We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Times at the Pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Shea's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Shea's Hotel
Ranked #89 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Times at the Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I'm surprised to see so many negative comments about this place. My friends and I literally came here at least once every day that we were in Ireland (over 7 days). A couple of times we arrived after the kitchen closed so we drank our supper, but all of the food that we had was good and the pints were great.

One of the waitresses was rude (which we came to expect overall in Ireland) but the other staff and the bartenders were great.

After hearing so many horror stories about the high prices in Europe, we were pleasantly surprised at the reasonable prices of food at O'Sheas. Two of the barmen were so hospitable that all three of us added them on Facebook and have kept in touch.

I look forward to returning to Dublin to bring my family here for the Irish Stew and live entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikerbrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    76
    60
    29
    34
See reviews for
33
104
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was in this hotel jutr to eat something for eat. I ordered fish and chips and it was disgusting, the fish has a really bad smell and it was not tasty. But at least servise is quite good. My advise: stay away from fish and chips here :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hewitt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Extremely good value and very central location. Main chap running reception through evenings/ night was great. Very helpful and also endured my rather tipsy episode congratulating him on a great hotel. The room was clean and was a little wary of a review on here describing dirty sheets but this proved not to be so in this case. Everything was spot on. Clean, contemporary though small en suite. Also described in previous reviews is the noise. I wasn't disturbed by noise from the hotel bar at all but then I didn't go to bed till the music had finished. Why would you? The music was fantastic. Traditional Irish. Noisy in the street but this is a city centre hotel so one would expect noise ( always amazed by people who raise noise as an issue in a city centre!!!!!!). Breakfast was great and extremely good value ( our room charge did not have the breakfast included but only cost 5 euros). The Irish stew is to die for. Had it for 2 consecutive meals. Chaps behind the bar pleasant and no hassle to check out when our stay came to an end. All in all a great place and I will be returning.

Room Tip: Try the Irish Stew!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyHorse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The receptionist was a lovely person , very helpful and had a great sense of humour. I was not happy at all with my room, there were big long black hairs all over the bath! the bathroom floor and carpet was full of muck! and my sheets were disgraceful, they were not changed at all and there was dirty brown marks on them! I was horrified! I said to my self I would never stay here again!
The location is brilliant!! and the hotel has a storage room to store your bags for free as long as you like! I was very happy with this! but I will NOT be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giddyfiddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked online in hopes that the photo would match the room. Nope! It was terribly small and the bathroom was terrible. The view was awful as it was over the roof line and other rooms looking straight into mine. I decided to skip the shower altogether because it was so nasty looking.
But, it is what it is. A small room in a central part of Dublin. On the upside, I did want a pub experience and I got one. Music and crowds downstairs and it was a nice way to end the trip by drinking few beers and listening to Irish Music. The crowds left around 1am and I was able to get a little sleep before the traffic noises woke me. Would I stay again? Yes, but I would haggle with them over the price. I paid 90 Euro. I met a lovely fellow in the bar who bought me a cider and told me he paid 30 Euro for a large room and enormous bathroom with a nice view.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room. Don't settle for first floor unless you get it at at rock bottom prices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannemonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a 4 night weekend in the Republic going to see Horse Racing.
We managed to get a twin room including a full Irish breakfast at a bargain price of 70 Euro per night. We had a corner room overlooking the Liffey and on the 2 nights that we were there the entertainment in house was good enough to keep us in the bar all night. The staff were all friendly and the black stuff was to die for.
The room was adequate, the power shower wonderful with plenty of nice towels and there was a tea/ coffee tray. A nice touch was the FREE safe in the room.
I would have no hesitation in staying here again and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston/galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Oh, where to start? What a dump. Hotel room yuck. Someone else's body order rose from the sheets and duvet. Restaurant? I suggested my friend get a tetanus shot after sitting in her ratty chair. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere decent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#86 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#95 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maple Hotel
#133 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#36 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Shea's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Shea's Hotel

Property: O'Shea's Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Shea's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your O'Shea's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing