We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical tourist 2* hotel”
Review of O'Shea's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Shea's Hotel
Ranked #83 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
East Lothian, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Typical tourist 2* hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2007

Went here with my husband and another couple for a 2 night stay. Its located off O'Connell street but the street its in ie Talbot Street dirty and noisy. It takes only 10 mins though to get to the Temple bar area. We got a 3rd floor room with a large bathroom with a window. The rooms have been refurbished and are comfortable. You also have a hairdryer which was unusual for a 2*. With the windows open its so noisy so I would have not liked a room on a lower floor. The bar area is big and has Irish music every night. It all shuts up at 12.30ish so if you want a later drink than that you have to go to a nightclub. We were not impressed with the breakfasts very dried up. The hotel was average but would not book there again.

I would recommend the Arlington hotel. Its brilliant and we went there 3 times over the weekend. The food, music and atmosphere all what you want . We found a recently opened restaurant called the Millstone at Dame Street. The food was superior and if you go before 7.30pm you get a 3 course for 20 euros, great value. Do the bus trip and visit the Guinness factory.

  • Disliked — Situated on a noisy road
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    84
    62
    31
    34
See reviews for
37
114
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AYR
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

thank goodness it was only 2 days here if i had seen the room i would never had paid beforehand carpets not hoovered shower needed a good clean o dont drop the soap no room to bend down for it i am a size 14 if you r larger than this forget having a shower ring marks on the furniture room smelled milk portions sour here with my mother who was upset about the room we complained got moved to another room a bit better but not worth the money more like a hostel lifts are very tiny food good staff not very friendly bar manager not a nice person well i think he was the manager older than other staff never a smile on his face take heed of this review

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank AyrApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed at this hotel with friends while in Dublin for a concert. We booked well in advance and the price was quite reasonable - now I know why. Check in time at the hotel is 2 p.m., we arrived early and were directed to the bar while we waited for our rooms. The male bar staff were very pleasant, however, the female staff were extremely rude. The lift is quite small - it says it accomodates 4 people presumably that's two adults and two children. The carpet on the stairs is well worn and not the cleanest. Our rooms were on the fourth floor and were tiny. The bathroom was filthy, the shower was absolutely stomach turning. The manager was also very rude although it was the restaurant staff who took the biscuit. One waitress in particular was rude beyond belief and needless to say we didn't leave a tip - the first time any of us had done this anywhere we had eaten. The bar was very busy on the Saturday night and the music was brilliant and very enjoyable and probably the only good thing about our stay. Again the restaurant staff were extremely rude at breakfast and not just to our table. All in all I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody. Whilst the property is very well located 5 minutes walk to O'Connell Street I'd pay the extra money to stay elsewhere for cleanliness and friendly staff.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank HM3510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

I contacted the hotel by phone, which I found in their web page. They
looked friendly and very communicative on the phone- about the room, foods, services and so on- but then it turned out they had not given so much information as they should. They never told me we would be given a room just over the bar with live music -really live in the room- until 12 or 12:30. The floor is carpeted and not very clean, fortunately not the bath which was ok. The bedspread looked nice but smelled awfully. Only the restaurant staff and the food were satisfactory.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the treatment and the lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JoyTripEspana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

my girlfriend and i stayed in o'sheas hotel dublin for a long weekend over the may bank holiday, the hotel is quite small 30-40 rooms and they appeared to be refurbishing many of their rooms - we stayed in room 132 and i must say it was lovely, we have stayed here in the past and the bedrooms needed a face lift.
the bar has a great atmosphere and has irish music every night, the restaurant as always is second to none, having eaten here many times, its always busy has a great atmosphere and its terrific value for money, you cant book a table though due to the demand for tables but the wait is never long and well worth it.
we paid €50 per person so i thought this was very reasonable considering your staying in the heart of the city, staff are always friendly except for one barman [he's to be avoided] - will continue to use o'sheas

  • Liked — tastefully furnished rooms and excellent value for money
  • Disliked — the lift is tiny, can be some noise from the city streets
  • Tips/Secrets — get a room on 4th or 5th floor - dont stay here for a relaxing break this place is all about the food, drink and music
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank republicofcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 29, 2006

I booked this 'hote'l as it was a very busy bank holiday weekend and every other hotel in dublin was fully booked. I phoned and made a booking using my credit card details to secure the booking. The manager had asked what time we would be arriving, I said after 4pm, I assumed this was so that he could have the rooms ready. However, one month later when we arrived at the 'hotel' at 8pm, we were told by the receptionist that the rooms had been sold as we were not there at 4pm. The manager did not even apologise for this.
He had not mentioned that this was a risk on the phone, and had happily teken my credit card details for 'security'. It makes me wonder if we hadn't turned up would he have debited my card for the rooms costs as well as selling the rooms to other guests.

Seeing his mistake (although not aplogising for it) he phoned around and got us booked into another hotel.

I wouldn't recommend this 'hotel' to anyone as it is obviously not very reliable with very little regard for it's customers. Had there not been a room available in another hotel myself and three friends would have been stranded in dublin with nowhere to stay.

Although we were only in the reception area it smelt very musty and resembled more of a hostel than a hotel.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We stayed in O'Sheas Hotel Dublin in April 2005. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The only problem I had was the standard of the rooms. Our room was 114 and overlooked Gardiner street. The room was shabby with very worn carpet but the bed linen was clean but the duvet could have been replaced with a fresher one. The bathroom was quite big but again very worn looking and the shower was uninviting!! The bar boasts live music 7 days a week but the sound filters to your room if you are at the front of the building but the music finishes at 12.30pm which was good. The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. Parking facilities was grand - just across the road in secure premises. For 50 euro's per person it is quite steep for what you get. The only advantage is that you are within walking distance from all the attractions etc.

Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
630 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,134 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#101 of 151 in Dublin
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gardiner Lodge
#109 of 151 in Dublin
21 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#92 of 151 in Dublin
1,454 reviews
North City Centre
Kingfisher Townhouse
Kingfisher Townhouse
#66 of 151 in Dublin
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Shea's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Shea's Hotel

Property: O'Shea's Hotel
Address: 19 Talbot Street, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Shea's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Shea's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing