk or short ride away from Dublin’s Museums, Galleries, Theatres and music venues. Located on the North side of the city allows for quick, easy access to Dublin Airport and is only approximately five miles from the airport.

The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights’ sleep away from the city revellers.

I would like to reassure yourself and other TripAdvisor reviewers that The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. Taxis to or from the world-renowned Temple Bar district should cost no more than €10 each way.

Again, I greatly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist my team in becoming better at what we do. It is my desire to retain you as a satisfied customer and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future. Please contact me personally before your next visit to the Croke Park Hotel as I would be delighted to personally extend some of our renowned hospitality.

Kind Regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,080
    1,118
    201
    29
    20
See reviews for
985
1,844
166
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have experienced staying in this hotel many times and I always look forward to it. The staff are exceptional as are the rooms and breakfasts. I especially love staying when there is not a big match as it can be so busy but the standards still don't slip. One thing I miss and I don't know if its exclusive to me. Twice I ran out of cash and had to walk to Drumcondra road for an ATM machine as there is no "cashback" facility when paying with credit cards. I just wondered with the level of people who pass through this hotel especially on match week-ends when the place is thronged and, being that it is a quiet area would the hotel benefit from having an ATM machine installed? Always looking forward to my next visit. Thank you all!

Room Tip: I think guests should always ask in advance for anything they require. It is better than going off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kearnsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Croke Park Hotel. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and ensure they have a truly enjoyable and relaxing stay. I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay with us.

Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service. I can thus assure you we will review the cashback facility as suggested.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Dublin and the Croke Park Hotel in the future.

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Croke Park Hotel is a warm and welcoming hotel. The servie is excellent. When did you last receive a hot towel to freshen up? The rooms are rather spacious and immaculate. The beds are very comfortable and ensure a good night's sleep. The bathrooms comprise separate shower and bath tub.
The nearest bus station is only about 500 metres away. You are in town in no time.
This is definitely a hotel to revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers.

I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay and I will be sharing your kind comments with my team. I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I would like to thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

It all began well with our arrival to the hotel at 0630 after an overnight flight to Dublin. Damian greated us at the front desk and he went above and beyond to get us checked into our three rooms early. We were escorted by Damian to the breakfast buffet to eat while we had a short wait for our rooms to be ready early for us. The breakfast was amazing, the service was exceptional, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was great-just a few kilometers walk or by bus or taxi into the heart of downtown Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers.

I was delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable stay and I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, in particular our Night Manager Damien. I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I would like to thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry county down
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in the Croke Park hotel for two nights ( 16th November- 18th November). We booked a deal via Travel Zoo for 170 euros for the entire stay. This included two nights bed and breakfast, one evening meal, two cocktails, two tickets to Guinness Store House and an upgrade to an executive room.The entire experience was absolutely divine. From the welcome at reception to the check out experience, everything was perfect. The room was clean, modern and spacious . The bathroom had a separate shower and was spotless. There was a great variety of food for breakfast and staff were very friendly and efficient. The menu for the evening meal was very limited with a choice of 3 starters, main courses and desserts. The food was of a good standard but choices uninspiring. At night there was a turn down service available with a butlers chocolate provided beside the bed and a lavender scented hot water bottle placed in the bed. Overall everything was of 5 star quality with staff going the extra mile to make the stay exceptional

Room Tip: upgrade to the executive floor with executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fussyNewryCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on trip advisor. I am very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and please let me know of any future visits to Dublin - I would be only too happy to look after your reservation needs.

Thank you once again and I look forward welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have recently returned from a few days in Dublin with my (older!) mum. We stayed at the Croke Park Hotel and from the moment we arrived until we left we had the friendliest and most helpful service. The hotel itself is immaculate and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Hot towels when we arrived, offer of use of the lounge until our rooms were ready (we were very early) bottles of water for our journey, help booking excursions etc. The rooms were lovely and very clean and the food in the restaurants was great. The hotel itself is a little bit out of the main area of Dublin but even for mum and me it was no more than a 15 - 20 minute walk, and on the way back there are plenty of taxis so its not really a problem. It also means that its very quiet at night and I had great nights sleep as a result. The only one drawback (if you can even call it that) is that there are not many restaurants or bars nearby so you really have to stay at the hotel (not an issue in my opinion) or go back into town if you want a night out, again not an issue but you do need taxis. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowPGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
I cannot thank you enough for your kind review. I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was in perfect order. It means a great deal to me and the team to read such good reviews.

Please feel free and visit your home away from home at any time!

It would be a pleasure to personally look after any further bookings.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mercia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at the Croke Park, Dublin and it definitely lived up to the excellent reviews on TA.
Able to access our room at 10.30 am, very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable quiet room, spacious public areas and a 15 min walk away from the main sights.
Our first visit to Dublin , hopefully will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traghetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on trip advisor. I am very happy that you enjoyed your first stay with us and please let me know of any future visits to Dublin - I would be only too happy to look after your reservation needs.

Thank you once again and I look forward welcoming you back to The Croke Park Hotel.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,030 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#14 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing