We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault, very nice hotel”
Review of The Croke Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Croke Park
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hard to fault, very nice hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Getting to the hotel is straightforward, from the airport take the airlink coach ( 6 euros) to Drumcondra road, it's a short walk from there. The hotel is opposite the huge stadium. This hotel is relatively inexpensive by Dublin standards but it's exceptionally well equipped. The staff are friendly , attentive and the rooms are spacious, clean, modern and with all amenities. The wifi is free and fast, the gym is well equipped.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleversod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Croke Park Hotel. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and ensure they have a truly enjoyable and relaxing stay. I am pleased to see that you experienced all of these and enjoyed your stay with us.

Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel’s facilities and service.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Dublin and the Croke Park Hotel in the future.

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,122
    1,129
    203
    29
    20
See reviews for
996
1,866
167
531
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Croke Park Hotel for a few nights, as some of our group were taking part in the Dublin Marathon. We were very impressed. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and was served until 10.30 am, which was perfect for us as we got to have a bit of a lie-in after the marathon! The rooms were comfortable and well equipped. The walk into town wasn't as far as I thought it might be - it only took us about 10 minutes. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A good 20 minute walk to get downtown. Neighborhood is a safe but lower income area.
The Croke Park Hotel is a very nice property. Rooms and baths are clean and modern. Lovely finishes throughout the hotel. The only downside to the hotel is if you want to be close to the city center. It is a good 20 minute walk to downtown Dublin and the Croke Park neighborhood, while safe, is a lower income area. However, we spent a week there, walking downtown everyday and had no problems.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderfully placed hotel . The staff were most obliging and seemed to smile a lot(a pleasant change to some hotels)The rooms were spotless and the breakfasts unbeatable dinner was also really tasty.The one very unpleasant happening on one of our nights stay was the guests in the next room to us were extremely noisy and did not seem to care about other guests.So bad in fact that I contacted the concierge at 3 am to complain,he immediately sent security to the room ,he remonstrated with them and we had peace for an hour only for them to commence once again with the racket ,I again phoned the front desk who again sent security who was much more adamant with them,at last some tranquility.I thank the staff for their prompt and finally decisive action but fully understand I was asking a lot of them to control MORONS.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I feel it would be remiss of me not to share with others my thoughts on an extremely enjoyable and relaxing stay at this hotel. Unfortunately, I was unable to prolong my visit on this occasion but I definetly plan to return. The hotel simply " oozes" efficiency and professionalism in a quiet, unassuming way. Staff are happy to be of assistance and guests are made welcome. There is always service with a smile. I know from experience that good practice just doesn't happen. The members of staff at all levels in this hotel are well trained and it shows.
The decor throughout is modern and tasteful. Bedrooms are spacious and very well maintained. There is a high standard of cleanliness and the amenities are superb. .The ensuite bathroom will not disappoint the most fastidious ,"pamper conscious" guest.. My bedroom overlooked the courtyard so i cannot say the view was exciting but it was not unpleasant.
Breakfast is served in pleasant surroundings and the food selection is wide and varied and appetising.. The dining room staff are pleasant and willing to please.
The hotel's location is its one drawback. Great for sports fans, i acknowledge, but the distance from all other tourist attractions may prove prohibitive for the faint hearted. or elderly or solo traveller. However taxis can be ordered at a moment's notice and since the hotel has so many excellent things to offer it would be a shame if the distance to the City centre would act as a deterent
thanks for a lovely stay and my only regret is that i couldn't stay longer!.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRISHMAGGIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We wish you could have stayed longer too!

I cannot thank you enough for your kind review. I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was in perfect order. It means a great deal to me and the team to read such good reviews.

Please feel free and visit your home away from home at any time!

It would be a pleasure to personally look after any further bookings.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Although the Croke Park Hotel is outside the city center it's absolutely worth staying there. The staff was welcoming and very helpfull during our stay. Tourist information, arranging a taxi, transportation options downtown: the front desk was very service minded and kind. Service with a smile! Our room was big, on the 4th (executive) floor, very clean and quietly situated. We booked via Hotwire a very good rate and upgraded paying €30 extra per night. This included breakfast, vouchers for a drink each night, access to the executive lounge (free water, coffee, tea, fruit, newspapers and nice sitting area) and in the evening someone prepared the beds for nighttime.
Breakfast was nice. Several kinds of bread, pastries, fresh fruit etc. Internet free and of good speed.
Dining options in hotel restaurant and bar. Barmeals not expensive and good quality. Drinks good price too.
Transportation from airport easy by bus or taxiride. Downtown the busstop is a 5 minute walk towards drumcondra road. Several busses take you to the city center within a couple of minutes. Rates low but remind to have small change.
We will absolutely visit Dublin again and propable the Croke Park Hotel. We loved it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It gave me great pleasure to read your review, thank you so much! I am delighted to hear that we continue to provide a service that you enjoy throughout the hotel. I am most fortunate to have a truly amazing team working for me in the hotel and know that every single one of them will be most appreciative of your kind comments.

I hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon, please let me know if I can help with future reservations or in any other way.

Kind Regards

Russell

Russell Hadley
Deputy General Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great hotel, very friendly staff, very nice food (one of the best chicken Caesar salads I had in a long time) and ridiculously comfortable beds....

The room had everything and more than one would expect, including an iHome docking station, my room also had a separate bath and an ample shower space, plenty of storage... Everything you need, really, and more.
A really nice touch - they put a lavender scented hot water bottle in your bed, how great is that?!!

Probably the only regret - we didn't get round to visiting Croke Park stadium, next time we really must!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanjaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrokePark_Manager, Manager at The Croke Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Croke Park Hotel.

The hotel puts great emphasis into improving both our facilities and service to guests on a daily basis. I am thrilled you enjoyed the lavender scented “hotties” that we place in the beds of our Executive rooms at turndown. They go down a treat on a cold winter’s night!

I hope to welcome you back to the Croke Park Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards

Russell Hadley
Operations Manager

The Croke Park Hotel
A member of The Doyle Collection
Jones's Road
Dublin 3
russell_hadley@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,894 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 151 in Dublin
1,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croke Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croke Park

Property: The Croke Park
Address: Jones's Road, Dublin D03 E5Y8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Business Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Croke Park 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minutes from Dublin city centre, seven kilometres from Dublin Airport and close to Dublin's shopping district, theatres, cinemas and entertainment, it is the people at The Croke Park Hotel who make it more than just an inviting place to stay. A close knit team with a love of special occasions and a passion for providing perfect service aim to make just being there a pleasure. The best 4-star bedroom of any hotels in Dublin; a warm, sociable bistro and bar where you never know who you'll see or meet; The Croke Park Hotel also sports a leisure centre, business centre and complimentary car parking. For anyone in town for a concert, Gaelic Football or Hurling match, it doesn't get better than a ticket to the game and a room at The Croke Park Hotel. Located across the road from Croke Park Stadium, the GAA sports' Mecca, The Croke Park Hotel is the preferred leisure and business hotel for GAA enthusiasts. Recent awards include "City Hotel of the Year" in the Gold Medal Industry Awards 2014, several awards at the Responsible Travel and Tourism Awards 2014 including the Water Management Improvement Award and the Packaging Waste Award. The hotel is close enough to allow easy access to Dublin City Centre and all of its attractions but also far enough away to guarantee a perfect, quiet nights' sleep away from the city revellers. The Croke Park Hotel has an excellent transport network, with several Dublin bus routes stopping nearby. These bus routes service both Dublin Airport and city centre attractions. There is also the touristic Hop-On Hop-Off bus which has a shuttle service stopping directly outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Croke Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croke Park Hotel
Croke Park Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing