We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Ranked #34 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
monaghan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed n the hotel on sunday last very friendly staff hotels rooms were very nce food was excellent and fast service, love the fact that nice hot food is available 24/7.We had a little issue (unrelated to hotel)and the trainee Manager Martin could not have been more helpful in helping us sort it out .Thank you. If I could have one criticism is that the cleaning trolleys and laundry seems to be on the corridors for a long time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear anita c,
I am delighted to see you had an excellent stay with us in Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I will ensure that your lovely feedback is passed on to Martin, he will be pleased to see he made your stay a memorable one.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    1,344
    484
    149
    58
See reviews for
856
1,077
132
572
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

If I was basing this review on location, facilities and lovely clean rooms alone then it would get five stars because they are all excellent. Two members of statf in particular also stand out - Brendan the concierge and also the tall restaurant manager whose name I never managed to catch - he was excellent very helpful.
However the majority of the hotel patrons are not english speaking - they were rude, did not understand the concept of queuing and as none of the signs were in there language they just ignored despite there being a queue to be seated at breakfast - turnover is very quick, there just might be a very short delay in setting the table up for the next people. By the way breakfast was excellent in every way I just don't think I could stand the rudeness again when I return to Dublin.
Some of the staff were also foreign and no help when asking about buses or the nearest 24 hour chemist.
Just a final note - we had a room on the 7th floor with a disabled toilet meaning no lid (neither of us disabled just some of the rooms have this). No lid is disgusting in itself but what made it worse was the fact that there was a towel rail next to the toilet. Oh and we got clean towels every day despite there being save the environment signs in all the bathrooms so not good on that front either.

Room Tip: no room tips sorry but the 3 day freedom pass from the green hop on hop off tour company is excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamb_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear lamb_bob

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Check in was smooth and the reception team helpful and knowledgeable. Room was spacious and clean and the bed comfortable. Bathroom was large and the water pressure good. Breakfast was good with plenty of options.
Location wise it is ideal , great for the Bord Gais theatre , a few nice restaurants and pubs nearby and a 10 min walk from O'Connell street, but still quiet at night.
Cost me €120.00 which i think is great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadhgsdad01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Tadhgsdad01,
Thank you for taking you time to review Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane. I am delighted to see had an excellent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located across the river from the conference centre, 3-4 min walk. Handy to pop back for a lie down in between sessions! Reception staff very helpful and no problem facilitating a check in at 10.30am. 12pm check out was also a good touch. Rooms adequate, carpet stained but everything else clean.

My main issue was breakfast. Possibly one of the worst hotel breakfasts I have ever had. Cheap fruit juice, tinned fruit, anaemic looking bacon. The kitchen staff should have been embarrassed about the bacon!

Would visit again but would probably use the deli next door for breakfast instead!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhatter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear Madhatter81

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is pretty bare and has no frills, but it has everything you would need for a nice, comfortable stay in Dublin. The rooms are CLEAN, fairly spacious, and have great amenities like included wifi and coffee/tea-making equipment... can't really ask for more than that. The shower had a clever shampoo/conditioner/shower gel all-in-one solution that was mounted to a dispenser inside the shower, and the water pressure was perfect. FYI though, they don't provide body lotion like most hotels do..... that seemed to be the only thing missing from the room.

Locationwise, this hotel seemed okay... it's right on the River Liffey which is nice, and the night scene along the river is beautiful for a brisk walk. The hotel did seem pretty far from the city center though, so be prepared to walk a good 20-30 minutes to get to the action. Otherwise, it's a pretty quiet location with a nice view of the Liffey.

Overall, this hotel provided us with everything we needed, and we had a very pleasant stay. We'll look to stay here if we're ever in Dublin again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Dear CC0901

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane has recently re-branded as Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane. We are currently reviewing all historic reviews both positive and constructive feedback so as to enhance guest experience moving forward. We hope to see you again soon at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane and once again thank you for your contribution.

Kind regards,
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co mayo ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed one night at the beginnng of April and could not fault hotel in any way. Location is great near the Luas. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms spotless, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast very good with loads of choice. Ate in the bar and the food was delicious. What more could you ask for!!

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bredaCoMayoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear bredaCoMayoIreland,
I am delighted to see you had such an excellent stay with us here back in April, we all hope we can welcome you back to Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane in the near future.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a busy hotel that is well located for the docklands business area, O2 and Bord Gas theatre. The staff are terrific, really good service from reception, room service ad restaurant staff. Rooms are modern, very clean and comfortable, well equipped for working in. Cracking gym and big pool. Good beauty services on site too. Only negative is the breakfast queue which starts about 745 am, advise you get there early or a bit later.

Room Tip: 7th floor room fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conorokane, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Jo N,
Thank you for your excellent review of Maldron Hotel Cardiff Lane, I am delighted to see that the staff made your trip so memorable. I will ensure your feedback is seen by all the team.
Warm regards
Conor O’Kane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.1 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#21 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,460 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane

Property: Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
Address: Cardiff Lane, Sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Formerly Maldron Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane (formerly Maldron Hotel)is a seven storey, contemporary landmark building off Sir John Rogerson's Quay in the Dublin Docklands, a stone's throw from the city center. A spacious 304 bedroom hotel, each designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure guests the beautifully appointed guest rooms offer a light spacious contemporary style at least 25 square meters. Vertigo Bar is a funky bar space within the hotel open throughout the day, Stir Restaurant offers an array of dishes to tempt your taste buds, Club Vitae Health & Fitness Club and a range of meeting space make Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane an award winning 4 star hotel. Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane is within easy access of the airport and main bus & rail stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Quality Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing